We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the ONLY reason to stay here.”
Review of Kam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kam Hotel
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Male
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Note: We stayed at 3 hotels during our trip to Maldives, including Kam hotel, Anantara Veli and Dhigu (through a kind upgrade). As we planned and selected our entire trip through Tripadvisor, we will be doing detailed reviews of all 3.

We arrived in Hulhule (where Maldives Airport is located) via Singapore Airlines at about 10pm. We decided to save a night at our resort and put up at a hotel in Male instead. After reviewing the options, we decided on Kam Hotel for the night.

We took a boat from the airport (Turn right and go down the jetty after leaving arrival hall, about 400m). Boat ride is about 10 min and costs US$1 per person. They even help you with your luggage!

Kam Hotel was about 3 min walk from the jetty. I would frankly say that is the only thing that is good about the hotel, other than the vaguely reasonable price (we paid about US$150 through Agoda).

We checked in at about 10.30pm and check in itself was rather smoooth. Our resort Anantara had left a message for us that they would pick us up at 8am the next morning at the jetty which was the only good news that night. Luckily it was a short stay

The door was flimsy, bed was hard and squeaked when you sat down, the toilet was smelly, air con was not working well (it was hot at 13 degrees C!) The bedsheet and blanket was stained. furniture was dated. Toilet was dank and dark and had strange leaks. Did not shower.

Room itself was noisy, had absolutely no form of insulation at all from the noise. A stairwell to the lobby was right outside the door to our room. We could hear everything the entire night. There seemed to be people moving furniture throughout the night (?!?!) and doors slammed very loudly. Needless to say we had a bad night, got up bright and early to leave for our resort.

Check out was smooth.

For those looking at this option to stay in Male before moving to the resort, consider Kam hotel only for the location and nothing else. Other than that, try somewhere else. There were rows of hotels all along the same area, so we are pretty sure you can get something better than this for that price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntieadriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Kam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

Based on another positive review we decided to pick this hotel for our overnight stay in Male.

The room was terribly small, dirty, hairs left on benches, rubbish under the bed. The bathroom the same, so horrible that I didn't want to shower in it - not that there was any hot water!

We had very bad street noise that prevented us from sleeping and at about 4am we could here the workers singing downstairs.

I'm not sure if there are any better options in Male but this certainly wasn't one of them

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Eight of us stayed at the Kam for two nights before boarding a liveaboard boat to scuba dive in the Maldives. We were met at the airport and accompanied to the hotel. It was a ten minute ferry ride from the airport to the dock in Male, then less than a five minute walk dragging our luggage, with help, to the Kam. Rooms are basic, some quite small. The hallways are noisy when people are talking. There is a small elevator. A breakfast buffet was included. The rooms had A/C. The hotel did not have a pool on the premises, but we could go to the hotel just across the road. We didn't have dinner at the Kam, but tried a couple other nearby restaurants. The Kam was a very handy location, close to the beach and docks; we spent a day just walking everything in Male. No internet access, but there was a nearby coffee shop with access. No major complaints, although we were so jetlagged we probably wouldn't remember anyway!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnderwaterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 道路側は、早朝・夜間もややうるさい。
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GeorgePodrozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LGAIM-Mark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Male hotels
0.0 km away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
0.0 km away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
594 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Skai Lodge
Skai Lodge
#15 of 35 in Male
77 reviews
0.0 km away
Ungoofaar Inn
Ungoofaar Inn
#22 of 34 in Male
1 reviews
0.0 km away
LVIS boutique
LVIS boutique
#1 of 10 in Male
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Hotel

Address: Roanuge, Meheli Goalhi, Male
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range: $136 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Kam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Hotel Male
Kam Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing