We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,646)
Filter reviews
3,646 results
Traveller rating
1,897
1,127
368
152
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,897
1,127
368
152
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge essence restaurant villa danieli celestial court monorail station quill city mall walk in wardrobe spg member petronas towers chinese restaurant star hotel bukit bintang breakfast buffet spacious room golden triangle concierge ellie
Filter
Updating list...
2,381 - 2,386 of 3,646 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendlier staff you are unlikely to find, and the value received at the Kuala Lumpur Sheraton Imperial is really pretty fabulous, even in a city of good deals. However, the hotel is getting a bit long in the tooth in some relatively minor ways. During my recent stay, for instance, the desk lamp cord, where ordinarily one would expect to find the on-off switch, was inelegantly patched with electrical tape. I inferred that the switch went bad and someone hastily cut it out without replacement. To turn the lamp off, one must switch off the power at the wall. Not a terrible thing, but certainly not up to the highest standards that I would expect. How much could it take to make that repair properly?

The breakfast restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The selection is wanting. No Japanese fare was available, doubtless in part to skimp on expensive buffet items like sushi. For the 69 RM charged (way over US $20), I would have appreciated a bit of salmon nigiri. (Unfortunately, there are no restaurants that I found within an easy walk where one can grab breakfast.)

On the other hand, the Italian restaurant, Villa Daneilli, provided my friend and me with a delightful dining experience. (Please see separate review.) There is a Hamal-style Chinese restaurant, as well, but I did not dine there during this stay.

The hotel is conveniently located near the overhead monorail, so it’s easy to zip to more shopping, restaurants, etc. Also, the Hard Rock Café, for those afficiandos, is a 10 minute walk, and numerous Thai and other restaurants are not a lot further. (Beware of some of these, located across the main boulevard from the Shangri-La Hotel, as they are thick with hookers.)

All in all, the KL Sheraton is worth a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinpalladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur! We really appreciate your positive comments about our friendly staff, Villa Danieli's and our convenient location (Monorail). Thank you for highlighting areas of improvement which is extremely important to us so we can improve our services and facilities. Hope you have enjoyed the city and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial on future visits to KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Nice hotel but a little out of the action. I have previously stayed at the Parkroyal in Bukit Bintang which I think is more conveniently located for shopping and would prorbaly prefer to stay there at their Club Level for the same price. The Sheraton is a lovely hotel but we found the rooms very noisy, you were able to here stomping and talking at all hours of the day/night. We were woken early by music coming through the air con vents. The room was spacious and clean and breakfast was totally amazing with fresh juices and eggs made to order. This hotel is located near the monorail but it was a little difficult getting our suitcases down the stairs as the escalator only goes up, so I would recommend getting a taxi (approx $40) instead of the Skybus from LCCT. It's also annoying to have to get the monorail each time you want to pop to the shops.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlp9202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur! We really appreciate your positive comments about our spacious rooms, cleanliness, signature breakfast at Essence's and convenience of the monorail. Thank you for highlighting the areas we could improve which is extremely valuable feedback for us so we can review our services and facilities. Hope you have enjoyed the city and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial on future visits to KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Interesting country and a very nice hotel to see the city from.

There is a bit of a suspicious vibe if one brings up politics. Free Speech is not really a thing here. But there are a lot of young people who want it and a surprisingly active music scene.

Some cool temples are a short drive away and worth seeing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Bentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur! Hope you have enjoyed the city and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial on future visits to KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Service was good and the staff very polite. The concierge was particularly helpful especially in helping you find places to eat.

The restaurants as okay, but nothing extraordinary. The Italian Restaurant called "Villa Danieli" has a great menu but maybe its full potential is not realized due to the lack of fresh ingredients in KL. The breakfast menu is also very extensive - one of the most extensive I have seen. But then gain, it suffers in having anything spectacularly great. Not bad though if you are in the hotel for a conference where breakfast is a perfunctory meal and not to be really enjoyed upon.

At the bar, the bartenders are helpful and polite but then again the space is so spaced out that it has an empty feel. On the other hand if you want to just sit down by yourself and enjoy the local singer, the wide space is not a bad deal.

Over-all, if you are in a conference, especially a conference within the hotel or its vicinity, it's not a bad hotel. Average, clean, courteous staff, and I would go back there if I have to be in a meeting there, but not if I am on a holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur! We really appreciate your positive comments about our service, polite staff especialy our concierge and the cleanliness of the hotel. Thank you for highlighting the areas we could improve in and it is very important to receive these comments so we can take the necessary action to improve ourselves. Hope you have enjoyed the city and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial on future visits to KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My Boyfriend and I have stayed here for about 4 - 5 times in 1 year plus and almost every time I visit KL. The Property is maintained extremely well and the spa is gorgeous. Rooms and Bathrooms are really big, around 42sqm for Deluxe. I have indeed fallen in love with them. Service is good but still has space for getting exceptional. Breakfast spread is also wide and replenished every time and it;s about RM 55 ++ per pax . There is also the full stretch of bars and clubs right beside the Hotel Lane and a 24hr Food Place Called "Buhari" which has very nice food (*North Indian Dishes Like Naan is fantastic*)

It is not on the Shopping District - So you would need to cab down to Bukit Bintang .. Pudu and all but still not too far also... Around RM 10-15 maybe by cab..

Overall if you are about to take a getaway to just laze and get pampered in a beautiful place.. Then this place will be great for you. :)

Room Tip: High Floor Rooms Facing the Twin Towers at Night are definitely something not to be missed
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanthini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur! We really appreciate your positive comments about our Mandara Spa, spacious rooms and how well maintained the hotel is. Hope you have enjoyed the city and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial on future visits to KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews