We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem in Gion”
other traveller has booked this property
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Exterior view
Living room, with interior garden
Living room with sofa, table, and floor cushions
An antique hibachi from early Showa period, which we turned into a coffee table
Living room tokonoma (alcove) - a special architectural feature
Fully outfitted kitchen, with dining table
Kitchen table
Bedroom #1, double futon on tatami mats.
Bedroom #1 tokonoma - special architectural feature
Antique globe light (one of many antique light fixtures)
Sudare (bamboo blinds)
Bedroom #2, with double bed
The view of Kenninji, taken from the upstairs window!
Entrance to bathroom (shower with full bath tub)
High capacity washer/dryer
High-tech toilet
Our quiet street, which has no through traffic. Amber House Gion is on the right
Kenninji, the Zen temple immediately neighboring us
Miyagawa-cho, another geisha district 10 minutes walk away.
Near Kiyomizu Temple, 15 minutes walk away.
Maruyama Park, 15 minutes walk away.
The heart of downtown, 15 minutes walk away.
Hanamikoji Street, 5 minutes walk away. The heart of Gion.
Kiyomizu Temple, 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Shonda P
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in Gion”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Amber House Gion is the perfect location from which to explore Kyoto. Junko and Saki were both concerned that we had all we needed during our stay, and both speak very good English. The house itself is located at the end of a very quiet street which is away from the noise and commotion of the main tourist attractions but close enough to walk to. We loved waking up to the drumming from the temple next door. Although we loved eating at many of the local restaurants, it was also nice to be able to make some meals at the house. Having access to the washer/dryer combo and an iron and ironing board was also helpful. Curtis and the girls have compiled a binder that provides very useful information ranging from where to eat or grocery shop to where to seek medical attention if that becomes necessary. They really have thought of everything, and we will definitely stay here if we are ever in Kyoto again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadeeya L
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This stay was amazing! The house is beautiful, super clean, perfect interior! It was the best experience in a ryokan i could think of. I would go there anytime soon!
We got a lot of help from the hosts, great tips about where to eat and just felt at home there! I would recommend it to all of my friends! Loved my stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
draws1
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amber House made our stay in Kyoto one of the best vacations I can remember”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Without a doubt, Amber House is Kyoto's best location for easy walking, or transiting to all the special places, districts, historic shrines and parks this magnificent city has to offer. Our two week stay was a delight - the house is quiet, cozy, and well outfitted, the staff couldn't be more helpful, it is really beyond belief.
I read all the reviews, and they are accurate, and say it all - I would recommend Amber House without a doubt - we plan to return. Rich U

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl A
1 review
“Possibly the best place to experience Kyoto”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have stayed in 2 of Curtis's place in Gion (Both at the Amber house and the Gion house, on 2 separate occasions) and i would really love to recommend both places to stay.

The location is really convenient within walking distance from major tourist attractions and yet without the usual ruckus that tourists bring. The accommodation is in a quiet part of the neighbourhood with friendly neighbours around and a handy grocery shop round the corner.

Kyoto is known for its temples and shrines, and having Kenninji just next door would really add to the experience. Imagine waking up the calm morning chants from the temple - there's no better way to start your mornings than that.

The houses are very well equipped with everything thing you will possibly need and very clean and well kept too! Lovely and spacious too!

The friendly people working with Curtis are very helpful and kind too. If you would need any help during your stay, they would be the go to person! I had the privilege of meeting Curtis himself on the morning before my departure which was a very nice touch.

I look forward to coming back to stay the next time i'm in Kyoto :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the furnishing of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a small family”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed in this condo for a week in November of 2016. Everything was as advertised: two spacious bedrooms on the second floor, living room and kitchen on the second, plenty of closet space, very clean. Location is perfect: in the center of touristy Gion but in a quite alley so you get the best of the both worlds. A lot of attractions in the walking distance. I would definitely recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing