We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gion House is beautiful. A real jewel in Kyoto...”
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Exterior Western style bedroom with double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Livingroom
Exterior
Western style bedroom with double bed
Japanese style bedroom with double futon on tatami
Kitchen area
Entrance to bath / shower area
Original hand-woven wood detailing on ceiling of livingroom
Roof deck with view of Kenninji Temple
Being filmed by HGTV. Curtis (owner) on left with cameraman
Hanamamikoji Street, 3 minutes walk away
Our little street, with geishas (a common sight)
Kyoto's main commercial district, Shijo-Kawaramachi, a 15 minute walk away
Kenninji Temple, Kyoto's oldest Zen Temple, right next door!
The owner, Curtis, at Kenninji Temple, next door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Guide6758...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gion House is beautiful. A real jewel in Kyoto with everything you could need.”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gion House is beautiful. We travelled as a family and the children were respectful and well behaved, because this house has original features, shrines that must not be entered or touched, glass doors and paper walls.

We found this house to be excellent, comfy and the team provide amazing little things like washing machine liquid, maps and movies. Beds are very comfy. The kids loved the onsen style bathroom. The location is excellent, with access to a brilliant restaurant right next door, old gion, shops and underground.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our own Onsen!
Liked least: We loved everything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david h
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Upper Gion House for six nights during August 2016. The location and accommodation is as advertised and detailed in the excellent and comprehensive website. The pictures do not lie and everything is as described. The location is very convenient but not easy to find although I do not think Curtis and the team could provide more detailed information than they do, and they were available on the mobile for our taxi driver to ring although using his mobile was a task in itself! It is just that the property is tucked away in such a small quiet street (a big plus in my view) and our taxi driver was "nice but useless". There is a tiny bar on the corner of the street less than 100 yards form the Gion House, but thy had never heard of it either!
Would I stay here again?
Would I recommend it to friends?
A resounding yes to both questions.
One might baulk at spending "so long" in one place, and we did as we were only in Japan for nine nights. But the quality of the accommodation and the minimum five night stay was an absolute blessing. Hiroshima (and other places) by Shinkansen in a day is easily doable. So our advice is to commit, pay the money (it is not cheap, but what is in Japan?) and throw yourselves into an immersive experience in Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mixture of Japanese and Western features
Liked least: A/C unit in lounge inadequate in comparison to bedrooms
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, beautifully and thoughtfully appointed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
petalee
perth
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location in a quiet back street of Gion.
A traditional Japanese design but with modern features which include a fully equipped kitchen ( including combination washer/ dryer), Western style bathroom with shower & bathtub ( separate toilet) and wireless high-speed Internet. There are clear instructions provided for the appliances with English labelling.
Friendly obliging efficient management. I would recommend to stay here when visiting Kyoto.
Top marks go to %Arabica Coffee a few minutes walk away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabie S
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My dream home!”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I just love this place so much that i wonder if i should share :p
Love the interior beauty of it, and the modern comfort of kitchen and bathroom facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the house itself
Liked least: the pillow, too tiny too soft
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing