We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and service”
Review of Yamatoya Honten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yamatoya Honten
Ranked #198 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed only one night as a group of 7 (2 rooms) but wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. We regret not having enough time to enjoy the baths in the basement. We asked the staff for the free kimono rentals and they were very accommodating. A female staff member went with us to our rooms and helped 3 of us put on our kimonos properly. They held our luggage after checkout and were extremely friendly. It is very close and walkable to Dotonburi and Kuromon Ichiba Market. We highly recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loctieu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback! It is always a pleasure to receive nice comments such as yours, and to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.We appreciate your detailed review and we hope for another opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Yamatoya Honten
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017

location is great, short walk from central dotonbori. easy to get food from surrounding restaurants. we love the traditional experience of sleeping in ryokan. room is clean, spacious, comfortable. staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwidayanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Yamatoya Honten. We are happy you are pleased. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This place was a huge disappointment. The first thing we noticed was the stench coming from the toilet. If absolutely stunk of urine. The room itself looked a little grubby but wasn't too bad. But the noise! Dreadful piped music was played in the hallway until late at night and due to the very thin walls, kept us awake in our room. Drunken businessmen filled the foyer and the halls, which my children found very upsetting. Reception staff were very friendly but that was the only thing going for this place, apart from its location, which is very handy.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank SouthernDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Since the toilet There was pointed out that dirty, will continue to clean more than ever in the future now tell the cleaning crew.We look forward to welcoming you back to Yamatoya Honten in the nearest future for another impeccable service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

After having stayed in "Western style" hotels on our trip to Japan it was really nice to experience something a little more traditional. A knock on the door from staff coming in to prepare the bedding, along with hot green tea, was a really nice touch as well.
Location was excellent for exploring the shopping district. Only a few metro stations to Osaka Castle and similarly easy access to Kansei airport.
The bathroom was looking "a little tired" but otherwise loved the accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ColinH3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Yamatoya Honten and for taking the time to share your positive and detailed feedback here. We look forward to seeing you when you come to OSAKA next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Stayed for 5 nights in mid November. Staff were helpful.
It was a bit tight for 3 adults in the room and I longed for a western style chair as I have a bad back but apart from that the Hotel was fine.
We were greeted with a Japanese tea and a gift of chopsticks.
There were nice biscuits and tea left in our room each day, fresh towels etc. Bathroom and toilet are separate and amenities are basic but what else do you need?
The view from our room down onto the canal and Dontonbori Street was amazing. It was a little noisy at night and we had to sleep with the window closed but it was a small price to pay for the proximity to everything. We watched Jazz boats go up and down the canal and could hear their music.
There are 7 supermarkets within 5 minutes walk of this Hotel and there are laundromats everywhere in the area, only you will have to take your turn with the locals to use them.
This was our sons third stay at this hotel and I think he will be returning again in 2017.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms on north side may be noisier but have great views
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angelbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Yamatoya Honten and for taking the time to share your positive and detailed feedback here.
We glad you like our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Yamatoya Honten in the nearest future for another impeccable service!
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ibis Styles Osaka
Ibis Styles Osaka
#47 of 321 in Osaka
513 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 321 in Osaka
791 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
#79 of 321 in Osaka
147 reviews
Hotel Mystays Otemae
#168 of 321 in Osaka
373 reviews
Hotel Ichiei
#74 of 321 in Osaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamatoya Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamatoya Honten

Address: 2-17-4 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Osaka
#30 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $119 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yamatoya Honten 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamatoya Honten is right near "Dotombri" the place that represents Osaka, also easy to go to Shinsaibashi (shopping area) and Den-Den-Town (electronics retailing area). It has Japanese style rooms and baths and there is the traditional Japanese atmosphere. We serve you the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yamatoya Honten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamatoya Honten Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing