We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 52
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Priceline
USD 39
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/11/21
FindHotel
USD 35
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/11/21
Hotels.comUSD 52
Booking.comUSD 55
Orbitz.comUSD 52
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveller rating
518
430
98
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
518
430
98
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kyoto station each evening comfortable hotel convenient location onsen japan yen slippers arashiyama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2019

Western type hotel. Free tea and coffee throughout stay, cosy public areas, very good breakfast, excellent public baths, only 5 minutes walk from station. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable with TV and fridge. Well worth the price. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhipperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2019 via mobile

About the only positive thing I can say about it, is that it is very clean! And that is a positive! Coming from five nights at the Hilton Tokyo, this was a disappointment, but I do realize that it is size wise comparable to other hotels in Kyoto. It was very hard to have to live out of a suitcase for five nights, as other than space to hang a few clothes, there are NO drawers. And the safe doesn’t even work. We were not greeted as if the staff was happy to see us. They had no recommendations for dinner. And there was only the option to order pizza at the hotel. The breakfast was pretty good, but when they ran out of something, it wasn’t replenished. It is off the beaten track but close to the subway system. Next time I will take a taxi from the subway to a hotel in a neighborhood with activities and restaurants close by.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank annarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

For the price (£140 a night, excluding breakfast) I was highly disappointed. The photos are extremely airbrushed. Surly staff at front desk. You have to pay at a machine in the lobby for your entire stay before you’re allowed to go up to your room, presumably for a reason. The standard rooms all overlook a busy intersection with poor sound proofing - we were asked for a lot to upgrade to a quiet room on the other side. I am currently sitting on the bed listening to a constant stream of motor cycles and beeping from the pedestrian crossing, and this is from the 5th floor! Furniture is cheap veneer, bed creaks. Seems a favourite for Chinese tour groups. If the price were half what we were paying I might consider an average review. Despite already paying, I am debating upping sticks and finding a better option. Very depressed at the idea of 2 nights here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2019

I don't usually give really bad reviews, but this place deserves a really bad review. If you're traveling solo (1 person in a room), it's probably ok. We had 2 of us in the room and the space was so cramped, that we were tripping over everything. Small is one thing, but the space was not designed well because of the lack of storage. Cruise ships which notoriously have small rooms are so much better than these rooms. The "desk" was a TV-tray sized table. The safe didn't work so they suggested using the safes at the front door which are probably large enough to fit only mobile phones and passports, not computers. Walls were paper thin to where one could hear everything from people in the hallways. After one night, we changed hotels because it did not meet our expectations.

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank texascajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2019

Tube station is literally in front of hotel (Kujo stop, Karasuma line) and main Kyoto train station is just one stop away.
It takes just 10 minutes to walk from Kyoto main railway station.
If you decide to walk you will pass couple of shops (Daily, Family Mart) so if you need quick snack or drink it is handy. Internet cafe is right on the corner of "your" street and railway station square (opposite AVANTI shopping mall).
Rooms are clean and decent size which os not so obvious in Japan.
Fridge and electric kettle in the room (we were stying in standard double).
Staff is friendly and speaks good English. Spacious lobby, there is also outside space and nice bar where you can sit and enjoy drink or coffee.
Complimentary drink every night (!) is a nice touch.
There is no restaurant here though; you have to walk 10 minutes to sister hotel (Sakura Terrace The Gallery) if you want to have a meal.
Actually we did enjoy this walk; food at sister hotel was very nice with live music but if weather is not great or you don't want to walk your options are limited.
Leaflets showing Kyoto bus routes are available in a lobby - this is useful when planning your stay. Also, we did start all our sightseeing trips from railway station but actually you can get to few must see places easier / quicker directly from hotel (ie.Tofukuji temple) by bus. Bus stop is one minute away.
Overall; very good hotel, highly recommended

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianW2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews