We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell Hole!”
Review of Malate Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malate Pensionne
Ranked #17 of 74 Manila B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hell Hole!”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I am actually too drained by the whole experience of dealing with the Malate Pensionne's despicable group of staff to actually write a particularly insightful review. However, it would suffice to say that i would never wish a night spent in this place on anyone I have ever met.

Cockroaches, bed bugs, hookers, ridiculously loud air-con, aforementioned unfriendly, intimidating and downright aggressive staff......the list goes on.

AVOID!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    48
    61
    33
    33
See reviews for
21
72
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I was pleasantly surprised of my stay at the Melate Pensionne which was referred to me from a well traveled person. This building has plenty of hardwoods and character. For the price of the stay and the location(right within walking distance to most attractions), it will be and is very hard to beat. What I liked most was the friendliness of the entire staff. They will make you feel safe and well informed of your surroundings. My two drivers from the hotel(Henry and June) are very down to earth and very helpful as well as likable. Mila who runs the place is like a mother who's got your back for whatever you need. My only quirks is that some rooms may be a little noisy because of the hardwood floorings. Besides that, I enjoyed my stay and will not complain. I got a good stay for a bargain/budget price.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the staircases for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The rooms do look nice at first glance. As does the whole place. But the bed might be in my top 3 worst beds ever. Really hard and with the bed spirals poking in my back. I wished I just paid a little extra and had a good night sleep at another place. So won't be back probably...But I guess it is an OK place if you're on a budget and like meeting other people and don't care to much about comfort.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmijn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The worst that can happen during a trip. There were bedbugs in our room. Horrible. There is a build site beside.

After the discover of the bedbugs we had to throw a lot of things and laundry of everything

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This "trip" was geared to boost my airline "frequent-miler" status. My loyalty to one airline paid off when I purchased a "LAX-NRT-MNL-NRT-LAX" that guaranteed my miler-status. Malate Pensionne in Manila was the "travel point" location that would enhanced the most miles. (Malate Pensionne does not give out "award miles"). Being an "Angeleno" on a budget & to my "surprise", my 3 night stay @ Malate Pensionne was 'THE BEST". With proper planning with the reigning "Queen" of all the Manila "Pensionnes", Madam Mila Menicable, info@mpensionne.com, will assist & tailor your needs to your budget. (be aware of some "low beams"). The Pensionne took care of my airport pick-up, my impromptu "meeting" in Paranaque City, 3 hour drive to Penaranda, Nueva Ecija & etc.......

Room Tip: Check out the "executive rooms"....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
We look forward to your return visit two weeks from now and thank you for making Malate Pensionne your home when in Manila. Wishing you a safe and pleasant trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#9 of 109 in Manila
863 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurotel Pedro Gil
#69 of 109 in Manila
220 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
267 reviews
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 74 in Manila
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malate Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malate Pensionne

Property: Malate Pensionne
Address: 1771 M. Adriatico St., Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price range (per night): $20 - $30
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malate Pensionne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malate Pensionne is located in the heart of Malate, a district of Manila on Adriatico St. (formerly Dakota St under the US Commonwealth & Calle Nuevo under Spain). Our building was built by Americans who leased the land from our grandfather to house American workers. When the lease ended, our mother turned it into Dakota Apts. Returning from her European trips & learning of how Italians welcomed weary travelers to their home like family members, she turned Dakota Apts into Malate Valero Pensionne, now well know as the Malate Pensionne with the slogan, "Your home away from Home". As far as we know, we are the only hotel in the world with a strict policy of only registered guests can walk our hallways. We are about a mile from the US Embassy & Rizal Park. About 2 miles from Intramuros, the old walled city of Manila, a 5 min. walk to Robinson Mall. 15 min. by car to Mall Of Asia & 11.5km to the upscale Makati City & Bonifacio Global City. Mabuhay, Bienvenido, Welcome to your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malate Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malate Pensionne Manila
Malate Pensionne Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing