We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sentral
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 104*
USD 85*
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 155*
USD 140*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 123*
USD 92*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 131*
USD 120*
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 251*
USD 193*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
USD 96*
USD 74*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 305*
USD 104*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
USD 93*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 106*
USD 78*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 107*
USD 104*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveller rating
134
643
453
135
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
643
453
135
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonorail stationlittle indiabudget hoteltransport hubgenting highlandsmini fridgewalking distanceminute walkdecent hotelbatu caveseasy accessno windowshopping mallstandard roomairportklbrickfields
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is the worst hotel you can ever choose to stay. Me and my wife stayed here for 3 days, 1st night, bugs. 2nd night bugs. 3rd night we changed the room, no bugs but very unhygienic room. The market outside is very poor and the hotel has a poor staff. On top of it, the Breakfast, ahhhh, eww, worst south Indian, north Indian, and whatever they tried to cook was terrible. I had hard time staying in KL Sentral. Only location can be termed as fine due to monorail close to it, nothing else.

Room Tip: DON'T add this hotel to your stay if you want to have a memorable trip.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chunkz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your comments with other Tripadvisor visitor.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel’s rooms and premises carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately your complaint is the only one we receive in a long time.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. It certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

We do hope that you would return on your next trip to evaluate us once more.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Bedbugs in 4 of the room I switched to, stained carpet, mould in the shower.
Less than satisfying service from staff.
Unfortunately since this it is located close to KLIA Ekspress and monorail.
But all the bites you get it is just just worth it!!!
/Peter

Room Tip: Stay out, check for offers at other hotels
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. We booked a superior room about a month before through the Hotel Sentral website itself which is far more cheaper compare to agoda and other websites like that because they got an internet promotion at that time. Nonetheless, per night was about RM150 (service fee + tax) including breakfast for two.

Location:-
Location of this hotel is the highest rating for this hotel. Located just less than 2 minute walk to a monarail station and about 5-8 minute walk to KL Sentral. However, the history of this place especially during night time is not that safe but I think the Malaysian government is trying very hard to change that. They have located few small police depot around the area and the development around the area make it feels a lot more safer at night compare to before. Nonetheless, I would prefer not to go outside after midnight.

Room:-
At first I thought the room going to be a dissapointment but however it turns out to be totally the opposite. The room and the toilet are cleaned. The size was reasonable enought to fit 2 people with few luggage. It has 32 inch LCD TV with few cable channels, small fridge, safety box, and all the normal stuff that you usually would get in a hotel. Based on the other reviews, yes it is wise if you request for a higher room because it can be a bit noisy during the day.

Service:
Service is a bit slow, especially when my girlfriend asked for a hair dryer because the one in the room is not working. It took them within half an hour to get replace it. The lift is also very slow. Imaging if you were there during peak seasons..you would have to spend most of your entire holiday waiting for the lift...lol The breakfast was ok but I would recommend you to exclude the breakfast and eat outside as there are many good food stalls around the area.

Overall:-
This is not a posh hotel but staying here is worthwhile as it won’t rip you off and considering the proximity of the location you won’t go wrong with it. Overall, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Booked through the Hotel Sentral website itself which is far more cheaper compare to agoda and other websites like that because they usually got an internet promotion. It is wise if you request for a higher room because it can be a bit noisy during the day.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudgeJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sentral in a superior room for 1 and a half nights, the second night departure was at 2am so not much of a night, and was overall disappointed.

Firstly the location is ok; very close to the Air Asia/LCCT coach depo and the light rail system, follow the bus traffic out along the road and through a small passageway to the main road (don't go up the escalators to the transit centre) and the hotel is located only 1 street over behind the main road. The immediate street the hotel is on is dirty and unappealing and although check out was at 2am i didn't feel unsafe.
The room; I was on a higher floor (level 12) which was very quiet. Initial thoughts were no way was the room worth the rate (172MYR a night inc taxes) when other hotels close by were a third of the price. The size was good, enough room for 2 people with backpacks, a small desk area and chair, a wooden box/storage area, safe and fridge. Towels were ok, bed sheets were clean (on the top) oh and one extra pillow which came in handy. Air con worked well and tv reception was good with a couple of english channels.
Basic bathroom didn't include any toiletries and the shower is next to the toilet but there is a small dividing wall and the entrance door doubles up as a shower door (quite clever). Great shower pressure and hot water although the shower needed some bleach as there was mould in the grout.
Initially after unpacking and laying on the bed i felt a little itchy but thought i was paranoid after reading a lot of KL hotels having bed bugs. Slept ok the first night due to exhaustion but woke to little bites. I found some weird marks on the walls which i think were bed bugs but i cant say for sure and after pulling back the sheets there was medium length black hair under the top sheet, and some small animal like droppings in the corner of the mattress seam. I visited reception and requested another room only to be told there was none, then 10 mins later was moved to a higher floor (level 15). This second room, although the executive deluxe, was designed exactly the same as the level 12 room with the exception of a bed runner and a toothbrush/shampoo etc. Bathroom lay out and mould the same.
Breakfast included in the rate was very basic; toast, cereal, cake, tea coffee, watery/cordial juices, fresh fruit, dinner foods, and an omelette/egg station although the chef didn't start when the restaurant opened (so we had already eaten bread and potato). Also had to wait half an hour after opening times for staff to arrive at the restaurant as we were given vouchers that said to wait to be served.

What lead to my disappointing review was when settling the bill, was the hesitation of a reduced rate for the first night and the resulting bites. After discussing my disappointment in the hotel and being told 'we can offer you a discount on your next stay' of which i wont be staying again, i was told i had to pay full price for the room. After constant expression of disappointment and questioning if the receptionist would want to pay full price if they had slept in the room and suffered bites, 4 calls to the manager and myself even talking with him resulted in me still being told no discount, constant confusion regarding my booking being reserved on a generic site (bookings.com / wotif) - i reserved direct to the hotel - i eventually received a discount of not paying the additional tax for 1 night. I don't believe that being upgraded for a total of 5 hours is a 'bonus', hence why i requested a discount. In the end the receptionist was only doing their job and coped the persistence from me, but overall I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We booked online for 3 nights through Agoda in late December and arrived via Coach from Singapore. We got lost at first as the taxi driver wasn’t familiar with Hotel Sentral. The place located in Thambypillai Street is called the new Little India by many. And, honestly, we were not impressed as the surrounding area was quite dirty and there was a construction going on at that time.

We considered staying in this hotel for convenience and accessibility as it is centrally located, only 5-8min. walk to the Sentral MRT station and monorail, also walking distance to Berjaya Times Square, the famous Abdul Samad building and Merdaka Square, plus they offer good room rates! There are lots of cheap eateries to choose from right at the doorstep of the hotel that serve traditional Indian and Malaysian food so you wouldn’t go hungry just be wary with hygiene. Checking in and out was quick and efficient. Hotel staff was pleasant and welcoming.

We stayed in a superior double express room with window that was too small for two people, our luggage wouldn’t even fit! yet room was clean & bed was comfy, complete with amenities such as: flat screen TV, small fridge, coffee facilities, small closet, a dresser with mirror, air conditioning, rain showers in good running condition, toiletries & complimentary bottled water was provided everyday plus they also offer a free wifi. We had a good night sleep and haven’t even noticed any noise from the busy street. We didn’t like the elevator though as it moves so slow. The hotel management should fix that problem.

This is not a posh hotel but staying here is worthwhile as it won’t rip you off and considering the proximity of the location you won’t go wrong with it.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends. Next time maybe, we would opt for a deluxe room for a little more space and comfort.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the higher floor to get a good glimpse of the city especially at night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelChicPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews