We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kyoto!”
other traveller has booked this property
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden
Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
An antique hibachi from early Showa period, which we turned into a coffee table
Living room tokonoma (alcove) - a special architectural feature
Fully outfitted kitchen, with dining table
Kitchen table
Bedroom #1, double futon on tatami mats.
Bedroom #1 tokonoma - special architectural feature
Antique globe light (one of many antique light fixtures)
Sudare (bamboo blinds)
Bedroom #2, with double bed
The view of Kenninji, taken from the upstairs window!
Entrance to bathroom (shower with full bath tub)
High capacity washer/dryer
High-tech toilet
Our quiet street, which has no through traffic. Amber House Gion is on the right
Kenninji, the Zen temple immediately neighboring us
Miyagawa-cho, another geisha district 10 minutes walk away.
Near Kiyomizu Temple, 15 minutes walk away.
Maruyama Park, 15 minutes walk away.
The heart of downtown, 15 minutes walk away.
Hanamikoji Street, 5 minutes walk away. The heart of Gion.
Kiyomizu Temple, 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
caroline2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kyoto!”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I came across Amber House by reading blogs and articles on where to stay in Kyoto, and I'm so glad it was available for my dates.
The location is exceptional, in the heart of Gion yet in a quiet cul de sac, and it made our stay in Kyoto memorable. I was travelling with a friend so it was nice to have a room each and to be able to eat in after a week of dining out. Saying that, it has plenty of restaurants just round the corner (Hanamichi was our favourite, the owner is the smiliest person on Earth!).
The booking process was very easy, Curtis was very quick at getting back to me, and the local team (Junko and Saki) were wonderful and so helpful.
I can't recommend it enough, a true gem for a very special stay in Kyoto!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteMazzo
Mantua, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Japan trip”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in Amber House for six days and it was indeed the highlight of our Japan trip. The house is absolutely stunning, beautiful, serene, and full of character – there’s a lovely scent of wood and the stairs squeak snugly, giving the house a life of its own. It was a real pleasure to come back home at the end of a long sightseeing day and be greeted by those clean lines and that soothing Japanese décor.
Amber House is right in the middle of Gion, the most attractive neighbourhood in Kyoto, but is set in a quiet alley next to a temple so the only sounds you hear are those from the prayer bells and the cicadas. We absolutely loved having more space than in the usual Japanese hotel room – a sofa to relax in the evening, spacious bedrooms, wardrobes… it was just a dream for us and our teenage daughter and none of us noticed the lack of a tv set (I hope the owners won’t provide any in the future – it’s just not needed!). The kitchen is fully equipped and we absolutely loved shopping for groceries in the supermarket nearby in order to have breakfast at home. It really gave us that homey feeling that as tourists we wouldn’t have experienced otherwise. I particularly loved the super efficient washing machine that was a blessing in the August heat, and of course the cell phone, a real added bonus.
Juko and Saki deserve a special mention. Helpful and very professional, they have been really precious during our stay. Every single request we might come up to, from collecting our postcard from Saihoji Temple to booking our seats at Maiko Theatre, was efficiently handled in a jiff. We feel we haven’t thanked them enough for making our stay so smooth and hassle-free.
Amber House is a real gem – I dream of going back again someday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LishyLouL...
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very special way to experience Tokyo”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you are lucky enough to find Amber House Gion with open availability during your stay in Kyoto, you most definitely should take advantage of it. It is beautiful, comfortable and well-appointed. A true must to experience a more traditional Japanese living environment (while maintaining a Western level of comfort and convenience). It is located on a quiet and charming street in the heart of Old Kyoto.

Highly recommend. Please note all bedrooms are located in the second level; toilet is on the first. Stairs are well lit and have night lights but you will need to go down the stairs in the middle of the night of you need to use the restroom. This is not a complaint but a note to others in case it matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonda P
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in Gion”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Amber House Gion is the perfect location from which to explore Kyoto. Junko and Saki were both concerned that we had all we needed during our stay, and both speak very good English. The house itself is located at the end of a very quiet street which is away from the noise and commotion of the main tourist attractions but close enough to walk to. We loved waking up to the drumming from the temple next door. Although we loved eating at many of the local restaurants, it was also nice to be able to make some meals at the house. Having access to the washer/dryer combo and an iron and ironing board was also helpful. Curtis and the girls have compiled a binder that provides very useful information ranging from where to eat or grocery shop to where to seek medical attention if that becomes necessary. They really have thought of everything, and we will definitely stay here if we are ever in Kyoto again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadeeya L
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This stay was amazing! The house is beautiful, super clean, perfect interior! It was the best experience in a ryokan i could think of. I would go there anytime soon!
We got a lot of help from the hosts, great tips about where to eat and just felt at home there! I would recommend it to all of my friends! Loved my stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing