We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Nishiki Market and cooking - Great Experience

We have a fantastic time , touring the market, trying many things and having the girls as locals... read more

Reviewed 3 August 2018
E8998WCgregg
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Lots of fun and great food!

This was a very fun experience for me and my three sons! We made some amazing food, learned how to... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
connies596
,
Edmonton, Canada
via mobile
Read all 151 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
144
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We made gyoza, okonomiyaki pancakes and yakisoba noodles in our course which were all tasty. We booked our course the day before and had a private lesson at our chosen time. Recipes are provided via email. Quite expensive but a great experience, thanks Satsuki

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank carolin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Kyoto Daidocoro is a wonderful gem, tucked away on a high floor off Kawaramachi-dori. I have taken two lessons here, as well as a saki tasting with friends (over a period of three years). I took the okonomiyaki (Japanese savory pancake) course previously and have successfully made the dish for friends back home. This week I took the three hour course, and learned five simple recipes suitable for Japanese home cooking. The staff is knowledgeable and fun, and the lessons are simple and useful.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Kahaluu_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely time learning how to prepare simple Japanese dishes you can recreate at home. Make sure you pay the booking as indicated otherwise its not confirmed.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank klabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We had a fabulous time with Satsuki in the market learning about Japanese produce and traditions before the cooking class started. It was well taught and very relaxed. The traditional food we created was beautiful and we can't wait to try and recreate it at home. One of the nice touches of the afternoon was that the team took photographs of us cooking, which makes for some great memories.
Thank you Kyoto Daidocoro

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank annahamm0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Very enjoyable way to spend a day in Kyoto.. Market tour very informative with lots
of opportunity for different food tastings. Cooking class was interesting and the food was tasty.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Kel899
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews