We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
PricelineUSD 71
Booking.comUSD 62
Hotels.comUSD 53
Orbitz.comUSD 53
eDreamsUSD 62
TravelocityUSD 53
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveller rating
900
1,086
234
52
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
900
1,086
234
52
27
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2019

I had been to Kyoto with the group of tourists in May 2019.We stayed at Hotel Kyoto for 3 nights.It's one of the old hotels,but renovated with all modern conveniences.The room was spacy with 2 very large beds and decorated in the old Japanese style,ideally cleaned.The lift inside is adorned with beautiful black lacquer panels and a large mirror in the center.The breakfast was very nice,buffet for all tastes:European and also Japanese.The stuff is friendly and always eager to help you.The hotel is located in one of the central parts of the city in the walking distance to the restaurants,shoping- centers and the market. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank marurto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your highly appreciated reviews. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2019

This hotel has more of a French connection. The rooms are not that big but the bed was comfortable & a great shower! Plus a bath.
We were asked to have breakfast at 6.45 as the hotel was full & would have not had room if we went down at 7 am.
The hotel once again did not have coffee in the room. We went to a 7-11 store and bought milk & coffee. They did have English breakfast T.bags.
It was close to a market & different shops which was nice

Room tip: Not sure...we had a view of roof tops
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raelene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your reviews. As you mention, we don't have coffee in the guest rooms(Kyoto is famous for green tea).
We look forward to your next coming to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019

From checking in to checking out, our stay at Hotel Monterey was wonderful. At the time of check in we were assisted with our bags to our room. The room was kept very clean and is well maintained. The best surprise when entering the room was seeing that we were provided with a phone for the time of our stay! This was so awesome as it allowed us to have maps, internet, and international calling while out exploring. Also, we added breakfast to our stay and it was very delicious.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Escape62055757683
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your reviews. Free use handy phone is equipped in all of our rooms. Please use it while you stay in our hotel.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019

This fairly modern hotel's design is based on the Arts and Crafts theme and as it's website states ... "A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage." I cannot fault this statement.
The hotel has a unique attribute of having a church in the grounds provides the complete wedding and other services

Room tip: Rooms are generally quiet
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EarlRay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your reviews. Our church is actually for wedding. If you'd like to see inside of the church when you stay in our hotel, please let us know.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

This is a great hotel located conveniently in Kyoto. Everything is clean, well kept and more interesting than your typical chain hotel. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are larger than I had expected (we had a king), but keep in mind this is Japan and rooms are not what you find in the US. Certainly larger than anything you’ll find in Tokyo for the price. I would recommend Hotel Monterey without hesitation.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank B1583TXpatrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your highly appreciated comment. We are looking forward to your next coming to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Moterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews