We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurging at the Ritz in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #5 of 354 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spent a night with my wife and baby at the Ritz Carlton in Osaka - an easy 10 minute walk from JR Osaka station. We took a room on the 37th floor with great views. Service as you expect is fantastic. Everyone smiled and made us very welcome. The baby bed and amenities supplied by the hotel for our little one were perfect. The room was comfortable enough and the mattress gave us a great night's sleep. Various teas in the room - but no English breakfast tea and only instant coffee. They are, I think, trying to get you down to the lobby to buy those things. A little bit cheap I thought.

I also wasn't very impressed that the hotel charged for their basic spa facilities! Even though the fee wasn't so expensive, for the price you pay here, that should be included. Because of the fee, we simply enjoyed the bath and shower in our room.

Make sure you book a package with breakfast. Very tasty.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 37th floor for the best views - although anything above the 30th will be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 653 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed in the Ritz-Carlton for 1 night on business.

The lobby is very smart, and reception staff are all very friendly and speak good English. The room was large, with a view over the station. It had a good sized ensuite with bath, shower and fully functional Japanese toilet (the best I came across whilst in Japan). The bed was very comfortable, and the room itself was in a good state of repair, with no scuffs, dust, dated furniture etc. All in all a well kept room.

Breafkast was reasonably priced and there was a massive selection, from traditional Japanese, American and Continental in the breakfast buffet, to a host of pricier a la carte options.

Finally, the lobby lounge had a lounge singer in the evening which provided some pleasant evening entertainment.

All in all I'd highly recommend the hotel for a stay in Osaka.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

pricey...but perfect hotel. will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank えりぃ★
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed there a couple of times, once in a standard room and once in a bigger room (forget the name of the room type). The rooms are very clean and the normal rooms are a good size, particularly for a Japanese hotel. The bathrooms are excellent. The bigger room (actually two rooms) was very good and definitely worth the extra price if you are staying with your family. The decor is not quite to my taste but it is still OK; it would also be good if they could have a few more English language TV channels in addition to BBC and CNN. The movies on the pay on demand channel are also a bit out of date. However there was a DVD player in the room, which was useful.

The location is good - about a 5 minute walk from Osaka station (which itself is one stop from Shin-Osaka station, where the bullet train stops). Quite a few high end shops are in the same area as well as some good restaurants and bars.

I have also stayed in the Hilton and the Westin, which are quite near by, and the Ritz Carlton is better than both of these. (The Hilton is even closer to the station but is not such a good hotel and you need to catch a shuttle bus to the Westin from the station.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeejTeejTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel is located 5 to 10 minutes walk away from the JR Osaka Station. Underneath Osaka Station is a very, very large underground shopping area that spans not only JR Station but several other train stations and several department stores. It is sometimes frustrating and sometimes fun to get lost down there.

The hotel is of the quality that you'd expect of the Ritz Carlton. The building interior and exterior is posh, and the service excellent and consistent.

Our room was a nice sized room with nice furniture and a flat-screen TV. Our room faced kind of northwards so we had a veiw of the JR Station as well as of the really, really cool looking Sky Building.

The breakfast was very good, decent variety and excellent quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Sky Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 354 in Osaka
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 354 in Osaka
2,166 reviews
Conrad Osaka
#8 of 354 in Osaka
199 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: AU$395 - AU$1,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pass through the Gateway of Western Japan and marvel at ancient traditions that punctuate the ultra-modern landscape around The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka. Standing out in a vibrant city, our elegant 5-star hotel in Osaka, Japan presents a premier downtown setting situated in the heart of the prestigious Nishi-Umeda business and shopping district, close to the treasured cultural heart. A wide range of amenities and services contribute to a memorable experience, including: •291 guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 63 Club rooms, 2 Japanese Suites and 2 Ritz-Carlton Suites •The Club Level, featuring additional bespoke services and locally-inspired amenities in the Club Lounge •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space •Six fine dining restaurants & bar •Luxury Spa & Fitness •Personalized Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, JAPANiCAN, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing