We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oasis”
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Exterior Western style bedroom with double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Livingroom
Exterior
Western style bedroom with double bed
Japanese style bedroom with double futon on tatami
Kitchen area
Entrance to bath / shower area
Original hand-woven wood detailing on ceiling of livingroom
Roof deck with view of Kenninji Temple
Being filmed by HGTV. Curtis (owner) on left with cameraman
Hanamamikoji Street, 3 minutes walk away
Our little street, with geishas (a common sight)
Kyoto's main commercial district, Shijo-Kawaramachi, a 15 minute walk away
Kenninji Temple, Kyoto's oldest Zen Temple, right next door!
The owner, Curtis, at Kenninji Temple, next door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
lisajm889...
Ruston, Louisiana
1 review
“Oasis”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here one week and hated to leave. Everything was perfect. We really loved the tiny deck, the tub looking out into the courtyard, the feeling of so much privacy. We would definitely book this again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan T
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Upper Gion House!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband, a friend and I stayed at the Upper Gion House during cherry blossom season for 2 weeks. The location was amazing! It was located on a quiet small street in the Gion District. Fresco and Lawson's convenient stores is about a 4-5 minute walk. The condo (machiya) was very clean and spacious with a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, Western and Japanese-style bedrooms and a lovely bathroom with a large shower head, bathtub and heated tile floors! Even the wood hallway floors were heated! A nice feature since the weather was on the cool side. Junko and Saki were wonderful if we needed any additional information. There was also a detailed guest book full of information and recommended restaurants. We enjoyed Zero Cafe which was right next door. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Kyoto! We have already recommended this place to our friends!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seadev73
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location-Great Apartment”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 6 nights - booked directly thru owner Curtis (via e~mail) who was so easy to communicate with. Location is really good - 2 mn walk to Hanamikoji Dori- one of the most beautiful streets in Kyoto (especially at dusk) - kitchen in apartment is easy to use - if you want to make breakfast yourself or have some dinner (if you're too tired after a day of sightseeing).
Shower and huge bath are great, heated floors are so nice when you wake up <in Winter> can split up 2 bedrooms with sliding screen.
Can walk to subway in 5 mns to go South (Fushimi) or North (Kibune/Kurama) or across river (about 7mns walk) is Hankyu station - can go anywhere in Kyoto + express train to Osaka(Umeda) leaves from there. Two 24hr Supermarkets are only 5 mns walk away.
Local staff - Junko-san & Saki-san are close by & willing to help with anything & can help with some goos local advice too.
We had the best time staying @ The Gion House.
Only trouble we had was people staying upstairs had TV on really loud one night - don't think they realised the sound carried downstairs- asked them to turn it down ~ No Problem

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancyinfo...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So wonderful we are going back!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We loved our stay at the Gion House, upper level. It was in a perfect location and we were able to walk and taxi to amazing places everyday. There were loads of local restaurants to choose from too with the help of Junko, all reservations were made effortlessly. Curtis, Junko and Saki were are lovely to deal with. We had no issues with anything! We would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Kyoto.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaH115
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, authentic accommodation in the heart of Kyoto”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as a family of 4 to Kyoto in October. We loved our stay at the Gion House, upper level. It was in a perfect location and we were able to walk to beautiful temples and other amazing places everyday. There were loads of local restaurants to choose from too. Curtis, Junko and Saki were super helpful and prompt in their communication with us before our arrival and instructions were clear and helpful. We had no issues with anything! Everything was fantastic and we would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Kyoto.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing