We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Hub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Hub
Ranked #10 of 317 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very good hostel in Kuala Lumpur. Perfect location, good service, free wifi and pc, clean shower/toilet and very nice staff!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruber_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    92
    46
    13
    14
See reviews for
8
44
127
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Travel Hub is definitely the best hostel in KL. And I claim that without having seen any other place. It's a wonderful, relaxing oasis on the edge of Chinatown, which is conveniently off-side from all the city's noise and hassle, though still in the center and perfectly connected to all public transport, restaurants and shops.

The place is absolutely charming, nicely decorated and for the very reasonably price you probably couldn't find a better value. The big and very comfy common area has the right atmosphere, you'll meet a good bunch of other travelers of all sorts, and staying long-term makes it rather feel like a sort of community where everybody comes back to when in KL.

However the best thing besides all that and free tea and coffee and breakfast is the owners. In this family run place, the incredibly lovely loveable staff with an ever big smile is doing everything they can to make your stay most pleasant and happily provide you with all the right information for getting around KL and Malaysia. And once in a while preparing very nice traditional Sri Lankan food for the guests. All this in fact makes it quite hard to leave. Which is to their advantage, of course (=

Staying there for nearly four months, they really provided the best temporary home for me, and I'm very happy to have found the place. So, don't expect a Hilton, of course, but the most decent, honest, easy-going and wonderfully nice place that easily becomes your temporary home after just one day.

Thank you guys.
-Moritz

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moritz908734567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

From the first ring of the downstairs entry bell I was greeted with warm smiles and down to earth hospitality by adorable mom and her daugthers of Sri Lankan heritage that speak beautiful Brittish English. The night clerk is a very sweet Persian boy whose humble and helpful attitude made me feel protected. He even offered me some delicious walnuts from Iran. What a gem of a person. Beautiful people always make beautiful surroundings. Super clean and happy environment. 4 showers, 3 toilets, a large pantry area for having some free coffee supplied by the family. There is also FREE WIFI, cable TV in a large sitting room, and a house computer to connect if you don't have your own. There are security lockers and place to keep you bags behind their check-in desk. There are also private rooms with single and double occupancy. There is also a smokers room.The dormitory is just wonderful w/15 beds available bunk-beds. I slept like a baby each night in a very comfortable top bunk. You would imagine a dormitory to be noisy and hard to sleep but everyone is so conscious that it is as if you are in a private room. I took advantage of the valuable experiences of other travelers while here. That is the beauty of a hostel. The location in the heart of China town is near two train stops. The Monorail, Maharajalela and the LRT Pesar Senai are both a short hop skip and a jump from the Travel Hub. Fresh coconuts from Lawrence a very friendly Chinese man just up at the larger road made me happy each day. I will always return here to their smiling beautiful faces when I return to Kuala Lumpur. And the city is not so packed w/people. You can breathe here even in the trains there is plenty of places even in the city where you just don't see anyone. Makes me feel at peace being here. And the city is very clean and the people almost all speak english and are very very helpful. Very nice smiling people. They all look intelligent here. Such a wonderful place Malaysia. Now I am about to go out of the city and explore the islands. Love you Angelo Dinoto Amrtamsa [Naidee] on Facebook

Room Tip: take a dorm room no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrtvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I read great reviews about the Travel Hub - it seemed to be the only budget guest house with no reports of bedbugs - so booked in for a three-night stay. The place is ostensibly clean; it's very quiet (so quiet that a sleep-in after a big night out is easy); the staff and family who run it are very friendly; and it's cheap as chips (around RM 29-30 for a single fan room, with breakfast and WiFi included). At this price the room is, predictably, little more than a bed with walls; and one must walk between the ever-present lounging backpackers and TV set to access the bathrooms, kitchen or reception desk, which makes things kind of uncomfortable.

The most disturbing part of my stay, however, was on the third night when I discovered multiple red bites appearing on my lower legs after sitting on the bed for a couple of hours. I spent the next few hours picking off what looked like tiny little black mites. Bed bugs are probably unavoidable when tourist traffic if busy, particularly in budget accommodation. But I have since written to the Hub to inform them of this problem and received no response.

If you want a cheap place to crash as you explore the metropolis of KL, this is a good place to do it; and parasitic nocturnal companions are, presumably, an unavoidable component of budget travel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Very happy to arrive safely after dark and be met by a kind smiling face. My room was clean and the bed comfortable, and thankfully with a reliable air-con. I stayed 2 nights as a stop over. Hearing the call to prayers outside the window was a treat. The shower and kitchen were basic but clean and functional. Situated in a great location 5 min walk to bus, train, monorail and night markets. The buildings in the area are old and difficult to maintain so don't expect modern sparkling luxury. The staff are efficient and quite adorable. I remember the youngest daughter singing and dancing as she cleans and paints freshly the walls. The place is kept neat and clean, with sweet homely decoration. The family touched my heart with their lovingness. Thank you so much .. <3 ..... I will be back !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 km away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#76 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.3 km away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.9 km away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 317 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#6 of 317 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.8 km away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 220 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.6 km away
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
#2 of 317 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hub

Property: Travel Hub
Address: 15-17a Jalan Balai Polis | (Jalan Panggong), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): $13 - $36
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Hub 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travel Hub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hub Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing