We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of dotonbori”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #15 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of dotonbori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We loved our stay at the dotonbori. Outstanding location and even though the room was small we managed just fine. This hotel has excellent staff who try so hard to ensure your stay is good. Many extras like free laptops and movies and bikes. The lawsons store across the road is a great convenience store and for anyone wanting a wine they have spanish and italian bottles of wine for around 6-7 dollars. Osaka is known as the culinary kitchen of Japan and we enjoyed exploring the thousands of local restaurants all an easy walk from the hotel. Also a great little find at the end of the street under the overpass a couple of boys have a bar set up and they cook octopus balls as well as chips and sell beer and whisky this is a great place to sit and watch the Osakans go about their business I think its called Umiya hawaiian beach bar and set up like a tiki stand lovely young guys who run a great friendly little business. one last note on the dotonbori its spotlessly clean thanks to everyone at the dotonbori for a great holiday

Room Tip: The pillar twin room would have a bit more space and a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilifan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review.
I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy exploring the thousands of local restaurants all an easy walk from the hotel and that we could be a part of your experience.
We hope to see you again on a future visit to Osaka.

Sincerely,

Reception
Orio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    232
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
112
193
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Although rooms are small (but normal by Japanese standards), Dotonbori provides many freebies.

For those who don't lag their PCs around when they travel, they over free loan of PCs from counter to take up to the room. Each room has independent wifi, so no problems connecting to the Net.

Freebies also includes, souvenirs key-rings/postcards of their signature figure-heads; & at lobby -free coffee/tea from vending machine, use of massage chairs, free overseas call using cordless phones, PCs, etc.

Service provided by staff is respectable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jotaro-zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review.
We are pleased that you were satisfied to staying.

Currently,two massage chair has been installed on the first floor.
It can be used 24hours for free.
I think that you can feel relaxing atomosphere.
Also,the event called Tonpei-yaki party is held on every Turesday.
It is one of the most farmous local food among the Osaka people.

If you have chance to next visit,we look forward to see you then.
Reception:Sakamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three night in April during my trip around Japan. Most important information regarding this hotel - my stay was really great.

Positive:
- Great location (Dotombori area where you can find a lot of restaurants, shops etc. and just 5 minutes walk to subway station.)
- Really extremely helpful staff (no comparable to EU or US standards)
- Very good english speaking staff
- free wi-fi internet
- free PCs in the hotel lobby (including printing for free)
- clean room and big comfortable bad (single room)
- Every day bottle of water for free
- PC rental, bike rental for free
- Good price

Negative:
- Small single room, the smallest I have ever seen (But it is standard in Japan and to be honest room was cosy and comfortable.)

So I was really satisfied and it was really pleasure to stay in Dotombori hotel for me. I hope to stay in this hotel next time and I'd like to say thank you to hotel's staff by this way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Dotonbori Hotel.
I'm delighted you were able to enjoy our service as well as our friendly staff.
I apologize that you felt our single room was small.
We will do our best to think out ideas to maximize the space.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
We hope to see you again when business or pleasure brings you back to Osaka.

Sincerely,

Orio
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having access to the internet is important for us when travelling. In this hotel the connection shifted from on and off quite often. It was very frustrating, especially when uploading photos to our internet back up site.
When we called for support an old man come into our room but he could not do anything about it. Disappointing.

Also, the room was enough, but a little more space would have been nice. They suggested that we put our suitcases under the bed but they didn’t fit there. And there was no cabinet or so we could put them away in so it became crowded having them outside the bathroom, in front of the door out to the hallway (we traveled 47 days in Japan so we had big suitcases).

On the good side:
The room had a WC and bathtub+shower
Fridge
Water boiler for tea/cup nudles
Yukata
Lawson (conv.store) across the street from the hotel entrance
Coin washer machines in two floors (200 yen)
Great location on Dotonbori Street in the number one amusement/shopping/dining area of Osaka City, and close to Namba Station
A chance to get a nice travel photo by the hotel’s unique entrance

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-K_Sjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your staying with us.
We are terribly sorry about bad Internet access.
You had felt frustration、you gave us our good point nevertheless
We appreciate your generous remarks.
We look forward to see you,if you have chance to next visit in Japan again.

Sakamoto
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at The Dotonbori Hotel, conveniently located on the action filled Dotonbori Street. This hotel is only a 3-5 minute walk from either the Namba train station or the OCAT (Osaka airport limo bus) service where for only JPY 1,800 pp, you can purchase a roundtrip ticket to/from the Osaka airport. The Dotonbori Hotel provides the most complimentary amenities I've ever seen! FREE 5 minutes phone calls to the USA, coffee/tea/bottled water, pants press, bicycles, women's beauty packs, packaged washcloths, WIFI, desktop & laptop computers, printer, luggage scale, shoe shine machine...the list goes on and on! We had the "pillar twin room", which I must admit looked much larger in the photo on their website, however, they carefully thought out all the details to maximize the space, so my husband and I were completely comfortable! The elevated bed provided ample luggage storage. Each of the 2 beds were about the size of a USA double bed and provided both the tempurpedic as well as Japanese style pillows. The other fabulous thing was that since there was a separately controlled AC unit in the room, you are comfortable. During cold/cooler weather, the Japanese tend to set centrally controlled temperature to around 78-80F, which is way too warm for this American! The rooms and hotel itself are super clean. One word of caution...the bathroom is super small and only one person can be in there at a time. There was however, adequate space with a 3 way make up mirrow for a makeup vanity with a blowdryer set up right there. The shower is about 3/4 size of USA tub/shower combo, however, the water pressure was great. Actually, my husband took all his baths at the 24 hour "New Japan Spa" located right next door to the hotel. Be sure to purchase your tickets at the hotel front desk as you will get JPY1,000 off the normal admission fee if you were to purchase the ticket directly from the spa. The spa itself (1st floor for men and 3rd floor for women) is nothing fancy, but clean. The water is regular heated tap water (very hot!) and not certified "onsen" or spring water, but it's still nice to take a long hot soak after a day of walking! We also enjoyed walking down the street to the 24 hour, "Forest Relaxation" massage spa for body and foot massages! There, we made 7:30 am appointments to enjoyed this incredible deal - JPY 6,000 pp total for 30 min foot/leg reflexology, 80 min body massage and 20 min head/face massage (2h/10m) . In the USA, you would pay at least triple for that same service! The massages were a great way to start the day! Back to the hotel....it was a great place to stay and HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. It was our pleasure having you as a guest.
I'm delighted to hear you were able to make the most of what we provide.
And what impressed me most was your understanding of our doing best to maximize
the space of room.
We hope when you return back to Osaka, we'll get the chance to see you again.

Sincerely,

Orio
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price range (per night): $111 - $226
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing