We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dotonbori Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 290*
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 119*
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 363*
USD 330*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 372*
USD 186*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 129*
USD 103*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 216*
USD 101*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 185*
USD 129*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 110*
USD 76*
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka(Osaka)
USD 150*
USD 104*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Osaka(Osaka)
USD 165*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
353
265
62
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
265
62
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramenfree phonefree massage chairsinternational callsnamba stationskin careexcellent locationfree coffeerooms are smalllaundry facilitiessemi double roomglico mani highly recommend this hotelair purifieryour luggageenglish speaking staffjapanese hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Although rooms are small (but normal by Japanese standards), Dotonbori provides many freebies.

For those who don't lag their PCs around when they travel, they over free loan of PCs from counter to take up to the room. Each room has independent wifi, so no problems connecting to the Net.

Freebies also includes, souvenirs key-rings/postcards of their signature figure-heads; & at lobby -free coffee/tea from vending machine, use of massage chairs, free overseas call using cordless phones, PCs, etc.

Service provided by staff is respectable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jotaro-zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review.
We are pleased that you were satisfied to staying.

Currently,two massage chair has been installed on the first floor.
It can be used 24hours for free.
I think that you can feel relaxing atomosphere.
Also,the event called Tonpei-yaki party is held on every Turesday.
It is one of the most farmous local food among the Osaka people.

If you have chance to next visit,we look forward to see you then.
Reception:Sakamoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three night in April during my trip around Japan. Most important information regarding this hotel - my stay was really great.

Positive:
- Great location (Dotombori area where you can find a lot of restaurants, shops etc. and just 5 minutes walk to subway station.)
- Really extremely helpful staff (no comparable to EU or US standards)
- Very good english speaking staff
- free wi-fi internet
- free PCs in the hotel lobby (including printing for free)
- clean room and big comfortable bad (single room)
- Every day bottle of water for free
- PC rental, bike rental for free
- Good price

Negative:
- Small single room, the smallest I have ever seen (But it is standard in Japan and to be honest room was cosy and comfortable.)

So I was really satisfied and it was really pleasure to stay in Dotombori hotel for me. I hope to stay in this hotel next time and I'd like to say thank you to hotel's staff by this way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielJanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Dotonbori Hotel.
I'm delighted you were able to enjoy our service as well as our friendly staff.
I apologize that you felt our single room was small.
We will do our best to think out ideas to maximize the space.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
We hope to see you again when business or pleasure brings you back to Osaka.

Sincerely,

Orio
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having access to the internet is important for us when travelling. In this hotel the connection shifted from on and off quite often. It was very frustrating, especially when uploading photos to our internet back up site.
When we called for support an old man come into our room but he could not do anything about it. Disappointing.

Also, the room was enough, but a little more space would have been nice. They suggested that we put our suitcases under the bed but they didn’t fit there. And there was no cabinet or so we could put them away in so it became crowded having them outside the bathroom, in front of the door out to the hallway (we traveled 47 days in Japan so we had big suitcases).

On the good side:
The room had a WC and bathtub+shower
Fridge
Water boiler for tea/cup nudles
Yukata
Lawson (conv.store) across the street from the hotel entrance
Coin washer machines in two floors (200 yen)
Great location on Dotonbori Street in the number one amusement/shopping/dining area of Osaka City, and close to Namba Station
A chance to get a nice travel photo by the hotel’s unique entrance

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-K_Sjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your staying with us.
We are terribly sorry about bad Internet access.
You had felt frustration、you gave us our good point nevertheless
We appreciate your generous remarks.
We look forward to see you,if you have chance to next visit in Japan again.

Sakamoto
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at The Dotonbori Hotel, conveniently located on the action filled Dotonbori Street. This hotel is only a 3-5 minute walk from either the Namba train station or the OCAT (Osaka airport limo bus) service where for only JPY 1,800 pp, you can purchase a roundtrip ticket to/from the Osaka airport. The Dotonbori Hotel provides the most complimentary amenities I've ever seen! FREE 5 minutes phone calls to the USA, coffee/tea/bottled water, pants press, bicycles, women's beauty packs, packaged washcloths, WIFI, desktop & laptop computers, printer, luggage scale, shoe shine machine...the list goes on and on! We had the "pillar twin room", which I must admit looked much larger in the photo on their website, however, they carefully thought out all the details to maximize the space, so my husband and I were completely comfortable! The elevated bed provided ample luggage storage. Each of the 2 beds were about the size of a USA double bed and provided both the tempurpedic as well as Japanese style pillows. The other fabulous thing was that since there was a separately controlled AC unit in the room, you are comfortable. During cold/cooler weather, the Japanese tend to set centrally controlled temperature to around 78-80F, which is way too warm for this American! The rooms and hotel itself are super clean. One word of caution...the bathroom is super small and only one person can be in there at a time. There was however, adequate space with a 3 way make up mirrow for a makeup vanity with a blowdryer set up right there. The shower is about 3/4 size of USA tub/shower combo, however, the water pressure was great. Actually, my husband took all his baths at the 24 hour "New Japan Spa" located right next door to the hotel. Be sure to purchase your tickets at the hotel front desk as you will get JPY1,000 off the normal admission fee if you were to purchase the ticket directly from the spa. The spa itself (1st floor for men and 3rd floor for women) is nothing fancy, but clean. The water is regular heated tap water (very hot!) and not certified "onsen" or spring water, but it's still nice to take a long hot soak after a day of walking! We also enjoyed walking down the street to the 24 hour, "Forest Relaxation" massage spa for body and foot massages! There, we made 7:30 am appointments to enjoyed this incredible deal - JPY 6,000 pp total for 30 min foot/leg reflexology, 80 min body massage and 20 min head/face massage (2h/10m) . In the USA, you would pay at least triple for that same service! The massages were a great way to start the day! Back to the hotel....it was a great place to stay and HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lori808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. It was our pleasure having you as a guest.
I'm delighted to hear you were able to make the most of what we provide.
And what impressed me most was your understanding of our doing best to maximize
the space of room.
We hope when you return back to Osaka, we'll get the chance to see you again.

Sincerely,

Orio
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Location is excellent. 2 minutes walk to subway Namba station. Also a 5 minutes walk to the adjacant Namba/Dotonburi where great food and fantastic shopping is located. And for those shopaholics, you will find yourself in the middle of the long Shinsabaishi shopping arcade. There is also a convenience store just opposite the hotel.

Stayed here for 3 nights in a single room. The room is not small nor spacious but the double bed took up more than half of the room space. After laying my lugguage on the floor, the functionality of the room became somewhat clumsy. Other than this, the rest is great. There is free bottled water everyday. They make up the room with clean towels everyday. Room is not stuffy and there is even a plasma cluster air purifier in the room. And the clean comfortable serta bed gave me a very good night sleep! My room was on the 6th level and I had no problem with noise at all.

If it gets rainy in Osaka, don't worry as the lobby has umbrellas for the guest to use freely.

And for the price in such an excellent location, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llydzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, frontdesk at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.
We hope that you had such a great time here at the Dotonbori Hotel.
I sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Dotonbori Hotel again soon.

Kenji Sakamoto
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews