We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
13
45
32
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
45
32
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have stayed at several Toyoko Inns and this one is definitely up to snuff. The hotel is a little difficult to find so download the map from the website before you arrive. It is only a six or seven minute walk from the east exit if you know where you are going. Like all Toyokos, the salient feature is value. The price is extremely reasonable. My room was very clean though it was quite small. The labels for the room air conditioner controller were all in Japanese but I figured them out through trial and error. The staff is very polite and helpful although their English skills are a bit limited. The morning breakfast buffet is simple and adequate though it only offers only a handful of choices. But it is tailored more to Japanese tastes with miso soup, rice cakes, bread and salad. It is actually a nice way to experience a little bit different breakfast assortment compared to typical Western breakfast choices. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something close to Shin-Osaka and are operating on a budget.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2012

From Tokyo, go via JR to Shin-Osaka. This hotel never comes up on regular searches, yet you see them everywhere. A Japanese friend found it for us. Biggest tip I can give: there is ONE western-size room (min 25 sq metres) on each floor. Be sure to request it. The room was kept immaculately clean by the outstanding housekeeping staff. The lively kitchen staff made the place feel like home. While mainly Japanese-style, the breakfast also offered sausages and fresh healthy vegetables, in addition to the rice, miso soup, etc. Finally a word on the hard-working General Manageress. She attended to every detail including lugging bags, greeting guests, helping with kitchen items, giving directions. Were it not for her picture on the wall I would not know she was the manager.

This hotel is an easy and comfortable walk to and from Shin-Osaka station.

Room tip: Request the 25+ sq metre room.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aander927
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChizuUeda, マネージャー at Toyoko Inn Shin-Osaka-eki Higashi-guchi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear aander927,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We really appreciate your business and we're glad you liked the breakfast. Our hotel opened in February of last year. We want to have a good hotel so we try hard everyday. I hope you come and stay with us again some time,

Thank you,

Chizu Ueda (manager on the wall)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews