We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for a compact standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #310 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location for a compact standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Conveniently located from the train station. Which was fantastic since we were coming from Osaka and heading to Tokyo. Transit system was pretty easy to figure out as well to get to many of the famous temples.
Rooms were typical Japanese small. Has all you need and Ive stayed a few nights in these standard hotels, so I was use to it.
Didnt mind the beds so much as everyone else pointed out. Again functional, with Internet and good location for a good budget price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    316
    228
    90
    50
See reviews for
72
231
164
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

In my tiny room I could hear every word uttered by people passing in the hall, including the cleaning staff early each morning, and frequently even their footsteps. The beds are slightly more comfortable than a slab of concrete might be. The fact that you can walk to Kyoto Station in five minutes goes a long way in making up for that, as does the free internet in the rooms. Make sure you bring plenty of clean clothing because the laundry service is a rip-off (600 yen for one pair of jeans, about $8).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFDolceVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights between 19th-22nd April 2001. This hotel is very close to the station which was really convenient. The bed was a bit hard, but we don't really mind it and the room was very clean. The highlight or rather the thing that makes this hotel very very worthwhile is the spa located on the topmost floor. For the price that we were paying per night, the spa is indeed a bonus. In lieu of taking a bath in the bathroom in the room (which was tiny, anyway), we took our baths in the spa. The message chair and amenities provided in the spa was fantastic. As always of the APA hotel chain, the staff were very helpful. Service was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Kyoto was very busy as a local temple was celebrating a 750 year anniversary so this was one of the few hotels available. That said it was perfectly suitable. The room was a little small but this is a common theme in Japan, particularly the western style/business hotels. It was clean and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and patient with our lack of Japanese and also stored our luggage after check out allowing a few extra hours in Kyoto. Only a 15 min walk from the train station and free wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby and luggage storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Goobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a week during April 2010 with a friend.

We had a good sized twin room, it was not huge but big enough for what we needed, the beds were good sized and there was a wardrobe and a desk.

The bathroom was clean too and was similar to a wet room, with a shower over a bath.

The staff were all very nice and were very forgiving when me and my friend forgot to check out on the right day!

The room was always clean and there was nice touches like a origami crane for each bed.

The location of the hotel is great and it was only a few minutes walk away from Kyoto station which was great for getting buses to the sights!

I would recommend this hotel to people and if you have any questions let me know.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saz1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#289 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#130 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#50 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $85 - $273
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing