We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely decorated new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Ranked #39 of 398 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Monterey Kyoto for four nights before the New Year, our twin room is tastely decorated with warm pink colour, very nice new bathroom with a big and new bath tub great for those winter nights. Although the room is a bit on the small side, you get everthing you need. Which include humidifier, air-con, small wardrobe, alarm clock and our favorite is the Uji tea set. This is so far the only Monterey hotel we've stayed that provides the real tea with a tea pot (the other one I stayed in Osaka only has tea bags). But the coffee provided is fairly plain, just instant coffee with milk powder. A good thing about the room is the window can be opened, we have to do it every day in the morning as it gets really hot and steamy after a night stay.

Location wise, the hotel is located on a main road, therefore close to subway and bus stations. There are coffee shops and convenience stores nearby. It's however not in the area where the main attractions are, but it's walkable distance. We had walked a few times to/from Shijo-Kawaramachi, where you go for shopping, food, evening drinks etc. It takes about 20 to 30 mins each way. It's generally safe to walk at night in Kyoto.

We didn't try any restaurants in the hotel but they all look nice and on the expensive side. There are many other options around the hotel that we wanted to try. There is one big shopping mall called 新風館 shin-puh-kan which is very close to the hotel and there are heaps of eating options in there.

The only thing we feel regret for the hotel is that it doesn't provide WiFi, nor in the room or the reception area. It's not so convenient for those who rely on their smart phones and tablets to get on the web.

overall we will stay here again if we get a good rate. And bringing your own wifi rounter is proably a good idea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 683 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel Monterey in Kyoto for 4 nights on a sightseeing stip of Japan in Jan 2012. I booked it online for a bargin which is worth searching for. The hotel is in the perfect location for using the subway system as there are only two main subway lines in kyoto and the hotel was a two minute walk from the station where the two subway lines intersect which makes travelling much easier as the bus system is always over crowded. The hotel staff was fantastic, spoke great english and were very helpful. They sell suway and bus day passes which are convenient if using the trains and buses frequently. they also have a little tourist type desk set with a staff member to assist with and questions and problems, they even created a full travel itinerary for us to get to Koya-san from kyoto! The entire hotel was beautiful and grand. Our room was average size but good quality furnishings. we even had a pretty good view over Kyoto! I would definately say here again if i return to Kyoto and highly recommend staying here if its in your budget or can find a sale rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is idealy location in central Kyoto, It is less than a 5 minute walk to bus stops that will get you to all the main attractions/temples and only a 10 minute walk to the main shopping precint. The hotel was comfortable and modern, quite large for Japanese rooms (queen room) and has everything you would need.

I booked through the hotel's website and it ended up being cheaper than all other outlets as they had a sale, I would recommend comparing each booking outlet to get the best price. If you are looking for somewhere neat and close to everything then I would definitely consider this hotel. Make sure you check out all the little alley ways on the way to the shops and nearby as we had some of our favourite meals there! Approx a $20 taxi ride from the main train station.

Stayed in October 2011 for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowsong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in January 2012. This was a terrific hotel in a great location. It's right near Sanjo dori so you can walk to the downtown area in 10 minutes. The rooms have odd purple striped walls, and the little bathroom has purple walls and floor... but I think of it as unique if you don't mind purple! It's brand new so everything is shiny and perfectly clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the front main road as it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

They were offering great deals and we liked it so much we stayed a week! Very well located, attentive service and the room amenities were great. We even had his and hers pyjamas!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esprit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#24 of 398 in Kyoto
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $98 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, HotelQuickly, Fastbooking, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing