We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place with an amazing view!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Victoria, Mahe Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Japanese first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CBS102
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place with an amazing view!”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 and we stayed at Stephna Residence for 26 days from November till December 2015. The house is exactly as advertised. It is very comfortable and clean. The kitchen is well equipped and the beds very comfortable. The pool is an absolute heavensent....and the view from the pool, amazing! We spent hours and hours watching the sun set and the fruitbats fly overhead!

From the beginning of our booking and all correspondence was quick and easy. Dorothy organized our pick up at the airport and all went seemlessley without any problem.

The house is located perfectly between Victoria and Port Launay. The busstop is infront of the house and you only pay 5 rupees per person! Make sure to take bus no 6 or 9. We travelled everywere with the bus and every trip was an adventure in itself. It is very safe and you get to meet the locals.

Remi and Michelle are the perfect hosts. Remi made us some fish - Creole Style! Please ask him to make some fish for you, it is so delicious! Remi played drums while our girls played guitar- together we had the best entertainment.

Michelle the Manager is perfect at gus jib. Always calm and always ready to help. Thank you again for the lovely lemongrass tea and coconuts.

The manager also organized a hire car for us for a few days. It is very nice to hire a car and explore the island at first, but you can really go everywere with the bus. There is a busstop at every single beach! The driveway to the house is very steep but totally manageable.

We also met the owners mother and sister and they are such pleasant people! And off course the beautiful dog Canelle!!!

We would recommend this house to all. It is extremely well priced and in short - amazing. Looking forward to visiting again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank you Catherine! It was a pleasure having you. Hope you will be back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaTheNe...
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We miss our pool with sunset views!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very nice time during our 2-weeks stay. We stayed in the big house and really enjoyed the space we had, Our 2 years old son had his own room to sleep and we could go to the pool after he felt asleep - sunset, flying fruit bats, champagne and baby phone at the pool - we miss it a lot! The kitchen had everything we needed and it was great to have a washing machine just next door too. Sometimes we saw other guests out of our window, or while leaving our house for a trip, but most of the time we were alone in the pool and we also never heard others talking loud or making noise, that was great. The only noise which disturbed us a lot was the one of the barking dogs at night, they woke us up every night. We had our trouble with driving up the hill too, we had some rainy days during our holiday and on these days it was really difficult to get up to the house in a rented car with probably not the best tires of the world, but we managed every time )))
We ate twice at Anchor Café in Anse a la Mouche, it was ok. We also ate twice in Caz Creole and it was not so good and very expensive, I would only recommend to buy pizza there, nothing else! For us the best restaurant on Mahé was the Boathouse in Beau Vallon.
We didn't really like the 2 beaches, which are near the house, Anse Royal was too wild and Anse a la Mouche had almost no beach (in the times we were there), so we used our car every day. Our favourites were Anse Intendance (approx. 20 min drive), Fairyland (10 minutes) and Beau Vallon (50 minutes, but it was the only beach without waves and OK for our son to play). Speaking of our son, we didn't experience the house as extremely dangerous for toddlers, only the stairs was open, but we told him not to go there, that's all. We had to watch him when we were outside, sure, but we do it anyway, because of the cars, pool and just because of him being a toddler!
Many thanks for friendly service and if we ever come to Mahé again, we would definitely stay in StephNa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool at sunset
Liked least: Barking dogs at night
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you Olga for choosing Stephna Residence.
It was a pleasure having your family at the residence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanda M
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really paradise!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in Stephna with my wife for 14 nights. It was absolutely wonderful place for us. We travelled every day to visit a lot of beaches or national park. Stephna residence was perfect for its location in the peaceful south part of Mahe island, not far from the beaches and the airport as well.
We rented a car for the whole time and that I can really recommend!
The garden was excelent and also the staff of residence was very nice.
We hope, that we will come back again!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethandra...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed. Great for couples or families with older children but NOT for families with toddlers!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After reading all the amazing reviews on here we were so excited about our family holiday to the Stephna Residence. When we arrived in our rental car from the airport we couldn't even get the car up the drive. Now we live in Wales so are use to hills but the hill up to the villa is extremely steep. Not suitable for pushchairs or walking up and down with young children (ours is 16 months). We had to unload our luggage on the road and carry everything up the hill to the villa (we did have help from a very helpful young man). The car then had to be parked across the road. Once at the villa we were very disappointed with all the dangers that it posed to our daughter. I understand that as parents it is our responsibility to watch our daughter at all times but the outside area just wouldn't be somewhere we would have been able to spend anytime as a family relaxing as the decked area outside has no railings to stop little ones from falling down the 20ft drop. The pool area which looks a safe area as it is fenced off with gates has a big hole in the fencing at the end of the pool leading to a 30/40ft drop to the road below. The villa itself has stairs, which we were aware of when booking but we were told that the villa was safe for young children as they had stair gates. There was a stair gate at the top of the stairs but nothing at the bottom stopping them climbing up from the living area.
A holiday is meant to be a time you can relax as a family and we felt that we wouldn't be able to do this with our young daughter at the Stephna Residence with all the above mentioned issues. On booking we were told this villa was family friendly- yes maybe with older children but we feel that it is isn't suitable for families with toddlers. We had to book a hotel and move for our 11 night stay in the Seychelles.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Stephna Residence is located in a tropical garden setting with natural palms and trees, on a hill side overlooking Anse La Mouche Bay. The terrain is a combination of flat land and slopes. Also note most of Mahe is also mountainous with steep and narrow roads. It is important to check your rental vehicle is in good condition, especially the tires. Guests are always advised to rent an automatic car as this makes driving more comfortable and easier to adapt to the roads on the island.
The pool is 1.2 meters deep at one end and 1.6 meters deep at the other end. There is no hole in the balcony surrounding the pool. The pool deck is elevated 10-12 feet above ground at one end. It is always advisable that children are supervised when using the pool.
The BBQ decked area is surrounded with an edge of palm trees and flowers. It is 1-3 feet above ground. The veranda/patio has a full balcony around it, making it an excellent area for younger children. The top of the stairs has a fixed baby gate in place in accordance with Seychelles Licensing Authority and the Seychelles Tourism Board.
Please note the Seychelles is an excellent destination for both couples and families. Children under a certain age will require full supervision where ever you go on the island. Especially when visiting the many beaches and sites we have to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrisoc
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An ideal place...”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The residence was in the perfect location for our 2 weeks stay on Mahe - ideally placed to travel to the many wonderful beaches all around the coast the best of which are in the pocket to the South West of the island and within easy reach from Stephna by car - our favourite Intendance, but Baie Lazare, Anse Royale, Petite Anse (Four Seasons) and Anse Soleil.

The villa was exactly as described - clean and comfortable.

Michel and Remy are perfect host - always helpful and able to give good advice. The Kreole BBQ they prepared for us was very tasty - recommended!

As others have said, hiring a car is a must if you stay here, but I guess this applies to most holiday rentals as it makes it so much easier to get around.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location was perfect for easy access to the beaches in the area.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing