We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
5
4
15
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
4
15
14
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is in dire need of a makeover. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. The carpets are old, dingy and smell. The rooms are not clean with garbage from previous guest in the room. The guy at reception has no service attributes whatsoever. The washroom was also dirty and no hot water The price is cheap but better to find another place.

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A good hotel is never good enough but a bad hotel is a joy forever. (Our family motto.)

Well, everything on this site written about musty carpets, sagging mattresses, and gloomy halls is true, except, if you love trains, the joy of this hotel is that from some rooms (not sure which, but mine) you listen to the sounds of trains in the station all night long. I know, an acquired taste, but maybe for some of you the stuff of dreams.

Someday, a swanky hotel group will snap up this hotel, turn it into a palace on (above?) train wheels, and the rates will go from $50 to $350 a night. In the meantime, the hotel is perfect for coming and going on local trains, which I found delightful. Langkawai, Penang, Singapore: all easy train rides from KL.

Guys, your wives or girlfriends will not thank you for a night in this hotel, but for those who love the sound of engines shunting in the night, here's your hotel.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MatthewStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We arrived early morning and were greeted by LURCH. No smile, little customer service. We were shown our room via a 100 old creepy lift which barely made it 2 floors up. Down a long decrepit coridoor into our room. It was a triple room but by no means large. The carpets were musty smelling and dirty. Chairs and table run down and broken. No toilet paper. When we asked them for some we got a rude reply that we should have looked in the cupboard. Didn't tell them we didn't dare open the cupboard for fear we'll find something out of a horror movie inside it. The room was so dark and everything in it was dirty and disgusting. The bathroom was shocking!! Dirty, leftover hair from previous stays and no hot water. Most horrendous hotel I've ever stayed in my life!! Disgusting and spoilt my entire holiday!!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dd8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Booked this from UK and had read the reviews but wasn't prepared for the reality.
As we walked in the smell of decay/ rot hit us. The cafeteria next to reception was gloomy and looked grubby.
We asked to have a look at the room and went up in the little lift which was quaint and worked fine. You could see beams with dry rot as you went up. We got to our floor but had to negotiate a short flight of stairs to get to our floor. Up to a lovely wide light , airy corridor but with threadbare dirty carpet.
Room 3329 was large with a dressing area and neat and tidy but so gloomy as there was only one small window with opaque glass (obviously overlooking the station platform). The smell of decay/chemicals was nearly overpowering so we didn't stay.
It's such a shame as I'm sure that this could be a fabulous hotel and the staff that we met were lovely. I think that it needs a serious amount of money spending on it to make it habitable.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank johnsbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This is the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in! A standard single was in fact a suite/2 room apartment. The building is enormous and very, very historical.
Pros: Enormous room with 2(!) air conditions. No timer, so the room remained at set temp all day. Good service, good breakfast, free Wi-Fi downstairs. Excellent location and quiet at night. Had a really good sleep!
Cons: No non-smoking rooms, wear-and-tear everywhere, not the cleanest place, no hot water in showers (which did not matter at all, probably 40 degrees "cold" water), rack rates over-priced, no air-con in common areas.
If you want your room spotless, don´t stay here, but if you instead of zooming in on the stained wallpaper and send the photos here, just ignore them, you'll have a great stay! For eating out, go to the local diner next door, sooo good Malaysian food and very cheap.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews