We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #5 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Superb staff”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a two night stay here in April 2012. When we checked in we were upgraded to a suite (1901) which is always a nice start to a trip. The room was excellent, with a comfortable bed, good shower and a spacious room. The staff were all extremely helpful and spoke good English. One thing to be aware of is that the tea room here is set up very much for a formal tea with cake rather than a quick cup of coffee. We had tea here and were stunned by the price, though it was at least good. The hotel is centrally located near the JR station, about 15 minutes drive from the main Shin Osaka station, which is where the Shinkansen trains run from. Other than the cup,of tea, I thought the price of the hotel quite modest for the level of quality that we experienced.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    413
    110
    40
    28
See reviews for
464
519
154
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We are on holiday across Japan. We are members of Marriott Vacations and have stayed in Marriott (and related) properties globally. This is a classy Hotel as befits a Ritz Carlton. The lobby, the corridors, the rooms and the restaurants are old style (i.e. not steel and chrome) full of stylish furnishing and wood. Service is impeccable - but then, this is Japan after all. The concierge was beyond helpful - short of taking us to the places we wanted to go to. Location is great - 7 minutes walk to either the JR station or 5 minutes to the Airport Bus halt. Lounge bar has live music - lounge variety, of course - and the food was reasonable but pricey, as expected. The room was great - spacious and with all the mod cons, like enough power points and a hi-speed LAN point with WiFi as well. All in all - a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spent a night with my wife and baby at the Ritz Carlton in Osaka - an easy 10 minute walk from JR Osaka station. We took a room on the 37th floor with great views. Service as you expect is fantastic. Everyone smiled and made us very welcome. The baby bed and amenities supplied by the hotel for our little one were perfect. The room was comfortable enough and the mattress gave us a great night's sleep. Various teas in the room - but no English breakfast tea and only instant coffee. They are, I think, trying to get you down to the lobby to buy those things. A little bit cheap I thought.

I also wasn't very impressed that the hotel charged for their basic spa facilities! Even though the fee wasn't so expensive, for the price you pay here, that should be included. Because of the fee, we simply enjoyed the bath and shower in our room.

Make sure you book a package with breakfast. Very tasty.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 37th floor for the best views - although anything above the 30th will be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed in the Ritz-Carlton for 1 night on business.

The lobby is very smart, and reception staff are all very friendly and speak good English. The room was large, with a view over the station. It had a good sized ensuite with bath, shower and fully functional Japanese toilet (the best I came across whilst in Japan). The bed was very comfortable, and the room itself was in a good state of repair, with no scuffs, dust, dated furniture etc. All in all a well kept room.

Breafkast was reasonably priced and there was a massive selection, from traditional Japanese, American and Continental in the breakfast buffet, to a host of pricier a la carte options.

Finally, the lobby lounge had a lounge singer in the evening which provided some pleasant evening entertainment.

All in all I'd highly recommend the hotel for a stay in Osaka.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdibest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakura-shi, Chiba, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

pricey...but perfect hotel. will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank えりぃ★
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 307 in Osaka
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 307 in Osaka
1,950 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 307 in Osaka
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price range (per night): $401 - $1,071
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •La Baie - Light, creative, contemporary and traditional French delicacies •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing