We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Meghan S
Paris, France

Great local experience and clean high quality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2019via mobile
We stayed for 3 nights as part of a 12 day trip to japan, and we wanted to stay in a more local accommodation and we were very pleased with this place. The woman working at the reception was extremely kind and helpful (she helped us make dinner reservations even last minute during golden week). The bathrooms in the room were fantastic. The room was replenished every day with fresh towels, fresh tea and cleaned.

Regarding staying on the futons on the floor....for someone who normally enjoyed the plush bedding of the Marriott brand hotels this was a bit difficult for me but was glad to have done it and since I knew what we were booking in advance I could not be disappointed
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$415
  • Expedia.com
    AU$427
  • Priceline
    AU$348
  • Hotels.com
    AU$418
0.7 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$252
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$281
  • Agoda.com
    AU$228
  • travelup.com
    AU$266
2.4 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$180
  • Vio.com
    AU$135
  • Priceline
    AU$138
1.8 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$137
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
2.8 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$324
  • Hotels.com
    AU$352
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Vio.com
    AU$217
2.7 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
Booking.com
AU$222
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Agoda.com
    AU$191
  • Priceline
    AU$205
2.0 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$143
  • japanican.com
    AU$157
  • Trip.com
    AU$100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
2.5 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Booking.com
AU$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$183
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$149
  • Vio.com
    AU$161
6.6 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$814
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$451
  • Agoda.com
    AU$368
  • Priceline
    AU$507
0.3 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$673
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$977
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$404
  • Expedia.com
    AU$857
0.8 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
75
28
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
28
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Traditional Japanese style hotel located in a quiet residential neighbourhood.

Friendly staff, some of whom could speak good English.

Greeted with green tea and sweet served in the reception area.

Shown to our rooms. Foyer where exchanged outdoor shoes for the slip on slippers provided.

Main room with a textile floor covering, a low floor table with two floor chairs & cushions, a small coffee table with two medium height chairs. I found the floor chairs quite uncomfortable after sitting in them for a while. The evening meal was served at the floir table.

Four sliding doors revealed two single beds. I was expecting something on the floor like a futon.

There was a half wardrobe offering optional Japanese attire.

The bathroom was equipped with a shower but you had to climb into the bath so that the water drained away rather than spraying the room.

We had the evening meal which consisted of several dishes served by an enthusiastic young man who reappeared at intervals and added ingredients to a dish which cooked over candle heat. Unfortunately, the meal was expnsive and the majority of the food either tasted bland or distasteful to my western palate. ( I usually enjoy Japanese food.)

Breakfast was served in a large room down a flight of stairs. Instructions were provided on how to prepare and eat tofu. Again, I found the food very disappointing and rejected it all apart from a little miso soup and some boiled rice with a large portion of cooked salmon which was tasty. I requested coffee and the kind server brought me a cup.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CambridgeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Thank you for a wonderful night! Very friendly and easy going place. We especially liked the breakfast and the lovely rooms. Nothing fancy but just practical, very clean, very friendly staff. Quite relaxing place. Thank you

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank parisah880
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

I live in Japan and since my parents were coming here for the first time, I wanted them to experience a traditional Japanese ryokan and the whole experience. The service was absolutely amazing (OMOTENASHI) and the traditional kaiseki dinner in our room was something we will remember forever.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrián S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This establishment is a modernised version of the traditional ryokan but a great experience nonetheless. The facilities are immaculate throughout, and the service faultless. Both baths are new and beautiful (one is designated for men and the other for women in the evening, then in the morning they swap around). The kaiseki meal served in the room was sumptuous, and no additional request to the staff was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank korm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed as a large group in this ryokan which was very good albeit not a ryokan in the traditional sense of the word. The rooms were comfortable although my fellow roommates kept me awake with the snoring. Apparently, the compliment was returned!

There is an in-hotel onsen which we all made daily use of. The hotel itself is well appointed and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff.

It is a curious mix of modern hotel and old-style values and traditions. some of the modernity felt a little incongruous against the backdrop of tradition as our previous halt was a traditional 15thC Ryokan in Hida but in no way did it detract from the experience.

Very good for tripping around Kyoto and some very nice eateries close by. The breakfast will really set you up for the day! Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Faversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews