We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me glad our flight from RDU was cancelled”

The Blistered Pig Smokehouse
Ranked #52 of 142 Restaurants in Apex
Price range: USD 7 - USD 23
Cuisines: American
Description: The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, located in Apex, offers the best in local barbecue. We are committed to all natural and sustainable meats. All of our meats are farmer sourced and have been humanely, pasture raised. Our menu includes a wide variety of southern and BBQ favorites, including pimento cheese, biscuits, ribs, baked beans, collard greens, brisket, and our delicious pulled pork! All of our meats are smoked or roasted in-house, and all of the items on our menu (even the pickles) are made fresh, on-site by our chefs. Come enjoy our southern homemade goodness with friends by our outdoor fire pit, or grab some to take home to your family. We also offer catering services for your next gathering. Let our chefs do all the cooking! The Blistered Pig Smokehouse -- "We only smoke the good stuff!"
Restaurant details
Description: The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, located in Apex, offers the best in local barbecue. We are committed to all natural and sustainable meats. All of our meats are farmer sourced and have been humanely, pasture raised. Our menu includes a wide variety of southern and BBQ favorites, including pimento cheese, biscuits, ribs, baked beans, collard greens, brisket, and our delicious pulled pork! All of our meats are smoked or roasted in-house, and all of the items on our menu (even the pickles) are made fresh, on-site by our chefs. Come enjoy our southern homemade goodness with friends by our outdoor fire pit, or grab some to take home to your family. We also offer catering services for your next gathering. Let our chefs do all the cooking! The Blistered Pig Smokehouse -- "We only smoke the good stuff!"
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

On our way to RDU, we received a call that our flight had been cancelled, so we stopped at a cool mercantile exchange in Apex and stumbled upon the Blistered Pig. We challenged the chef to make a sample of 6 meats while we settled back to watch the World Series with endless sweet tea. The charming wait staff brought out platters of perfectly done ribs that delighted my hard to please Caribbean husband and I was blown away by the pulled chicken. The sides of baked beans and peppery collard greens were better than my granny’s. We ate like it was our last meal, which was fortunate as the storm tearing up the cost disallowed traveling for another 12 hours. We were still fat and happy when we arrived home.

Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Great family restaurant. Bbq chicken and pork were excellent. Prices reasonable and good atmosphere. Would visit again.

Thank Macism2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

My family and I are from out of town visiting friends and decided we wanted some great bbq.... shame on us for not knowing it was a fast food type of atmosphere where you order first and serve yourselves later but still decided to give it a go. Our friends ordered first and us to follow (2seconds later) unfortunately their meal came out and then it took another 15 minutes for ours to follow. We were told to order beers at the bar but then the bartender told us to get back in line to pay for our beer first which were served in plastic cups. The sweet potato fries were under cooked, my burnt tips were extremely bitter, collard greens undercooked, regular fries to salty, pulled chicken was cold, hot dog bun was stale, macaroni and cheese was mush. The staff kept making comments how busy it was but if they did have servers they only would need one to take care of everyone. Every customer looked upset and what looked like the owner stood in the kitchen with a look of numbness instead of walking around smoothing over the many rough edges. With what looks like such a great town that has the making of a great night out from the shopping to the small ice cream shop and up and coming restaurants this is certainly one to pass up and hopefully the next time we’re in town this spot can be filled with an eager entrepreneur that can deliver both in great service and great food to match the surroundings of what seems to be a great town.

1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Sorry that your evening was a disappointment Sean. We have been open for two weeks in our new "quick service" format and we are still working on improvement. I am certain that your experiences as a business owner and entrepreneur would have led to different decisions and different results. We're still learning. Thank you for giving us a try! We'll do better next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Whoa - been a semi-regular since they opened....stopped in tonight and was not prepared for the change - No longer a sit-down, waiter/waitress restaurant - but a walk up order place, where you pay before receiving your food . New menu, with all sides now Ala Carte' and food served on Paper Plates and Drinks in plastic cups.
Beer and Wine only, and NO service - You even get your own drinks and silver-ware. Place went from a nice evening out kind of place you could take a date, to a BBQ Joint. An expensive BBQ Joint at that.

Food was good, but doesn't make up for the lack of atmosphere and dining experience. It's too bad.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Patrick- I am sorry to hear that you don't like the changes we have made. At the Blistered Pig Smokehouse, we have tried to focus on the smoked meats and have worked to make the quality, and flavor, of the food the best that it can be. We have a new Pit Master with years of experience and the awards to back up his skills--both for the smoked meats he prepares and for his sauces. As I grew up in North Carolina and know and love BBQ, I think it is some of the best I've ever eaten. And that applies to the ribs, the pulled pork, the brisket, and the chicken. PItMaster Bart Ramsey has put his own spin on sides like baked beans, mac & cheese, collards, potato salad, slaw, etc and we have gotten great feedback from customers, as well as our own tastebuds. Hopefully, we can provide some great BBQ and sides quickly and tastefully in a clean, attractive environment at a cheaper price than before for most of the dishes we offer. We offer unlimited non-alcoholic beverages so refills are entirely up to you--a source of many complaints in the past. And we still offer a selection of local craft draft beers, domestic bottled beers, and wines--albeit the beer is served in a plastic pint glass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

In NC for family visit and looked forward to our favorite barbecue in Apex. We were very disappointed with the change in the service. Changes include everything is a la carte...the barbecue plates are only meat, sides are $2.50. The place is very pricey portions are small, and beer on tap served in plastic cups. Come on guys , craft beer in a plastic cup for $7.50. Grill staff employees outside complaining about not being paid. $34 for two sandwiches and 2 beers, never again.

1  Thank Bev Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Bev- Sorry you were disappointed with the changes we've made. All of the prices were plainly visible when you ordered, so I am surprised that you ordered despite them being too "pricey". Sides are $2.50 each--if you get 2 they are only $1.85 each, and if three, they are $1.50 each. The entire menu is a la carte so you can choose what, if anything, you prefer on the side. Portions are measured and ultimately the restaurant is less expensive for a meat and two vegetables than it was before. As to the plastic cup...you got 16oz of cold beer. Those prices haven't changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Blistered Pig Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing