We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location but no Hot Water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Reviewed 17 August 2008

This hotel is a very nice location and near one of the largest malls in Manila. There are several Starbucks and restaurants within walking distance. There is a small pool on the roof, but small is the operative word. The breakfast is a little bizarre; more like a dinner with some weird meats and pastas. The rooms are clean but basic. The biggest drawback was that I could not get the internet to work and there was no hot water. I have not tried the other hotels in the area, so I am not sure what to expect from this area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kolbinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2008

I loved this place. It was very clean, the staff was great. The place itself was in a great location.It is near EDSA that means easy access to everything. There were a lot of banks around the area all within walking distance. I loved loved loved the 2 free 1 hour body massage they give you for every 2 days you stay and can't go wrong with 2 free breakfast buffets. The pool on the roof was cool, if only they changed the cement walls to thick clear durable plastic ones so that you can take in the view while swimming or just lounging on the chairs. They even offer to give you a manicure and pedicure and also a haircut in your room all for very reasonable prices I think the manicure was like 150 pesos if the conversion is 40 pesos = 1 dollar, then its less then 4 dollars, not bad. Hair cut is like 300 pesos = 8 dollars. I stayed in their 3 bedroom hotel there were 6 of us and we stayed there very comfortably.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loreefabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

I have recently returned from my trip to the Philipines, and I miss the Fernandina already. I will return later this year and stay here again. The staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful, from room service, cleaning staff, to doormen helping with taxis. The breakfast was a joy every morning with a wonderful view of the city. The rooms were very clean and neat, and the airconditioning was flawless. I really cant say enough about the staff, who made this stay very memorable.
The malls and shopping were super within walking distance, as were the bus system where we merely walked to, for a trip to Bataangas.
We are planning on having our wedding reception here on the top floor restaurant.
I will stay here when I return

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gary92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Fernandina Suites & Hotel was a welcome surprise for vacationers looking for a vacation experience other than the beach or sigh seeing. Seeing Fernandina’s location in the web, I was intrigued by its location and accessibility to major thoroughfares. It’s located at the Araneta Shopping Center in Quezon City where major shopping outlets, restaurants, grocery stores, etc, are in place including a farmer’s market.

The hotel rate is lower compared to condotel or service apartments in Makati area. The rate, location and the farmers market lured me to book a 2-bedroom suite for a family of five. In case I did not like what I see upon arrival, I booked other hotels for back up.

The hotel’s façade is ordinary and the services basic but you get what you pay for; besides the hotel passed my test of cleanliness and security. The two bedroom suite was around $105 a day (2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living/dining room area, and a kitchen). Our suite was clean with A/Cs in the living room and the two bedrooms and hot running water 24/7. There was housekeeping services daily. Laundry services were also available at affordable rates and outgoing local calls (using landline) were free of charge. There was free complimentary breakfast for two daily. Transportation plus driver were also available although we only required their services for out-of-town trips since the hotel was conveniently located and we walk most of the time. Again, the rates for car (but in our case a van) + drive are very competitive and much lower than Avis and/or other car rental agencies in Manila/Makati. We extended our stay for the duration of our vacation because of all these factors.

Cooking utensils and cutleries were for rent at Php300/daily (less that $8). The kitchen has a standard size refrigerator with plenty of cupboards and large kitchen sink. If one is health conscious and/or easily tires of restaurant foods, a farmers market with its wide selection of fresh seafood, fish, meat, veggies, fruits, etc, is open almost 24 hours and a walking distance from the hotel. If one is inclined, one can easily whip up a gourmet or authentic native dinner rather than relying solely to eating out although there were so many eateries and restaurant around to choose from. In fact, fresh gourmet foods were available at the farmers market and I was able to introduce my children to the wide varieties of fruits, vegetables, and seafood like shrimps, fish, crabs from tropical country like the Philippines. We also found gourmet cheeses, chocolates and coffee. We enjoyed walking around the area and tasting native foods. Since it was Christmas time, there were so many varieties to sample.

The public lightweight rail transit (LRT) is conveniently located at Gateway Mall. One could hop to Makati by using the LRT since its Ayala Avenue stop in Makati is at Glorietta Mall (near the Intercontinental Hotel).

If one is adventurous enough, a block away from the hotel is a huge bus terminal with bus services going to exotic places like Quezon, Batangas, Laguna, Cavite, Tagaytay City. The buses are all air-conditioned.

We go out everyday and although there was no safety deposit box in our suite, our valuables and passports which were store in our suitcase were left untouched.

I would recommend Fernandina Suites to people looking for a clean, safe, affordable and accessible place to stay. The staffs were helpful and friendly and the two drivers we had opportunity to meet, Bobby and Lino who sometimes acted as our tour guides, proved to be reliable and friendly complete with their witty and funny commentaries.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissingManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2007

travelled from the UK
late october/early november 2006

the hotel is based in aranetta near Ali Mall and SM cubao, so getting to it is easy if you tell a cab driver where you want to go. get the cab driver to put the meter on though...they charged us twice the normal fare..not the best "welcome to manila"

the hotel itself is ok, they check your bags for stuff, i think because there is a high risk of terrorism, and thats even before you get to the reception desk.

Check-in was a fairly straightforward process, you will need photo ID though and settlement of the bill is done upon arrival.

The rooms vary in size depending on which side of the building you get, we got a mixture of both because we went to baguio halfway (stayed in golden pine hotel..excellent hote!!) and then came back.

the first room was really nice, good decoration and the layout of the room was good too. it was split from the dining area and the lounge area which was good and it had a balcony too, which was perfect really.

the second room (after baguio), decoration wasnt the nicest but this time the room was large and the tv area was created by putting a comfy sofa infront of the bed, but no balcony,...

all rooms have air con and mini fridge is availble as well and ensuite with hot water 24/7 and showers.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and the restuarant is on the top floor, giving a nice morning view of manila waking up. breakfast consisted of, fried bangus (a type of fish), rice, some sort of soup and scrambled eggs with tomatoes. Bread jam and tea/coffee as you would expect, all of course buffet style....however, its the same everyday..so it can get just a bit boring if your staying there for any more than a few days.

Good points

security guard was really helpful in hailing cabs, he even went across the street to the nearby bus station to get us a cab.

They have a swimming pool on the roof, one mini and one large. Didnt use them, but they do have sun loungers as well. The hotel is suppose to lock access to the pool at 11pm, they dont. but make sure you dont get locked out otherwise its a night under the stars and be careful it does get slippery!

A lot of malls are close by so if shoppings your thing then really you dont have much to worry about, also lots and lots of restaurants are close by so lots of choices for food which is always good.

bad points

repetitive breakfast..

room service doesnt clean your room everyday, you have to request it if you would like this. Also if you want towels this has to be requested as they wont be left in the room on arrival.
We requested room service one day, one of the towels we bought from home went missing, never to be seen again. So i would suggest that if you do request room service just make sure any valuables are LOCKED in your bags.

Value for money wise, i think there are better hotels out there than this particular one but i still didnt mind staying there.

It cost around 2800 pesos per night (around £30) but thats inclusive of breakfast as well, but i think because the basics such as room cleaning wasnt done everyday i felt the price wasnt justified, but i felt it gave me the experience of the philippines i wanted i guess.

Overall, if i had a choice i wouldnt stay there again, id probably go to makati but if i was forced to choose a hotel i would consider them.

Hope you have a good time in manila! i know i did :D

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flam_287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Manila Araneta Center
Novotel Manila Araneta Center
#3 of 63 in Quezon City
593 reviews
0.4 km away
Fersal Hotel - P. Tuazon
Fersal Hotel - P. Tuazon
#22 of 63 in Quezon City
31 reviews
1.5 km away
Soleste Suites
Soleste Suites
#10 of 63 in Quezon City
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Acropolis
4.5 km away
Brentwood Suites
Brentwood Suites
#13 of 63 in Quezon City
101 reviews
3.0 km away
Meranti Hotel
Meranti Hotel
#11 of 63 in Quezon City
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel

Address: 222 P. Tuazon Boulevard | Araneta Shopping Center, Quezon City, Luzon 1109, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quezon City
Price Range: $64 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a dynamic business Center, Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel is a few steps to all that Quezon City's Araneta Business and Shopping Center has to offer, such as Rustans department store, ShoeMart, Farmer's Market, Fiesta Carnival, Araneta Coliseum and many international restaurants which are all in the neighborhood. Banks, theaters and transportaion are all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina 88 Hotel Quezon City
Fernandina 88 Suites Hotel Quezon City, Philippines - Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing