We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has the “going out of business” taste to it”
Review of The Blistered Pig Smokehouse - CLOSED

The Blistered Pig Smokehouse
Price range: USD 7 - USD 23
Cuisines: American
Description: Cantina 2 Twenty Five is a labor of love of executive chef Irais Gutierrez and his staff. Specializing in Mexican street food, the chef has "fused" some incredible traditional American dishes with the Mexican counterpart...and the results are dazzling. Try one of the more than 26 unique tacos, and other original dishes offered at Cantina 2 Twenty Five!
Restaurant details
Description: Cantina 2 Twenty Five is a labor of love of executive chef Irais Gutierrez and his staff. Specializing in Mexican street food, the chef has "fused" some incredible traditional American dishes with the Mexican counterpart...and the results are dazzling. Try one of the more than 26 unique tacos, and other original dishes offered at Cantina 2 Twenty Five!
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

My family and I are from out of town visiting friends and decided we wanted some great bbq.... shame on us for not knowing it was a fast food type of atmosphere where you order first and serve yourselves later but still decided to give it a go. Our friends ordered first and us to follow (2seconds later) unfortunately their meal came out and then it took another 15 minutes for ours to follow. We were told to order beers at the bar but then the bartender told us to get back in line to pay for our beer first which were served in plastic cups. The sweet potato fries were under cooked, my burnt tips were extremely bitter, collard greens undercooked, regular fries to salty, pulled chicken was cold, hot dog bun was stale, macaroni and cheese was mush. The staff kept making comments how busy it was but if they did have servers they only would need one to take care of everyone. Every customer looked upset and what looked like the owner stood in the kitchen with a look of numbness instead of walking around smoothing over the many rough edges. With what looks like such a great town that has the making of a great night out from the shopping to the small ice cream shop and up and coming restaurants this is certainly one to pass up and hopefully the next time we’re in town this spot can be filled with an eager entrepreneur that can deliver both in great service and great food to match the surroundings of what seems to be a great town.

1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Sorry that your evening was a disappointment Sean. We have been open for two weeks in our new "quick service" format and we are still working on improvement. I am certain that your experiences as a business owner and entrepreneur would have led to different decisions and different results. We're still learning. Thank you for giving us a try! We'll do better next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Whoa - been a semi-regular since they opened....stopped in tonight and was not prepared for the change - No longer a sit-down, waiter/waitress restaurant - but a walk up order place, where you pay before receiving your food . New menu, with all sides now Ala Carte' and food served on Paper Plates and Drinks in plastic cups.
Beer and Wine only, and NO service - You even get your own drinks and silver-ware. Place went from a nice evening out kind of place you could take a date, to a BBQ Joint. An expensive BBQ Joint at that.

Food was good, but doesn't make up for the lack of atmosphere and dining experience. It's too bad.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Patrick- I am sorry to hear that you don't like the changes we have made. At the Blistered Pig Smokehouse, we have tried to focus on the smoked meats and have worked to make the quality, and flavor, of the food the best that it can be. We have a new Pit Master with years of experience and the awards to back up his skills--both for the smoked meats he prepares and for his sauces. As I grew up in North Carolina and know and love BBQ, I think it is some of the best I've ever eaten. And that applies to the ribs, the pulled pork, the brisket, and the chicken. PItMaster Bart Ramsey has put his own spin on sides like baked beans, mac & cheese, collards, potato salad, slaw, etc and we have gotten great feedback from customers, as well as our own tastebuds. Hopefully, we can provide some great BBQ and sides quickly and tastefully in a clean, attractive environment at a cheaper price than before for most of the dishes we offer. We offer unlimited non-alcoholic beverages so refills are entirely up to you--a source of many complaints in the past. And we still offer a selection of local craft draft beers, domestic bottled beers, and wines--albeit the beer is served in a plastic pint glass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

In NC for family visit and looked forward to our favorite barbecue in Apex. We were very disappointed with the change in the service. Changes include everything is a la carte...the barbecue plates are only meat, sides are $2.50. The place is very pricey portions are small, and beer on tap served in plastic cups. Come on guys , craft beer in a plastic cup for $7.50. Grill staff employees outside complaining about not being paid. $34 for two sandwiches and 2 beers, never again.

1  Thank Bev Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foreverforward, Owner at The Blistered Pig Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Bev- Sorry you were disappointed with the changes we've made. All of the prices were plainly visible when you ordered, so I am surprised that you ordered despite them being too "pricey". Sides are $2.50 each--if you get 2 they are only $1.85 each, and if three, they are $1.50 each. The entire menu is a la carte so you can choose what, if anything, you prefer on the side. Portions are measured and ultimately the restaurant is less expensive for a meat and two vegetables than it was before. As to the plastic cup...you got 16oz of cold beer. Those prices haven't changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

After waiting nearly an hour, after being told 20
Minutes, we finally pointed out an empty table to the host. He still took 5 minutes to seat us at it and we waited 15 more minutes for a high chair he promised and never brought. Then our server, who was clearly VERY high, came out and not only did he keep rubbing his eyes continuously while he said things to us, but he couldn't repeat correctly a single order back to us and he asked each of us more than once for our order. He also promised a high chair that didn't come. Then he rubbed his eyes some more, said more weird things that didn't make sense and kept squinting at his paper. He said it was a contact lens issue but he was wearing glasses. He needed to be sent home. Even if it was a contact lens issue, he was rubbing his very red eyes and face constantly then serving people food. That is DISGUSTING and how people get sick. Ultimately, we walked out before he could turn in our order to the kitchen.

3  Thank travellovers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We hit up the early bird specials 7-8am where you can get 2 eggs, 2 pieces of either sausage or bacon, hash browns and a biscuit....for $4.99! It's a great deal and the kids loved it! We went for the 2nd time this past Saturday and we're sad to see we were the only patrons there. IHOP is always slammed on the weekend and this is a much better, healthier, local, family choice! I know, I know, we have had some slow and terrible service at this restaurant in the past for lunch and dinner as other reviewers have indicated but I assure you the breakfast is a totally different experience! The sausage is large juicy links! Bacon is not over or under cooked! Eggs are cooked any way you like them!!! I chose to get the sausage and cheese on am everything bagel, it was delicious! The meals were plenty and left you full!!! My only suggestions would be to turn the music down. We loved the music selection but it was just too loud. The other would be to ramp up the coffee a bit. Maybe a better brand that's more robust and try to avoid getting grounds into the coffee. Most who go out to eat for breakfast like a nice cup of coffee. It can make or break the meal. Otherwise, I suggest local friends and visitors in apex to give this breakfast a try next weekend!!!

Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing