We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MickNKT
Melbourne, Australia

Value for Money, Comfortable

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2012
I have stayed in Sky Hotel for 23 nights during my trip to KL last month. It is situated in Bukit Bintang, and within walking distance to shopping, food, etc. I have been to KL many times in the past, and have stayed in a number of hotels in Bukit Bintang, but I must say that Sky hotel offers the best value for money. If you are looking for a decent place, with decent sized bathroom, comfortable beds, modern design and affordable prices, this is the place for you. The only comment I have is that the bathroom corners are a little mouldy.
Overall a very pleasant stay.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    AU$167
  • Expedia.com
    AU$198
1.2 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$229
  • Expedia.com
    AU$254
0.9 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    AU$84
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    AU$52
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$303
  • Expedia.com
    AU$341
1.0 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$111
  • Official Site
    AU$210
0.5 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$87
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Sky Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
54
194
124
43
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
194
124
43
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel is probably less than two years old, therefore all facilities still look new, fresh and clean. The rooms are very contemporary or modern in design, a very affordable three stars hotel. Avoid the rooms without windows, and you should find your stay peaceful, quiet and comfortable.

One great advantage of this hotel is its location: it is situated very close to, but not along Bukit Bintang road, which is one of the busiest and touristy thoroughfares in the city of Kuala Lumpur.

Room tip: Avoid rooms without windows
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datoahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Went to KL over weekend for shoppings with gal friends and meeting up friends in KL. Was looking for something close to federal hotel in terms of location and convenience: found sky hotel at seventy five percent of what Federal hotel will charge. Location is just behind Federal hotel. The hotel is tucked away at the end of bt bintang so it was safe for us to get back when it is late as the street is still full of people. To be safe we took the royal bintang hotel route as it is near the main road. Hotel comes with free wifi but connection was not fantastic, need time for connection but it was ok if u are not a heavy user. Not recommended if u need Internet to do work. Room comes w basic stuff like hair dryer, kettle but what was nice is rooms are newly renovated so they are neat and clean. We were given a room at 102 but it has not lock so we requested for a change of room. Were given another room w no window but it is ok as we feel safer w a internal lock. The receptionist was reluctant to change our roof but we persists nicely n hence he gave us: that was not good experience having paid in advance. I would expect that they replace w a similar room w no reluctance. So kind of weird that we have to persist. After all he still has other rooms not taken. Anyway we thank him gratefully and think he was ok after that.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLCmong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I am a frequent traveler and this is my first experience staying in a "thief" hotel. My husband and I were check-in to Room 502 and only realized that our door card access to our room was not functioning so requested for the hotel to fix it. However after several times fixing the door lock to our room, it's still not functioning and we have to get the assistance from the reception to access to our room. In few occasions, our room was accessed by the hotel maintenance staff without our existence. The day we check out we didn't realize that our handphone chargers (ori iphone and samsung s3) were found missing until we reached home, as I remembered packing those in my hubby's backpack which was left unzip. Later I called the hotel and they have one of their housekeeping dept staff to call me instead of their floor manager. We were informed by the housekeeping that there were maintenance staff in our room fixing the door before we check out that day. Upon suspicion, I called again and requested for the hotel manager to give me a clarification. We were thinking to give the management a chance to clarify on this so we didn't post review on tripadvisor and agoda. She only came back to me after 2 weeks by email informing that there were no suspicions during their investigation. These 2 items are our companion and we have never left them behind.
I don't recommend this hotel..so please stay away from this hotel. I rather stay at Bintang Warisan Hotel, though a little run down but at least they have never given us any hiccups.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank fancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hotel is very, very nice, and not expensive. It is in the heart of shopping center in KL, close to Monorail (IMBI station). You got big bed, big TV, fantastic bathroom,... and everything for the minimum price. The breakfast is not included, but you can buy it - for 12 RM you have unlimited food.
I recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dejan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I had read mixed reviews about Sky Hotel, but we had a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and even got a smile! (I had read the opposite) They had security guards which were not needed, and the guy at the taxi desk was awesome (be careful of the crazy malaysian drivers! they do 170km/hr in a 90 zone!!)

The room was clean and comfortable (the beds are a little tough), nice warm shower - downside is that our shower drain was very noisy at night - I had to cover it with the bath mat. The walls are also thin, I could hear the neighbours boiling their kettle.

very close to the shopping malls (in every direction!) and close to BB Plaza where we spent lots of time drinking at D'Spice (two for one cocktails ladies!!)

close to the monorail, take that and a train to Batu caves and it will cost you all of about 5RM, way cheaper than a tour!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stampy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews