We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in an unusual location”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #103 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an unusual location”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

A top quality hotel offering excellent service and accommodation and excellent value. The value is undoubtedly due to the location, which is OK but it is not in the usual golden triangle where you would expect to find this class of quality hotel. Brickfields, where the hotel is located is fine but a little run down, I'm not sure too many of the guests that would visit this hotel would eat in this area. Very close to Sentral station and metro but very difficult to get from sentral bus station with luggage as current construction work on the sentral shopping mall makes it a difficult and quite complicated route especially with luggage. All that said it is a great hotel and we are returning soon, so if you dont mind being a little out of it and jumping on the metro which is just across the road - go for it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral.
We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards,
Steven Tang
Hotel Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    627
    427
    123
    64
See reviews for
223
401
249
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is the worst hotel you can ever choose to stay. Me and my wife stayed here for 3 days, 1st night, bugs. 2nd night bugs. 3rd night we changed the room, no bugs but very unhygienic room. The market outside is very poor and the hotel has a poor staff. On top of it, the Breakfast, ahhhh, eww, worst south Indian, north Indian, and whatever they tried to cook was terrible. I had hard time staying in KL Sentral. Only location can be termed as fine due to monorail close to it, nothing else.

Room Tip: DON'T add this hotel to your stay if you want to have a memorable trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chunkz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your comments with other Tripadvisor visitor.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel’s rooms and premises carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately your complaint is the only one we receive in a long time.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. It certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

We do hope that you would return on your next trip to evaluate us once more.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Bedbugs in 4 of the room I switched to, stained carpet, mould in the shower.
Less than satisfying service from staff.
Unfortunately since this it is located close to KLIA Ekspress and monorail.
But all the bites you get it is just just worth it!!!
/Peter

Room Tip: Stay out, check for offers at other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. We booked a superior room about a month before through the Hotel Sentral website itself which is far more cheaper compare to agoda and other websites like that because they got an internet promotion at that time. Nonetheless, per night was about RM150 (service fee + tax) including breakfast for two.

Location:-
Location of this hotel is the highest rating for this hotel. Located just less than 2 minute walk to a monarail station and about 5-8 minute walk to KL Sentral. However, the history of this place especially during night time is not that safe but I think the Malaysian government is trying very hard to change that. They have located few small police depot around the area and the development around the area make it feels a lot more safer at night compare to before. Nonetheless, I would prefer not to go outside after midnight.

Room:-
At first I thought the room going to be a dissapointment but however it turns out to be totally the opposite. The room and the toilet are cleaned. The size was reasonable enought to fit 2 people with few luggage. It has 32 inch LCD TV with few cable channels, small fridge, safety box, and all the normal stuff that you usually would get in a hotel. Based on the other reviews, yes it is wise if you request for a higher room because it can be a bit noisy during the day.

Service:
Service is a bit slow, especially when my girlfriend asked for a hair dryer because the one in the room is not working. It took them within half an hour to get replace it. The lift is also very slow. Imaging if you were there during peak seasons..you would have to spend most of your entire holiday waiting for the lift...lol The breakfast was ok but I would recommend you to exclude the breakfast and eat outside as there are many good food stalls around the area.

Overall:-
This is not a posh hotel but staying here is worthwhile as it won’t rip you off and considering the proximity of the location you won’t go wrong with it. Overall, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Booked through the Hotel Sentral website itself which is far more cheaper compare to agoda and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudgeJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sentral in a superior room for 1 and a half nights, the second night departure was at 2am so not much of a night, and was overall disappointed.

Firstly the location is ok; very close to the Air Asia/LCCT coach depo and the light rail system, follow the bus traffic out along the road and through a small passageway to the main road (don't go up the escalators to the transit centre) and the hotel is located only 1 street over behind the main road. The immediate street the hotel is on is dirty and unappealing and although check out was at 2am i didn't feel unsafe.
The room; I was on a higher floor (level 12) which was very quiet. Initial thoughts were no way was the room worth the rate (172MYR a night inc taxes) when other hotels close by were a third of the price. The size was good, enough room for 2 people with backpacks, a small desk area and chair, a wooden box/storage area, safe and fridge. Towels were ok, bed sheets were clean (on the top) oh and one extra pillow which came in handy. Air con worked well and tv reception was good with a couple of english channels.
Basic bathroom didn't include any toiletries and the shower is next to the toilet but there is a small dividing wall and the entrance door doubles up as a shower door (quite clever). Great shower pressure and hot water although the shower needed some bleach as there was mould in the grout.
Initially after unpacking and laying on the bed i felt a little itchy but thought i was paranoid after reading a lot of KL hotels having bed bugs. Slept ok the first night due to exhaustion but woke to little bites. I found some weird marks on the walls which i think were bed bugs but i cant say for sure and after pulling back the sheets there was medium length black hair under the top sheet, and some small animal like droppings in the corner of the mattress seam. I visited reception and requested another room only to be told there was none, then 10 mins later was moved to a higher floor (level 15). This second room, although the executive deluxe, was designed exactly the same as the level 12 room with the exception of a bed runner and a toothbrush/shampoo etc. Bathroom lay out and mould the same.
Breakfast included in the rate was very basic; toast, cereal, cake, tea coffee, watery/cordial juices, fresh fruit, dinner foods, and an omelette/egg station although the chef didn't start when the restaurant opened (so we had already eaten bread and potato). Also had to wait half an hour after opening times for staff to arrive at the restaurant as we were given vouchers that said to wait to be served.

What lead to my disappointing review was when settling the bill, was the hesitation of a reduced rate for the first night and the resulting bites. After discussing my disappointment in the hotel and being told 'we can offer you a discount on your next stay' of which i wont be staying again, i was told i had to pay full price for the room. After constant expression of disappointment and questioning if the receptionist would want to pay full price if they had slept in the room and suffered bites, 4 calls to the manager and myself even talking with him resulted in me still being told no discount, constant confusion regarding my booking being reserved on a generic site (bookings.com / wotif) - i reserved direct to the hotel - i eventually received a discount of not paying the additional tax for 1 night. I don't believe that being upgraded for a total of 5 hours is a 'bonus', hence why i requested a discount. In the end the receptionist was only doing their job and coped the persistence from me, but overall I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#94 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#63 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 km away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#114 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#105 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Macktz
Hotel Macktz
#192 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.3 km away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): $32 - $65
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing