We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean hotel near KL Golden Triangle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama Bukit Bintang
Ranked #52 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed there wit my partner from 15th Sept til 17th Sept 2012. They upgraded our rooms to the 25th floor, n it was very pleasing enough after a long flight. Rooms were clean and spacious. My only comment is the room keycard seems to have a problem.Wanted to go back to our room after bfast but the keycard doesn't work.we could access our floor which is the 25th floor from the lift. so i went down to the counter,the staff checked n says it is in workg order. so i tried again, stil unable to access. we managed to go to the 25th floor after a help from some of the hotel guest in the lift. When we reach our room, we thought the problem won't occur as in the lift, but it did. No access. Luckily the housekeeping lady was nearby so she open the door using her master key for us.

Other comment is the long wait for the lift during breakfast hours. it takes about 15-20minutes of waiting for the lift. 4 lifts in the hotel n stil we hv to wait long. Buffet breakfast was great, nice food but hard to get a table coz dat time the hotel was fully occupied..

But overall we stil enjoy our stay there. Will definitely be back again.. :)

Room Tip: you stil have to pay for wifi internet access, they only provide free wired internet access in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GB_Lange3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear valued guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you with us recently, may we take this opportunity to express our appreciation.

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with regards to your recent stay.

We, at Furama Bukit Bintang, strive to provide an experience equal to your expectations, therefore, the quality of the guest experiences are of the utmost importance to us. An intimate and objective knowledge of how we perform in the customer's eyes is critical in moving this hotel to a higher level.

Your comments are a valuable tool in our commitment to provide higher standards of service to our guest. It is gratifying when one of our guest takes the time to let us know of their satisfaction. We will certainly pass along your comments to our staff.

Whilst compliments are nice to receive, it was always a disappointment to hear from our guest that their stay was not flawless. It is constructive criticism such as yours that help us take necessary corrective measures, bringing us closer to our goal. We apologize for the delay of the lifts as the hotel was operating at a maximum occupancy during that period of time. On the key card issue, we will certainly look into it.

I appreciate the time that you took time to write and I thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again should your future visits brings you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,799 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Initially i was quite impress with the looks but the moment i approach the receptionist i was vastly dissapointed - not only did he not greet but he was very rude in response of my request to switch room - please do train your staff on soft skill and on 'how to be more respectful of others'' .. I am greatly disspointed :(

Check in on 18 sept 2012 @ around 10pm

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rihashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Rihashah,

It was indeed a pleasure having you with us recently may we take this opportunity to express our appreciation.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us with regards to your recent stay.

We, at Furama Bukit Bintang, strive to provide a experience equal to your expectations, therefore, the quality of the guest experiences are of the utmost importance to us. An intimate and objective knowledge of how we perform in the customer's eyes is critical in moving this hotel to a higher level.

I read with embarrassment that we have failed in our endeavor. There are very few words that can be used to rectify a situation after it has occurred other than to say we are sorry. We will certainly look into improving the service at the reception.

We look forward in welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I booked executive suite there. And their service was so amazing. Best service at hotel ever!! I love the room, so big. The living room is so comfortable. The bed is amazing. The executive lounge is the best. Open 7 am to 9 pm. I got complimentary coctails too, at 6 pm- 8 pm. Cool! Value for money. Only around 350rm, you can get the best service ever! The staffs are friendly, helpful, full of smiles. The location is ok, near Berjaya Times Square. Just walking distance, you can find Sungai Wang Plaza, Lot 10, Fahrenheit 88 and Pavilion. From Pavilion, you can walk through the bridge, to go to Twin Towers. Best hotel ever!!!! And they have these shuttle car to go to KLCC or Pavilion, but only one way, and only 3 times a day. I think they need more schedules, and better they add more times.

Room Tip: pick room with privileges to executive lounge. won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 873yennyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Ms Yenny,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience with us and special thanks for your support and the fantastic review - extremely delighted to hear you had a great experience.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when travel plans bring you to Kuala Lumpur again.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we decided to book furama as we had stayed in one in bangkok whcih was great and as we were in KL for quite a few nightsthis seemed like a good place and realtively low cost. unfortunately as soon as we arrived the problems started .we asked to change rooms as the room config was no suitabel as we had an extra guest staying and were told a new key would l be brougth to the room. 20 mins later and my 3 year odl exhausted no key and then eventually the luggage person , who was very good and quite embarrassed by the whole thing went to get the key. We then went to the new room and the key did not work so waited another 15 min for it to be fixed. then the key did not work in the elevator and i saw this was an issue for many other people as well . be warned there is a bog problem with card keys in this hotel. in the room itself the shower was broken whcih was fixed and then the shower started leaking. The rooms are a little tired even though the hotel is relatively new. there is buffet in the spices restaurant and this is quite good value and the staff there are generally pretty good though I did meet one who was trying to cajole me into paying cash for my meal rather than charging to room presumable so he had more chance of getting a tip which irritated me . many times i rang up for service yet there was no urgency aroudn this and they often seemed o forget i had veen called . Finally on checking out i asked fo help with luggage and after 20 mins no one came so I rang again and after aother 10 mins no one came by whch time our taxi was already here. eventually i went to reception and todl them i needed to get my bags now after waiting about 40 mins.

Generally a hotel that needs a lot of imporvement.with the exception of the restaurant staff are generally unhelpful or completley lackin in any kind of knowledge around service. i wold not stay in this hotel again - there are much better options in KL even if you have to pay a little more money.

i wrote all of this down in feedback to the hotel but , of course heard nothing back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_t_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with 3 friends. Overall we were very unsatisfied with our stay and would not stay at this hotel again. Having said that, it was just a few issues that completely ruined our stay. If it hadn’t have been for a few issues we would have been very happy.

Let me get the negatives out of the way first and then we can move on to the positives.

1. Poor Service .........................................................................

On our second night we decided to have drinks at the pool side bar. A waiter came to take our order reasonably quickly. I wanted a Heineken beer but the waiter informed me that was out of stock. I then choose a different beer which was also out of stock. It turned out that out of the 5 or 6 brands listed they only actually had the local Tiger beer in stock. We then waited for over 30 minutes before being served. This would be excusable if the bar was busy but it was just us and one other small group of people in the bar. During our wait, staff were preparing tables for breakfast the next morning. It felt like we were their last priority. When we were eventually served there was no apology or explanation for the unreasonably long delay. After our first round of drinks we decided not to order a second round as we didn’t want to wait another 30 minutes to be served.

On the third night we decided to try the pool bar again. Maybe our bad experience was a one-off. Again the place was virtually empty. The waiter took our order and again I ordered a Heineken beer. I was quite pleased that he didn’t say it was out of stock as with the night before. Again we waited over 30 minutes and no-one made any attempt to serve us. We noticed the waiter that had taken our order was busily preparing tables for breakfast the next day and no-one had been near the bar to prepare our drinks. This time we were quite annoyed so my friend approached a member of staff appeared to be in charge and asked what was taking so long. She informed my friend that they did not have Heineken in stock (30 minutes after we ordered!!). My friend came back to our table and five minutes later a different waiter comes and asks if we would like to order. At this point we had, had enough so we got up and left.

2. Double Charged For Services .........................................................................

The hotel provides free wired internet access in all rooms but for WIFI access you must pay 10MYR for 2 hours. We didn’t have a laptop only our mobile phones and it was my friends birthday so she wanted to check Facebook and her emails. She paid the 10MYR in cash at the front desk and was asked to sign a receipt before being given an access code.

On checking out of he hotel we were asked to pay 10MYR for WIFI access. We informed the member of staff checking us out that the 10MYR had already been paid in cash. He showed us the receipt my friend had been asked to sign and pointed out that “CTR” has been written on the receipt which apparently means “Charge To Room”. We again explained that we had paid cash for the WIFI access but he insisted we must pay. His only suggestion was that we pay by credit card and then file a claim with our credit card company. We decided to simply pay that cash and get out of that place without any further hassle, though we made our dissatisfaction with their service very clear. We are still not sure if it was a genuine mistake on their part or if the staff member who took the cash or if they did it on purpose so they could pocket the money. 10MYR isn’t allot of money but still, its not nice to have something stolen from you even if it is only a small amount.

3. Lifts Are To Small .........................................................................

Every morning we had to let several lifts pass us on the way down to the dinning area as they were too full and could not fit any more people. When we did eventually squeeze into a lift it was a long ride down as the lift stopped at every floor and waited while people tried to figure out if they could squeeze in or not.

On our last day we were in a rush as we had to leave on time to catch our coach. We decided it would be quicker and more comfortable to take the stairs from the 23rd floor to the 3rd floor where the dinning are is. When we reached the 3rd floor we found the exit from the stairway went into the kitchen. Luckily a member of staff noticed us and directed us through the kitchen into the dinning area.

4. Clean Rooms .........................................................................

On the positive side the rooms were clean and tidy. The sheets were changed everyday and they replaced the complimentary bottled water everyday also.

5. Quality Breakfast .........................................................................

The breakfast was very high quality. I enjoyed the freshly baked croissants and the omelet. The coffee was also very nice.

6. Good Room Service .........................................................................

Although a little expensive the room service was very good. I ordered burger one night and it was delivered promptly by a very courteous staff member.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Mr Kevin F,

Greetings from Furama Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

Rest assured, we have taken the time to discuss this matter with the hotel team members, ensuring the team members focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests and maintaining the consistent standard of the hotel.

In relation to the comment of double charged for internet usage, I would like to investigate further. Would appreciate if you could write to me at gerrydcruz@furama.com and provide me with detailed information.

We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#29 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
265 reviews
0.9 km away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.3 km away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
WP Hotel
WP Hotel
#60 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
309 reviews
6.2 km away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
0.5 km away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#57 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#47 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $56 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing