We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handicraft centre”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Market

Central Market
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 112.50*
and up
KL Tower Revolving Restaurant Buffet Dinner and Central Market Night Tour
Ranked #27 of 265 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Central Market began life as a wet market in 1888, built by Yap Ah Loy, the city’s Chinese Kapitan. It served as a prominent landmark in colonial and modern-day Kuala Lumpur. When the wet market was relocated in the 1980s, the Malaysian Heritage Society successfully petitioned against the demolition of the building. Now, Central Market Kuala Lumpur is an iconic attraction and a delightful destination for tourists, shoppers and art lovers.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Handicraft centre”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

For those of you who like to buy some souveniers, this place
have some make in Malaysia goods and handicraft.They also
have some artist there if you are interested in asia paintings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank joecheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    1,230
    636
    101
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
309 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“An absolute must see when in KL for sure”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Quite a few reviewers have said KL marker over Chinatown. However they are both different in their own right. Central Market is indoors, air conditioned and refined. It is not what I would call a junk market, but more so hand made and quality products (souvenirs). The shop owners seem genuinely friendly and it was a great experience. Chinatown is a must see, but as for souvenirs etc they are tacky and very overpriced. I recommend you do both Central Market and Chinatown for an overall experience. They are in fact only a few minutes walk from each other. The closest train is Pasar Seni.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank thespgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable afternoon”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

As a frequent visitor to antiques centres and craft markets back in the UK this place was right up my street. We spent a leisurely afternoon in the uncrowded colonial style halls , perusing antiques (mostly 20th century mid wars and post war ... Helps if you have a little knowledge to negotiate prices and to spot fakes which nicely there were few of), chatting to stall holders about the process of making their wares and stopping here and there for a snack and iced tea. Really lovely place with many items at nett prices (we love that as I hate bartering), purchased beautiful batiks, a pair of handmade, hand painted shoes, made infront of me as she didn't have my size in stock, a screen printed t- shirt and some lovely 1930 s smokeanalia all cheaper then the Uk There are stalls of fake watches etc if that is your bag (that were much cheaper than the horrible china town) and lots of opportunities to take presies back for friends and family. A great afternoon out especially when you are becoming tired of the sterile malls as we are!

Helpful?
3 Thank Japanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najaf, Iraq
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Site of Malaysian Antiques and Clothes”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This average sized market is specialized with Malaysian style of clothes, antiques and hand made utensils. The prices are somewhat accepted, depending of course on personal preferences. There are some shops for Chinese clothes. It is a good place for shopping and buying gifts.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank azarmaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Shopping Place for Souvenirs and Asian Items”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Central Market is one of my favorite locations in KL! It's easily accesible via bus, taxi or train.

I like how the market is sectioned according to items - from Indian-inspired items like textiles, henna, antiques; souvenir t-shirts designed by local artists; clothing located in the 2nd floor; then other more unique items. It was easy enough to go around the market (has two major floors) and the market is air-conditioned so even on hot days, it doesn't get uncomfortable inside.

You can bargain as much as your skills can take you. Like my friend was able to bargain lighters from RM55 to RM18! Most of the sellers are nice if you do get the time to get to know them and their items. Being Filipino, some of them recognized my language and were able to speak in my native tongue so we were able to get pashminas at a discounted price. And take note, these just aren't the solid colored ones; these are embroidered ones with different designs.

There's a food court on the 2nd floor and a cafe on the 1st floor, so there's a lot of food choices for all shoppers. There's a money exchange on the 1st floor, as well, and the exchange rates are pretty good compared to the ones found in Bukit Bintang.

So there, if you're looking for items that are uniquely Asian or Malaysian, go to Central Market and NOT CHINATOWN. I guarantee you the best shopping experience ever! Just get ready with your big canvass bag to put your shopped items in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank queen_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Market also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing