We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #34 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
223 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“good location, decent hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

great location, decent hotel, value for money
the bathroom does not have a tap with the commode, and if your used to using water.... its a big problem, and if you spill water on the bathroom floor it gets flooded
the other problem is the lift which only works after you have inserted your room key card, which becomes a pain at times

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    1,246
    550
    172
    114
See reviews for
706
1,203
209
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The rooms were very nice – and the location was superb. The service was marginal at best. After a very long flight – we waited for 45 minutes to check in! There is just no excuse for that. I am not sure if they were understaffed or were just incredibly busy – but they need to plan better to accommodate guests. The lobby was a zoo every time we cut through it.

Additionally – we were only staying a short time in KL, and wanted to do a city tour. We inquired with the concierge and specifically asked about a hop on hop off bus tour or something that would give us an overview of the city. He booked us a recommended tour… when the van pulled up my friend and I got in.. and immediately tried to think of a way to get out. Between the time the driver shut the van door to the time he walked around to the drivers side – we decided this was not going to work. The van was filthy, didn’t even look safe and the driver looked…. I don’t know, not like a professional guide. While I don’t hold the hotel accountable for the tour service, they did recommend it. And to further my irritation when we went out on our own we saw several city bus tours which is exactly what we had inquired about.

The pool area was very nice, spent a nice afternoon relaxing up there, although the service was incredibly slow.

Its to bad the service was so poor because this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Higbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights on route to New Zealand and on return. Rooms and breakfast very
good- we looked over the towers- the higher the room the better. Had meal at night in the pool restaurant which was fine- main restaurant a little pricey. Excellent position for visiting sites and using the monorail

Room Tip: Higher floors and looking over the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed in the East Tower--was upgraded to a suite on check-in. The room was very spacious, a little dated but clean and well maintained. The pool and deck area is a great bonus--very large and a nice spot to relax, including a swim-up bar. This was a business trip for me, but the hotel seemed to be pretty full with people on holiday. The gym is large but the equipment is a bit old and some of the aerobic machines are a bit creaky. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was adequate, and a couple of room service dinners were very nice. The hotel is only a hundred meters or so from a Monorail station, and only a bit farther to an LRT station. It is about a 10 minute waik to the Petronas Towers--lots of restaurant options nearby. One tip--the Cold Storage Company--a grocery store on the lower level of the shopping mall at the Towers, has a decent range of prepared foods to go, wine and beer if you are interested in self-catering.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

our 2nd time here, because it was excellent 1st time. Lie in the pool at night, with the full moon above, amidst skyscrapers "from the future" towering over you... (pool open until 23:00)

The Breakfast: Excellent, wonderful, food from many cuisines, and great-tasting food at that.
Great selection. (In Malaysia, bcs of the Indian and Chinese communities, it is common to have food from the three cuisines in many hotels. )

Both times we were up-graded and this time to the "lifestyle floor" , with our own lounge, where they had cocktail hours (5.30-7 pm) and did everything to help you. View to the Petronas towers, and a nice and comfy coach with a practical coffee table on wheels.

Nice bathroom, nice toiletries.

Walking distance to Petronas Towers and KLCC department store.

A lovely hotel just to be in.
I have now began my own "bed comfort rating" on a scale from 1-10: here: 10. Duvets, lotsa pillows, good matress.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 km away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
1.1 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.5 km away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Property: Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Address: Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#33 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): $91 - $166
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 910
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the heart of Malaysia while enjoying a wide range of exceptional amenities at the Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Collection. Providing an unparalleled location, ideal for business or leisure, our KL City hotel's expansive offering of sophisticated guest rooms and suites feature deluxe bedding, high-speed Internet and marble bathrooms. Filling two magnificent towers, our choice of accommodations includes those with lounge access, picturesque views of the city skyline and lavish hospitality services. Boasting a plethora of dining options, our seven restaurants offer everything from authentic Chinese cuisine to a tantalising all-day buffet, along with outdoor dining next to our Olympic-sized pool. As one of the premier convention hotels in Kuala Lumpur, our venue features state-of-the-art facilities and the largest pillar-free ballroom in Malaysia. And, for the ultimate relaxation, experience our on-site Mandara Spa, with its soothing atmosphere and luxury treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing