We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Met all my expectations, but also had a few nice surprises” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #21 of 331 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Met all my expectations, but also had a few nice surprises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I just stayed 3 nights at this hotel, and it is a very nice hotel. It is within walking distance of the Twin Towers, and the huge mall by the towers. We kind of knew all this by the website. What we did not know was that the hotel offers some very nice surprises, such as a large food court on the lower levels, with a nice variety of food. The gem though is the Japanese restaurant one level below the lobby, Hanare. I mention it, because it is hard to find unless you know it is there, tucked away in the very back, but we were lucky enough to stumble upon it, and enjoyed great food, true Japanese service, in a very pleasant setting. If you enjoy Japanese food, this is a must-try.

We were also very happy with the concierge desk, they assisted us with booking a nice day-trip to the Genting resort, and did really well in getting us the trip we wanted, without trying to push us into one of their "brochure" trips. We settled for a personal tour, with a very nice guide who took us exactly where we wanted to go.

The night before we checked out, we received a call from the front desk, asking if we needed any assistance at all in the morning. I though that was a very nice touch, and took them up on the offer of arranging a car for us to the airport.

Another small, but nice feature, is the grand view of the Twin Towers from the Executive Club balcony, we caught some nice pictures from there.

This is a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikingRuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear VikingRuler,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially the location, and I am happy to hear the team looked after you by organizing the day tour and offering airport transfer arrangement prior to your departure. I appreciate your comment about the Hanare restaurant on Ground Floor retail podium, and whilst this is operated by a 3rd party.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    1,024
    239
    78
    46
See reviews for
546
828
267
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel recently, the welcome cookie was amazing, the room was huge! The room is very well furnished, very spacious, great bed, great toilet. And also the staff were always ready to help. Over all we had a wonderful time staying here. Location is great, 10 5-10 mins drive to KLCC mall. taxi is very easy to get.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vini_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Vini_D,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially the location, room and the services. I trust you also enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

i was here with my boyfriend last christmas and this hotel has got one of the best beds and pillows around. not forgetting really great complimentary soap and shampoo from crabtree and evelyn.

the shopping arcade was still pretty vacant during my stay, most of the shops aren't occupied yet.

the pool is great. especially at night, you'll have a really nice view of the petronas tower all lit up.

there is a shopping mall about 3minutes walk away(cross the overhead bridge, walk past manhattan fish market and it is right there in front of you). nothing much to do there. if you do walk to the mall, i'd suggest for you to take the train down to KLCC(next stop) or Bukit Bintang(you would need to a train transfer) to shop and dine. i would say trains are the way to go in the day.

friendly and helpful staff.

i love those awesome choco chip cookies they serve to you while they process your check in

definitely recommend this place to everyone visiting KL

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedancinglemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear thedancinglemur,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially the Sweetdream pillows, bathroom amenities, swimming pool and I am happy to hear that the team looked after you both. I trust you also enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Spent 5 nights in the executive suite. A bit hard to find my way to the 1st floor check in until directed by the concierge and the check in lady was a bit lost for words when asked to explain why she needed to charge my credit card when the room was prepaid. Execellent service on the executive floor staff. Having problem with cleaning lady removing bath robe and towel without replacing. We detected smoking smell on 3 days of our stay. Nothing was done about it even thought we were assured that it is a non smoking floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Georgeh05,

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I have noted your comments regarding the check in and housekeeping challenges. I apologize for all inconvenience caused. Certainly, we are continuing to work with the team on training to improve all areas of service, as it is important for all guests.

We appreciate the support and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights,overall expression is fantastic. The staff is really great, especially big thanks to Pantea at the Front Desk, who demonstrated exellent customer service as well as professionalism, Sunil from concierge who was always helpfull and Beebob with Eddie from Makan restaurant-they were real stars!
The location is very convinient if you want to explore KL, the Petronas is only 10 min walk and Bukit Bintang is only 20 min by foot.
The rooms are well equiped and comfortable.
The Breakfast were the best I ever had in other hotels. Big thanks to all the Chefs!
The only negative thing is lack of information at the check in and hassle with the deposit thing. The first time I came to check in,I had only debit card and the trainee guy nearly refused to check us in,even thought i agreeded to pay for the rooms up-front.As i work at the FO for Hilton myself, i asked him to put stop-charge on our rooms,what he did. I could not understand why he could not advise that himself.
The second time i came to check in after our trip to Langkawi,i experienced the same problem but it was sorted out by Pantea.
Would definetely come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Daria_Rus,

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially the location, room and the breakfast spread and I am glad to hear that the team looked after you & your family.

I have noted your comments regarding the check in experience. Certainly, we are continuing to work with the team on training to improve all areas of service, as it is important for all guests.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.1 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,012 reviews
4.8 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
1.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
2.3 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.4 km away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): $108 - $180
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing