We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
179
39
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
39
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant male city four poster hotel staff member indian manager breakfast was delicious nights staying lovely boutique next morning chicken tacos nice amenities large bed rooms are comfortable perfect stopover island resort we arrived late at night wake up call
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The Sala Boutique Hotel is a really lovely charming small hotel set in the heart of bustling Male. You walk in through the gates and find its a paradise of calm away from the noise of cars and motorbikes. We were met at the airport by a very nice young man who took our luggage and then were taken from the airport island and transferred by local ferry and taxi. This was a complimentary service provided by the hotel and a lovely touch. Upon arrival a smiley female hotel staff member greeted us and we were taken to our room where our bags were waiting. Check in was smooth and efficient. Although the room had no windows it was very spacious, clean and well dressed with some nice decorative touches. We loved the four poster queen size bed and the large fluffy pillows. The air con worked well and the en suite had complimentary shower and shampoo. Free water and tea and coffee making facilities and mini fridge were available in the room. In the evening we met the hotel manager who was from India. He and his staff were extremely attentive, well mannered and went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We would highly recommend the Thai restaurant which is in the hotel. We had a wonderful 2 course meal for approx $65. The fresh watermelon and lime and ginger cocktails were delicious. The service and food presentation was exceptional. Breakfast in the morning was not disappointing too. In fact it too was of a high quality with breads, pastries, omelettes and chicken bacon. Again the service was very good. The Indian manager went out of his way to organise a taxi for our onward ferry journey. On reflection it is very hard to think of anything negative. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this small hotel. We were very impressed with the high standard of customer service and quality food. We have no hesitation in recommending The Sala Boutique Hotel as a great place to start or end your Maldivian adventure. The Owner, Thomas should be very proud of his staff, as they take enormous pride in their work, so well done.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerkennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSalaFamily, Owner at Sala Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Julie & Richard

Thank you for the wonderful kind and detailed review! Yes I am very proud of all our staff members including and especially the General Manager Mr. Raj who took over from me to run actively the day to day operation after I was on my own for almost 10 years 24/7 365;being in hospitality for now 47 years and mainly in 5 star environments....

Mr. Raj helped me to open Sala Thai 10 years ago and he knows and experienced how to operate...

We will follow your recommendation to separate the all complimentary items above the minibar and will even set up a little signboard next to it and will make it easy for all guests,

I can ensure you that we have operated Sala Thai and Sala Boutique Hotel in this very personal style ever since and will not walk away from it, even add more touches to it,

Again, thank you for the kind words, keep telling friends about us!

Warm regards
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel, which is staffed by very helpful and friendly staff. We were met at the airport and accompanied on the ferry to the hotel. The next morning we were accompanied back to the airport to meet our charter.

The room was very clean and quiet although it was on a busy street. It was beautifully decorated and so very relaxing after two hard days of travel.

The breakfast was delicious and fortified us for our grand adventure.

If I were to return to Male I would stay here again. The entire experience was flawless from beginning to end.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mayannchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSalaFamily, Owner at Sala Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review, appreciated!
Warm regards
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We had 3 nights staying at the Sala Boutique Hotel. It was an oasis in the busyness of Male. It was very comfortable, clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant was excellent. Would definitely stay there again if in Male on another occasion. Thank you to the staff for looking after us .

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

One of the best personal service in the world in to the smallest details. The owner management and the staff take care of you and the breakfast and the restaurant are just wonderful with high quality food. Its small familiar boutique hotel with a cousy small garden that can be a retreat from the busy streets in Male and you can enjoy a coffee, tea or fruit drink. I can recommend it for a night or two before or after the resort island visit. The place is excellent for longer business trips stay over and forget the upper class hotels this place is worth a try much much better in my opnion.

Room tip: In garden rooms that are very quiet and hidden from the noisy male streets
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgr-karlstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on arriving in Male, before boarding a boat for a diving holiday.
This hotel is centrally located, not that Male is particularly big. There are only 6 or 8 rooms in total at this hotel. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble.
If you are looking for a base for a short stay then i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank D3750KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews