We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit...just okay.”
Review of The Blistered Pig Smokehouse - CLOSED

The Blistered Pig Smokehouse
Price range: USD 7 - USD 23
Cuisines: American
Description: Cantina 2 Twenty Five is a labor of love of executive chef Irais Gutierrez and his staff. Specializing in Mexican street food, the chef has "fused" some incredible traditional American dishes with the Mexican counterpart...and the results are dazzling. Try one of the more than 26 unique tacos, and other original dishes offered at Cantina 2 Twenty Five!
Restaurant details
Description: Cantina 2 Twenty Five is a labor of love of executive chef Irais Gutierrez and his staff. Specializing in Mexican street food, the chef has "fused" some incredible traditional American dishes with the Mexican counterpart...and the results are dazzling. Try one of the more than 26 unique tacos, and other original dishes offered at Cantina 2 Twenty Five!
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Went for dinner with a gift card. Attentive server. OK beer and wine selection. We both got the Choose 2 Sampler. Pulled chicken was good. Pulled pork was pretty fatty. 4 small slices of brisket 2 of which were half fat. 4 brunt tips that were seasoned well but again with more fat than expected. Great fried okra and hush puppies. Overpriced for the quantity and quality of our meal. Glad we had a gift card.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Virgil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant 3 times. The first time was great, second time just so-so, third time 1/2 the meals were great and the other 1/2 just fair. It is unfortunate, because this restaurant has the ability to be great. The atmosphere is overly busy, and the wait staff appeared stressed and tended to rush us during the meal.

Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

When The Blistered Pig Smoke house opened it was a nice place to go. I would take my family and we would have a nice dinner and "experience" at the restaurant. Then, they made some subtle changes to the menu like removing the famous brussel sprouts and fish\shrimp. I could get past that and we still went on occasion. Portions & food were still good.

Last night we went back to the BP and it had been awhile. The BP has totally changed and for the worse.

* You grab your own menu and seat yourself. No real wait staff. A person comes over with an iPad and takes a drink order. He does NOT bring you your drinks but brings plastic cups and you self serve your drinks.

* then the same person comes back to take order. There is one person doing this for every table in the restaurant. No real wait staff. You ask questions about the restaurant and about the recent changes and they do not know. "Just started"

* Now the big issue. The Menu is now "a la carte". So the prices haven't changed... ie. You pay $11.95 for burnt ends. What does that get you? 6 little pieces of burnt ends. So you may ask what about the 2 sides that you got before? Oh, no sides included. You have to pay another $3.75 for sides. Well, at least I get those tasty hush puppies and jalapeño butter, right? nope... not complimentary as before... That is another side that you have to pay for...

The place is way over priced for the food, portion sizes went down, service is horrible, the experience is terrible.

This use to be a nice place to go but now not even in the top 100 for value, experience, or quality of food.

I would NOT recommend the Blistered Pig anymore. Go up the road to Danny's or come to Fuquay for the Aviators Smokehouse..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deLeonStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

deLeon-

I am sorry you don't care for the changes at Blistered Pig. Just for the record, most of our prices have DROPPED as we have adopted an a la carte menu. For example, our Smoked Brisket Platter (meat and two sides) used to be priced at $15.95. It is now 10.95 plus $3.75 if you order the same two sides. Our Pulled Pork platter was priced at $12.95 with two sides--it is now priced at $9.50 a la carte.

Many people found that having two sides with every meal was just too much food. Others found it wasn't enough. So we decided to leave it up to the individual and let them decide how many, if any, sides they wanted. Hush Puppies are no longer "complimentary"--as they never really were--but are now paid for only IF YOU WANT THEM! Not everyone wants them. But everyone was "paying" for them. The quality and consistency of our food is better than it has ever been as we have focused the menu on those items, smoked meats, that we do best. Again, I am sorry that you didn't approve of our changes, but we are confident that the quality of the food, and the experience, is the best it has been.

We will continue to work on, and improve, the training of the staff and their knowledge of the food and the restaurant. There is ALWAYS room for improvement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Just got home from a disappointing experience at the Blistered Pig. I really enjoyed this restaurant in the past - good food, great service, comfortable outdoor seating - a perfect place for a fun night out. For some reason, the restaurant has decided to change its format to - stand in line, order your food, take a seat and wait for your name to be called. Not the dining experience I wanted this evening. Sadly, they are not even very good at executing this new service method. There's a small handwriting sign where the host stand use to be instructing customers to place their order at the counter. We were a bit confused by this since this was new to us but we found the counter and ordered. We received our food relatively quickly but the table next to us never received theirs and eventually left (I assume they asked for their payment back). The employees all seemed a bit stressed. The kitchen forgot to put cole slaw on our sandwiches but the server who delivered our order left the table so quickly after he dropped off our plates (and told us where to get our own forks!), I didn't get a chance to say anything. If the owner of this restaurant is committed to this new serving method, it needs some critical help. However, I'm hoping the owner reconsiders his decision and changes this restaurant back to traditional service.

2  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

On our way to RDU, we received a call that our flight had been cancelled, so we stopped at a cool mercantile exchange in Apex and stumbled upon the Blistered Pig. We challenged the chef to make a sample of 6 meats while we settled back to watch the World Series with endless sweet tea. The charming wait staff brought out platters of perfectly done ribs that delighted my hard to please Caribbean husband and I was blown away by the pulled chicken. The sides of baked beans and peppery collard greens were better than my granny’s. We ate like it was our last meal, which was fortunate as the storm tearing up the cost disallowed traveling for another 12 hours. We were still fat and happy when we arrived home.

Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing