We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its very convenient location will help you to forget the discomfort of a tiny room and bathroon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Ranked #56 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Lobby is comfortable and you will find exhaustive documentation on places to visit around with free copies of maps, bus schedules etc. Then you go to your room and you will realize that anywhere you go you will not escape ridiculous size for an hotel room. The bed has one side along the wall and the standard rooms have no windows. Certainly not romantic but at least it is clean, the aircon is super silent, the bed is comfortable. Forget the japanese breakfast, too expensive. If I'm back I would try another one but in the same location, close to the station and the bus terminal. By the way, daypass for the bus is only 500 JPY! Good deal.
I give you 2 extra tips : in Gion (bus stop Gion), you should be able to see some geishas at night, going in and out of private restaurants or tea rooms, in a rather dark street (forgot the name) + go to Nara and visit all the temples by electrical bicycles that you can rent at the train station for 1300 JPY a day. This was really freat.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 283 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

If you're looking for the main three...affordable rates, clean room & a good location...this hotel will more than satisfy the criteria. My teenage son and I stayed here during our first trip to Kyoto in April. The staff was friendly, professional and English speaking. The amenities are basic but nice and very clean. Right across from Kyoto Station, anticipate only a 5 minute walk…really terrific for weary travelers. Also, within walking distance are all types of transportation services, shopping, restaurants, shrines, gardens and coffee houses.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeQ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We booked the Hokke Club because it was across the road from the station and we were arriving in Kyoto from Matsue quite late and didn't want to hassle with getting anywhere in town after a long trip... we were given a twin room overlooking the station (which is quite a view!) and it was twice the size of any of the business hotel rooms we usually stay in - great soft beds, proper huge bathroom you could actually move in and the staff were just so sweet and helpful - and because we booked online through an online booking site we got this lovely room for around AUD$180 for 2 nights. Delighted and probably should have stayed longer. No breakfast included (sad) but the little restaurant downstairs was bustling and good food and great prices. All in all a great success!

Room Tip: ask for a twin room over the station (ours was 904 I think) - the doubles are quite a lot smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeshekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nice hotel, just besides Kyoto Tower. Easily spotted once you out from Kyoto Station. The size of the room was surprisingly bigger than any normal hotel room in Japan. Too bad wifi is not included in the hotel. Very clean and staffs are very friendly. Nice restaurant downstairs too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishibashi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Can't beat the location, right opposite the train station so you're literally a few minutes away from your train. Nice people and the rooms are nice too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank WorldX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#74 of 376 in Kyoto
563 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#79 of 376 in Kyoto
526 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 376 in Kyoto
732 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $101 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing