We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
121
32
21
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
32
21
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room attendant traditional ryokan public onsen grilled salmon worth trying two nights personal attendant room suite japanese hospitality unique experience subway station kaiseki meal western breakfast served tea private bathroom green tea bath house
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

This was the best place we stayed at during our trip to Japan. The place is serene, clean and so relaxing!! Their attention to detail shows is so refreshing. The staff are just so attentive and are always making sure that guests needs are met. I went to the Onsen a couple of times before it got crowded and enjoyed it. Not sure if it’ll be relaxing when there are a few other naked dudes in the hot tub.. not my cuppa.
Special call out to Mizuki who was in charge of our room, she was just such a happy person and took such good care of us.
I would go again for sure.. it’s expensive but well worth it. Oh yes, the Kaiseki dinner was truly amazing followed by a traditional breakfast the next morning!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank dumma_mysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The rooms are not "modern", but why stay here for that. The rooms were large, the service was out of this world (thanks Sawa) and everyone bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. Great location as well!

You are 1 block or so from the subway and can get to Gion district easily and Nishiki Market (you can probably walk there but it was hot). We were 4 stops from Fushimi Shrine as well.

The onsen was nice and we had it to ourselves (though men and women are separated by a floor). The breakfast was great as well. We did not get to try a meal there as the typhoon wiped out our 1st night and prevented us from getting there. The owners did not charge us for the no-show as the trains were canceled, though they were probably within their rights to charge us. That is just the type of place this is.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mikedavis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

There was something magical about this place as soon as we pulled up in our taxi. The discrete exterior adorned with a solitary white sign bearing the name of the inn, blended into the neighborhood without being disruptive. Once inside, we were immediately greeted with a zen like garden filled with trees and ferns by the kindest, warmest staff ready to welcome us in. Our stay was cut short by the typhoon but that didn’t stop the hotel staff from making sure our every need was met. Beautiful kaiseki breakfast and dinner were served impeccably, beds were made punctually and stored accordingly, and tea and water remained ready at all times. The bedroom and bathrooms were charmingly adorned and infused a sense of calm in its simplicity. The depth of commitment to excellent service was made obvious however, when the power went out in the midst of the typhoon and we couldn’t leave the inn. This was then followed by the water being shut off and no available running water. Still - the staff worked tirelessly to light candles throughout the hotel, kept us informed on the progress, and made a 10 course dinner in the dark despite the obstacles. The unflappable staff and attention to detail made our trip unforgettable and our stay at Seikoro most enjoyable. We have every desire to return again to this magnificent ryokan in Kyoto and visit the wonderful staff who make it all possible. Thank you, Seikoro, for this lovely experience and for letting us say, “Typhoon, what typhoon?”

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Glee804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed four nights in the Seikoro Inn and were made to feel like royalty: from the special greeting when we arrived (and every subsequent day when we came in from exploring Kyoto) to the wonderful farewell when we left. It takes a little getting used to, but the Ryokan style of service is warm, very attentive and generous. The Seikoro excels and nothing is too much trouble.
Our hostess/room attendant, Sena moved our furniture, set up our beds, served us breakfast, tea and snacks in our room and carried out lots of other small acts of kind helpfulness. She was absolutely charming and so elegant - I miss her! She was like a butterfly, flitting quietly round the room, in a different, gorgeous kimono each day. Our room itself, with its tatami matting, minimal furniture, paper sliding screens and ikebana flower arrangement was very calming and traditional. That said, we arrived during Kyoto’s hottest spell on record and found the modern air conditioning most welcome!
I didn’t try the onsen, but my husband and daughter did, and both came back absolutely blissed out.
The Seikoro isn’t cheap, but it is special. Our stay there will always be one of our most enduring memories of Japan. Thank you, Seikoro - especially you, Sena. x

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard garden.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

My family (husband and two kids, ages 13 and 11) spent three lovely nights at the Seikoro in Kyoto. It was a wonderful experience, first and foremost, the staff is unbelievably polite, kind and customer focused. They were very helpful in securing dinner reservations for a large group at well known restaurants.

Our room was very spacious. There is a main living area, where breakfast was served and where the beds are laid out in the evening. In addition there is a seating area with two futons. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. If you are looking for an authentic Ryokan experience, I would highly recommend the Seikoro.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews