We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay and get a true Japan...”
other travellers have booked this property
Japanese bedroom(up stairs)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Japanese bedroom(up stairs)
Japanese relax room(down stairs) Japanese relax room(down stairs, winter)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Japanese bedroom(up stairs)
Japanese relax room(down stairs)
Japanese relax room(down stairs, winter)
Living room(down stairs)
up stairs
Western bedroom(up stairs)
Western bedroom(up stairs)
Bath room(down stairs)
WC(down stairs)
small garden
Small garden
Front of the house
Nishiki Market(7minutes walk)
International Manga Museum(7minutes walk)
The Museum of Kyoto(8minutes walk)
Gion Festival(July)
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SandyKC
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and get a true Japan experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tom was very accessible, met us at the station, recommended bike shop, grocery store and restaurant. Kitchen small but works for breakfast. Coffee, tea and bottled water provided. Clean, plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Good location for walking to the subway, Nijo Castle and river. The only negative are the steep stairs to the bedrooms. Would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debm544
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely traditional style house made very comfortable in a great easy to access location”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tom's house was perfectly set up for our group of 4 adults. The areas around the house were interesting with lots of eating options. The convenience store and subway were very handy just around the corner. The laundromat was a little further but still in easy walking distance. Very comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. The stairs up to the bedrooms are steep but there is a rail to hold onto. A great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambience of the house
Liked least: Stairs and no washing machinre
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent base for a family stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house is charming and the owner offered an excellent service, from meeting us at the station and looking after our bags to giving advice on places to visit and cleaning the property during our stay. The house is kept immaculately clean.
The location is very central, but quiet and there are lots of places to eat close by.
For our family with older children the house was perfect, for young children the stairs would be unsuitable.
We loved our stay in the house and hope to come back some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The electronic bath
Liked least: It was a 10min walk to the laundry
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Angela...
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tradtional japanese home with warm and respectful host”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Tom was a wonderful host. He communicated very well with us from the beginning. We traveled as a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children aged 8,6,1). There was ample room in the apartment for our family makeup. The toilet and bath were fantastic and the source of much entertainment for my children. We particularly liked the buttons for the bath, that filled the bath with your desired temperature and then maintained the temperature. Tom kindly organised a cot for our baby at no additional fee. The cot was clean and comfortable. In fact, the entire apartment was immaculate. Tom also had complimentary orange juice, tea, coffee, sugar and green tea snacks for us. Tom was also available to answer all questions during our stay, which was most helpful.I must not forget to as that the traditional makeup of the apartment gave it its charm. Plus it is located in a good position near the shops and restaurants. Thank you Tom for making our trip to Japan so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tradtional aspect
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJBRR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent location in a great city”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from our first adventure to Japan. Our stay in Tom's house was great. Walk out the door and all of Kyoto is there-shopping, restaurants and subway and buses. House is as pictured and worked great for three adults. Arriving in Kyoto, we called Tom and he gave taxi driver directions so finding place was no problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and feeling like a local
Liked least: my 6'3 ft son and husband had to duck their heads thru doorways otherwise headroom was fine!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing