We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hoped it was a good as a few years ago, it was better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryokan Yamazaki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ranked #127 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
richmond, yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“hoped it was a good as a few years ago, it was better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

visited again after a few years and was relieved to see that it was just as wonderful as ever. the gardens are beautiful, rooms are clean and spacious, lovely bath. the staff are the best anywhere, they are so helpful it makes you feel wonderful. grandma is a joy, kind and generous. all of the staff are the best. no problems with distance from central kyoto, buses are every 30 minutes and bus stop less than 5 minute walk. restaurant food is extreemly good and the japanese breakfast is a feast.

an autentic family run ryokan, perfect!

Room Tip: the annex rooms have a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umeboshisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    51
    25
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
61
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We arrived around 7p.m. on a Saturday evening. The restaurant had a small selection of authentic Japanese dishes. Everything we tried was delicious! The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. The staff is very welcoming and made our stay even more enjoyable. If you are looking for an authentic, affordable Japanese inn then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatsudonKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I must say that this accomodation is located in a good place. It is close to Ninnaji, Ryoanji (stone garden) that is the part of Myoshinji Temple Complex, Kinkakuji (Golden Pavilion) and Kozanji. All mentioned above temples and Kinkakuji are in the UNESCO Heritage list (!). Well, it will take 15 min by walk to Ninnaji and more - to others, and you can not buy food or go to a restaurant near the accomodation, but people saying that it is too far from the most interesting places of Kyoto just have no idea.

Then, I also must say that it is not a ryokan, but a minsjuku (small private BandB). Ryokans are of much higher standard and much more expensive in Japan. It definitely needs renovation and is not very neat or clean. However, the bed and linens are super clean, the price is right and doesn't double or triple in busy times of sakura blooming or red leaves.

Another point - yes, it is noisy at night.

Useful tip: The last bus (num. 8) going to the ryokan departs from the central Kyoto at 8.55. If you are late for this one, you can take num. 26 that will take you to Ninnaji stop, and then you'll have to walk. Num. 26 runs at least until 10.30.

This is definitely NOT the place if you are looking for a night club or something like that.

I will stay here when I come to Kyoto again. Actually, I already booked 3 nights for me and my parents next April.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteKirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Even the location is far from town around 30min by bus (I know that before booking) though I really impressed stay here.. So quited and clean. Very good service and friendly owner. You could never find a superior Ryokan at this price (4,200 JPY/night).

Food in their saperated restaurant is very good taste (with high price). It suitable for 1st day you arrive and don't know where to eat around there. Coz every shop is close at 5 pm.

Easy to go to Kinkakuji temple (golden pavillion) and Ryoanji temple (Rock garden). There are the world heritage temples where you should go onnce, especially you must visit Golden pavillion by your own eyes!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuleekorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

It's really nice ryokan to stayed even though it's quite far but i think it worth the trip.
I went with my mum, just the 2 of us. The staffs were really nice and I loveee the food in their restaurant! I'm definitely going backkkk.
This ryokan is located near all of the temples, also if you want to go to see all the temples near the ryokan. Just make sure you do all the research so it will be easier when you arrive or you can just ask the information at Kyoto station.

Room Tip: Be prepareee then u will b just finee
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Sugicho
Hotel Sugicho
#115 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Kyoka
Ryokan Kyoka
#230 of 363 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Ryokan Nakajimaya
#229 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Yamazaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Yamazaki

Property: Ryokan Yamazaki
Address: 11 Umegahata Takahanacho, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8261 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $59 - $175
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Yamazaki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryokan Yamazaki is located about 30 minutes by bus from Kyoto station and its very close to world famous sightseeing spots such as Arashiyama, Gold Temple and other world cultural heritages. Our guests from all over the world often says thhe specialty of Ryokan Yamazaki is a "Silence in Nature". We are at the entry to historical mountain village "Takao", and besides river and mountains. Close your eyes and hear the sound of nature and feel the fragrance of season. "The moments of healing will be yours" *Sensational Garden View *Authentic Japaense Cuisine *Global Friendly for over 15 years 『 Ryokan Yamazaki 』 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ryokan Yamazaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Yamazaki Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing