We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect gift for Japanese friends”
Review of a la Chalamont

a la Chalamont
Ranked #151 of 15,862 Restaurants in Kyoto
Price range: USD 20 - USD 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nishijin District
Reviewed 23 June 2016

On the recomendation of a long term Kyoto resident and culinary expert, I took Japanese friends to a la Chalamont as a thank you gift. We were very happy with the evening in this cosy, relaxed, French atmosphere.
We all enjoyed the excellent and well-presented food! We ordered several dishes and shared them family-style as the delightful (and English speaking) staff brought them to the table one by one - it was a fun way to share the many taste treats.
The food, presentation, service, relaxed ambiance, location, - all were such a pleasure.
I highly recommend a la Chalamont.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2016

My partner and I went to " A la Chalaumont " on the last night of our trip to Japan, after 10 days of having really good japanese food, we were in need of a change, so we picked this restaurant. And it exceeded all of our expectations. The couple gracefully offered us a really nice night, the service and the food were simply exquisite.
Thank you very much for this experience.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank josephineet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 April 2016

As traveling foreigners we love variety, and sometimes tire of local cuisine, we were very lucky to find this Kyoto treasure. As are many restaurants in Japan. A la Chalamont is small... .it seats 15+. Where possible, call ahead to reserve a table. The restaurant is essentially a two person operation: the chef and his wife. Both are very personable and very efficient, but this isn't a "quick in quick out experience". Plan to spend two hours and enjoy a great bottle of wine, conversation and a terrific meal. The restaurant is informal. The interior is charming and reminiscent of a French countryside bistro. The air is filled with delicious scents and the sound of vintage French cabaret music. The food is delicious and you will find yourself returning night after night.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

Maybe a bad day for them but they we're nothing but rud. Food was OK and the restaurant looks lovely. But I would not recommend!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Kajan9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

A charming restaurant with lovely food and wonderful friendly service. The camembert entree was divine and the beef cheeks in red wine for main were delicious. Would definitely recommend to anybody visiting Kyoto.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Janellevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed a la Chalamont also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to a la Chalamont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.