We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julie N
London

Beautiful ryokan but expensive

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2017via mobile
This was our first experience of a Japanese ryokan.

Pros:
- great location
- green tea and Japanese pancakes welcome for the adults / toys for the kids
- western breakfast available (we loved trying the traditional Japanese breakfast on our first day but were pleased to be able to switch afterwards)
- beautiful onsen
- traditional Japanese home clothes provided
- umbrellas provided for rainy days
- staff greeting at the door every time we came in

Cons:
- children under the age of 6 are treated as second-class citizens: no breakfast or even bottle of water provided - despite the fact that they are paying guests (even if at a discounted rate). We didn't know that and it came as a bad surprise. Given the price we paid per night, this is really poor and young children should not be made to feel like that
- noisy room (street side)
- very expensive
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$353
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$95
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$187
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$114
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$330
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
AU$147
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
AU$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.6 km from Matsui Bekkan Hanakanzashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
75
28
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
28
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

While the staff was friendly and ryokan beautiful and clean, I felt it was not a "traditional Japanese ryokan experience" Years ago I stayed in a ryokan with my family and it was very different. Matsui Bekkon was geared more to what the tourist would like. Dinner was very pretty and offered several dishes to taste. However, breakfast was not served in our room and while the meal was nicely presented, there was only one dish that was tasty.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, nice rooms , great hot spring baths and a superb Japanese breakfast ....

They do not speak much English although enough for you to get by...

Very central to s lot of sites to visit

I highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FibreFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is a review for my trip to Kyoto last year. I only stay here for one night but I will recommend this ryokan. The staffs are very nice and they help us a lot when we stay here. If you are a Chinese, you can even meet some staff who can speak Chinese so it is very helpful. The food tastes not bad and the room is large enough. The staffs even give us a pair of chopsticks and some Wagashi that is Kyoto's special. I even saw the ornamental dolls, which is I always wanted to see. Furthermore, the thing that surprised really us is we stay in the room which emperor of Japan used to stay. I highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rezzy0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We felt really comfortable in this hotel, located in the center, everything is near, the room was very nice, the staff is very kind and helpful, there is a great onsen also... recommended!
For short or long stays

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for a quick Kyoto trip. Wanted a traditional ryokan stay, wasn't prepared to spend the typical large amount of cash that most cost. The experience was a positive one overall, however a ryokan by its definition is basic, with a mattress on a tatami mat floor. So why splurge on the fancy ryokans one might ask?

PROS:
- Central location. Close to market.
- Onsen downstairs. You must go here if staying here.
- Friendly staff. Always greeted us with a smile, and waved goodbye to us when departing.

CONS:
- Staff were not too helpful trying to book a restaurant for us for dinner. They referred us to the Kyoto tourist board, who charge a fee for restaurant bookings.
- Bathroom was very basic & dated.

Recommend eating the breakfast in house. Dinner can be done in house or out at a restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews