We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #32 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Affordable, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Absoloutely fine. Nice clean rooms, good housekeeping, the hotel has a nice "onsen" style sauna on the top floor. Reasonable location a 10 min walk to the centre. We had a real issue finding somewhere we cold get cash out. All ATM machines just didn't work for us. So the hotel staff directed us to the nearest seven eleven store which had an ATM that worked fine! Would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore Kyoto.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank k3bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    934
    204
    43
    23
See reviews for
402
738
328
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Everything was good, from the service, cleanness, to the room.
Great location near the subway, coffee shops and restaurants. Near GION area as well.
Wifi in the rooms, beverage in the fridge, nice view from the room, enough space for 2 people in the room, nice and modern decoration.
The bathroom was quite big for a Hotel in the city, with a big bath tube... Lovely.
The breakfast wasn't included in our reservation but there are plenty of coffee shops (Starbucks) around.
The staff speaks excellent English.
There is Spa (expensive though).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Convinient location, about 5 min walk from Karasumaoike station

I had the best concierge service experience in this hotel.
She spoke excellent English and very helpful.
I communicate with her from US to help me make some Michelin restaurants reservation.
Also when I was there, she also made good recommendation and arrangement for my last night in Kyoto for dinner.

When I checked in to the hotel, there is a folder already prepared for me with all the direction and information about the restaurant I'm going to visit.

This hotel definitely set my benchmark for concierge services for any other future trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Booked the Monterey for 4 nights after seeing a deal and had no idea what to expect. It was a lovely, british themed (!) hotel in a central part of Kyoto. Staff were great, rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms were very funky. It's very close to a Kyoto Metro stop, an easy walk from the kyoto museum and the Manga museum. Bus stops to most major sights were about 10 mins away. No complaints at all, it was reasonably priced (just over $100 per night) I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eaker_face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here in July, a very hot time in Japan. Getting to the hotel from the Kyoto station was easy- a short 800 yen cab ride one direction and 3 stops on the subway the other. From the subway, the hotel is a short walk, turning right as you come up the stairs exit number 6. The receptionist and concierge spoke excellent English and made getting oriented in the hotel and local area very easy (their custom map of local bus stops to head off to different sites made heading off so easy). The room was a decent size, a bit dark in decor, but with a fridge provided. Wireless Internet was easy to access and the signal was strong. A paper was provided every morning and the breakfast in the hotel had a wide selection of choices. Coffee was a bit weak bu there are 2 Starbucks close by with pleasant places to sit. The Nishiki market and Nijo castle are in walking distance as is the river area. The hotel was quiet and cool despite the heat, and overall a very nice place to stay at a good price.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Property: Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $156 - $418
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, JAPANiCAN, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing