We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed in a club room with an amazing view of the Petronus Towers. The room was gorgeous, very clean and quiet.
We also found out on the morning of our checkout that our flight back home to London had been cancelled and the staff did everything they could to help us out and even sent us an email the next day to check we got home ok. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, Director of Operations at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Claire W, It is so wonderful to hear you had a lovely stay with us and that our family members have left such an impression. They take good care of our guests like they would of their own family and I am so proud of their hard work and dedication every day. We do hope to see you again soon. Very best wishes, Parveen Kumar, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Writing or reading a review is a tricky thing because both the reviewer and the reader relate the written experience to their expectations, which might be totally different.
E.g. what is cheap to one might be expensive to another and vice-versa. The same applies virtually to everything e.g. luxurious, tasty …
Therefore I will organize my review to list the things we liked/disliked about this hotel and leave it to you to apply those to your expectations to decide how you would rate this hotel.

The Location: The hotel is in a very good location near Petronas Towers, KLCC park and shopping centre. A hundred meters or so around the corner you have a stop for Hop-on-Hop-off bus, which offers a good way to see the most important places of Kuala Lumpur. Across the road from the hotel you have entrance to the air-conditioned walkaway taking you to the shopping area.

Check-in: very courteous staff creating a very good check in experience.

The Room: We reserved Deluxe King Room with Tower View and we were checked-in into room 2004, which is located on the 20th floor. The view was OK but not as spectacular as we expected. I think this is due to being almost at the lowest hotel floor (Hotel starts from 17th floor to 38th). I think the view from higher floors might be more spectacular.
The room was spacious and well organised. The French windows (floor to ceiling) are very nice and amplifying the view from the room.
One drawback was the lack of blinders for bathroom area windows thus allowing the outside light to lighten the room through the bathroom glass walls. I like total darkness in the bedroom at night and the outside light coming through bathroom reduced my sleeping comfort.

The breakfast: The buffet breakfast was excellent with Indian, Asia and European counters as well as fresh juices and fruits. One can select the type of food to his liking.

The Lobby and restaurants area: Having the lobby and restaurants at the 38th/37th floor is a very good idea. You can enjoy the views while enjoying your meal or drink.

The Lift: In order to go to your room from the ground floor you need to take one lift to the lobby at the 38th floor than change to another lift on the other side of the lobby. Having our room at the 20th floor we felt like children playing with lift going up and down. The hotel explains this with security. Still this is an inconvenient draw back.

Room Tip: Request room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sa'd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Sa’d S, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are most delighted that your overall stay had been a pleasant one. Indeed, our buffet breakfast at THIRTY8 and stunning views are much loved by all our guests. We certainly understand your sentiments of the lift system which is in place for guests to enjoy the majestic Twin Towers view, also security aspects. We look forward to another chance to welcome back you again. Kind regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived at hotel at 3:25pm after hours of driving. Tired & frustrated, we waited for hours before being given our room only at 4:15pm. Standard checkin for Grand Hyatt is 2pm, waited for 2hrs 15mins. We have a dinner at 6pm. Finally, we were given room 3414, asked to change room as we are not happy with such numbering room no. Such a quality from a 5 star hours is really out of question. Do we get refund for the hours of waiting?

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Esther N, we are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you had gone through and waited long due to unforeseen circumstances. We believe some of our senior members that met with the group organiser this morning to acknowledge the feedback given also to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that you had enjoyed you remaining stay and look forward to turn around your impression, hopefully on your future visit. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 3pm after a long drive, expecting to check-in immediately as the official check-in time is 2pm.

But they claimed our rooms were not ready, and we were made to wait. It’s 4pm now, and have been waiting for 1 hour, and our rooms are still not ready yet.

This poor service is absolutely unacceptable for a 5-Star hotel. Terrible, terrible service !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank smallape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear smallape, we are sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you had gone through and waited long due to the unforeseen circumstances. Some of our senior members had taken action and met with the group organiser this morning to acknowledge the feedback, also to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Nevertheless, we hope that you had enjoyed you remaining stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

This used to be one of my favorite hotel in KL (see my prev reviews) but this last trip changed my view drastically. Gone are the professionalism and courtesy of the staff - doormen seemed distracted - noone to offer help with luggage. The security guard on the lobby floor was more interested on the floor instead of pressing the lifts or just a general lookout of guests. Asked for extra bottles of water and other amenities but one has to call each requests twice and it takes at least 45 minutes and one item is often left out. Upon delivery the service attendant seemed unhappy I requested water or mouthwash - no apologies for the late delivery, no smiles and no thanks. By the end of my three night stay I wondered what had happened to the excellent service I once enjoyed - the politeness and warmth has evaporated! The front desk staff didnt bother asking how my stay was - she was sullen. With the Four Seasons, W and other new hotels opening in KL in 2018, its probably worthwhile to bring my business elsewhere to a place that value service and repeat customers

Room Tip: Have a room away from construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank glnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear glnomad, thank you for your recent patronage and below written review. We sincerely apologise for the experience that you had gone through which is below the levels that we aspire to achieve. We have taken all feedback on board with endeavour to relook into our service to improve in future. We hope that you will return again, so we can turn around your impression of the hotel once more. Kind regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,407 reviews
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
10,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
977 reviews
3.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,402 reviews
1.2 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $188 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. Features 411 guestrooms including 42 suites, also showcased as having one of the largest entry-level guestrooms in the city. Highly versatile, host dynamic meetings and events at our seven event spaces. Experience interactive and authentic dining with our three vibrant restaurants featuring interactive show kitchens. Rejuvenate with traditional Malay healing and ramuan at Essa Spa, unwind at our outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded by tropical greenery or stay fit at the 24-hour fitness centre equipped with the latest strength and cardio equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing