We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Stunning tempel

We have been here twice now climbing Mount Kurama with our Reiki student group. The tempel is... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Songbird1954
,
Maidenhead, Berkshire
CLOSED after typhoon

I was really looking forward to visiting this temple and hiking / exploring the kurama yama area... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
Fredddi_necia
,
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
via mobile
Read all 318 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kyoto
from USD 7.00
More Info
from USD 111.20
More Info
from USD 68.70
More Info
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
31
16
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
16
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car beautiful hike day hike main hall walk up kyoto city train station kifune eizan hiking onsen scenery kumara reiki forest climb legend
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here twice now climbing Mount Kurama with our Reiki student group. The tempel is beautiful and it is worth climbing up further the mountain to see the natural sights ans lantern lined path. When we came this October the site was closed due to Taiphoon damage so check if and when it re-opens!

2  Thank Songbird1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

I was really looking forward to visiting this temple and hiking / exploring the kurama yama area. After their last typhoon, the cable car is down. Which means all you can do is walk up the first staircase. ALSO: that typhoon damaged the train line to Kurama town. You have to take the 52 bus from Kokusaikaikan Station, takes about half an hour to get up here. Really nice Buddhist restaurant near the temple with Soba noodles, coffee, and ice cream to waste away time you thought you’d be spending at the temple.

6  Thank Fredddi_necia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Good hiking place.
Food around Kurama is cheaper than Kibune.
Kid will enjoy the cable ride and the small hike to the temple.

Thank HartH332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Be prepared for a long hike. If I may advice, come here except Summer. The hike will be cooling and the forest is so well preserved, it is something different from what you will see ordinarily.

But do not expect much within the main temples. Generally, all shrines and temples has not much to see. The landscape is quite a view too. You may take the option to ride the tram for Yen 200 each way. (Ascend and descend) but the hike is what’s valuable. And despite taking the tram, you will still need to climb quite a few flight of stairs. Do wear proper shoes.

We went only slightly beyond the main temple and we were already exhausted. And you can compensate that with a dip in hostpring close by. - Kurama Onsen. They have a shuttle van at the train station.

3  Thank AyaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

I’d definitely recommend taking the steps instead of the cable car! There are 41 individual shrines, you’ll miss these if you take the cable car. Yes, there are a lot of steps. But they’re not particularly steep and you can take your time, it wasn’t as hard work as I expected. It’s an easier walk from the Kurama side (from here to the temple the steps are well built, often concrete), but on the way down to the Kifune side, the steps are wooden, uneven and you’re often clambering over tree roots. If you’re not so stable underfoot you could go up and back down the Kurama side. A fantastic experience, good views and a beautiful setting.

Thank AJ98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

From Kyoto Station you take 3 easy trains in the morning. Then skip the cable car and walk up into the magic forest. It’s steep and you have to be able to climb 40 stories in total. Lots of cool spots along the way you’ll miss if you take the cable car. Then up and over the mountain into the town of Kibune. On the way down you’ll see some great forest scenery plus the last shrine was my favorite. Total walking time up and down with stopping for sites is about 1.75-2 hours. At town of Kibune eat lunch at one of the restaurant built over the babbling river. We went to the first one by the trail exit. After lunch, take the bus down to the train. At the last stop you can grab bus 205 to see the Golden Temple Kinkakuji if you’re having trouble fitting it into your itinerary in Kyoto given it’s a bit out of the way.

3  Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

You can approach the temple complex from either Kurama station or over the mountain from Kifune. It is a steep hilly site, though there is a funicular from the Kurama side. There are several beautiful temple buildings in different levels, which you can explore. This is a working temple, and you may see a ceremony in progress.

2  Thank Dave_Cowley_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful temple that is not overly crowded by tourists in comparison to temples in Kyoto central. The temple itself is one of 20+ sites on the trail. There are many stairs to prepare yourself for a small but beautiful hike surrounded by forests and water

Thank Luna_Tsubasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Got off the train at Kibune and followed the road up the hill until the sign for Kuramadera. There's an attendant who charges 300 yen and gives you a map. He said it was only 10 minutes to the first building but I don't know how fit one has to be to make that time. Took me more like 20 because it's straight up. Beautiful hike though, with steps and a safe trail. The temple is also nice and the mountain has a sacred air. I went to the onsen after the hike which was perfect.

3  Thank ReneeM108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This temple is one of famous temples in Japan. The temple and mountain has quite interesting and mysterious story about Yoshitune who was a famous samurai and trained this mountain with Tengu. Tengu is a Japanese god who has long nose and lives in mountains.
I walked from the bottom through the temple, and walked to Mao-den, then Kifune-shirine. The way was really interesting but steep, so if you wanna walk through, then you should wear comfortable shoes. It takes 2 hours or little more by foot. But, it is quite nice view with clear and clean air, and if you can feel some energy or vibration, then you will fell something different from other shrines and temples in Japan. If you do not wanna walk up to the temple, then, there is a cable car. So, you can save your energy and time.

1  Thank KeikoKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews