We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good”
Review of Lai Ching Yuen

Lai Ching Yuen
Ranked #825 of 4,901 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: USD 21 - USD 166
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Last night we came here for dinner. The last time we came was almost a year ago, but the food is still very good and delicious. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Nice environment for a pleasant and quiet dinner. The chefs are the same, staff the same and food still the same good taste. Wonderful. Highly recommended.

Thank AlvinTaikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederik W, General Manager at Lai Ching Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Alvin Taikor,

Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted to hear your comments in regards to the food as well as the team. Your kind words are much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the soonest.

Kind regards,
The Lai Ching Yuen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2018

One of the better places for Dim Sum in KL city centre. Good ambience, situated in a luxury hotel. Highly recommended.

Thank FatBoyHoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederik W, General Manager at Lai Ching Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear FatBoyHoe,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Dim Sum and your comments have been shared with the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Lai Ching Yuen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We had dinner here at this restaurant and our opinion is the food is not very good. The utensils are a bit old especially the stainless steel spoons which look like it’s not very clean due to wear and tear. Staff is quite friendly and service is quite good. Overall we had an average experience with the food and I don’t think we will be visiting again anytime soon.

Thank Bliybliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederik W, General Manager at Lai Ching Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Bliybliy,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feed back. We are happy to hear your comments in regards to our Staff.

Next to that we have shared your feedback with our kitchen team in order to improve our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on lcy@millenniumhotels.com in case further assistance is needed.

Kind regards,
The Lai Ching Yuen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

First impression of the wait staff wasn't that good. The middle age cantonese waitress insisted on speaking canto/mandarin to us when my partner was obviously more comfortable with english. We wanted to order the dimsum buffet as we have stumbled upon a favourable facebook post earlier. The waitress was insistent on us going for ala carte. We enquired, but were not given any introduction on the differences between both menus, and were treated with disdain and impatience when we appeared at a loss over the menu choices.

We were then treated as criminals and curtly told in mandarin that we will be charged by weight, should we leave any unfinished food for the buffet menu. It did seem tempting afterwards to opt for the "pay by weight penalty", as the food quality was reflective of their service attitude.

We have usually enjoyed our trips to KL, and been impressed on numerous occasions by the service at upscale restaurants in the downtown area. But at Lai Ching Yuen, perhaps decent attitude and service is an item on the ala carte menu!

Thank cyktai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederik W, General Manager at Lai Ching Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear cyktai,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. Next to that I would like to apologize for your experience as this certainly does not reflect the service one can expect from us.

Rest assured your constructive comments will be utilized to provide the necessary training for the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on frederik.wisselink@millenniumhotels.com in case you are planning to return to Lai Ching Yuen and I would be more than happy to personally welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Frederik Wisselink
Excutive Assitant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Dim sum varieties are plentiful here.Good ambience and great service and food. Try thier signature seafood braised noodle. Absolutely yummy. Food is well presented and fast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederik W, General Manager at Lai Ching Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Lynna L,

Thank you very much for leaving such kind words. We have shared your comments within the team and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Lai Ching Yuen Restaurant.

Kind regards,
The Lai Ching Yuen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lai Ching Yuen also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Lai Ching Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing