We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Miyako Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 158*
USD 138*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 326*
USD 86*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 174*
USD 113*
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 165*
USD 107*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 136*
USD 127*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 268*
USD 201*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 133*
USD 87*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
USD 125*
USD 93*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 424*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
USD 378*
USD 313*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,347)
Filter reviews
2,347 results
Traveller rating
608
1,170
426
102
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
1,170
426
102
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsouth wingaeon mallpremier floorbusy hotellarge hotelgood sizeexcellent locationmain buildingconvenient locationkansai airporthotel is locatedjapanese hotelstriple roomdepartment storeyour luggagestayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,347 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

The New Miyako is a large hotel that caters to tour buses. Many sunrise tours leave from this location Sunrise tours are average at best. The hotel is very busy with large groups always in the lobby. One tower is in need of renovation. My room smelled and the bathroom was terrible. I requested to be moved the next morning and the staff was very accommodating. My room in the other tower was newer. Renovated and comfortable. The staff was always very helpful. The concierge went above to find me a private tour guide at the last moment as I was so disappointed in the sunrise tours. Location is good across from the train station If you don’t mind large tourist hotels then this hotel could be ok for you. I did not prefer it, other than the experience with staff. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Book a room in the renovated tower
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Over-crowded, over-priced, low quality food, no apparent level of service, especially if you arrive late - there was literally no-one there, and a non-smoking room that stank of smoke!

It’s only redeeming feature was its close proximity to the train station!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank EvilChickenNugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Large hotels in large Japanese cities near major railway stations all seem to share the same few issues that I find annoying. 1. Inadéquate seating for breakfast resulting in very long queues. In this hotel we arrived at 06:10 for 06:30 opening and we just secured a table! It dies down later but not much use if you have a scheduled early start. 2. Inadéquate number of elevators meaning long waits especially in the morning checkout period. 3. Paper thin walls allowing one to easily hear even quiet talking in neighbouring rooms. On a more positive note one cannot fault the service and rooms. They are larger than most hotels we have stayed in, clean and comfortable. The restaurants have a high standard of service and offerings albeit somewhat expensive.

Room Tip: Select a room well away from elevators and Main Street frontage.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The a/c does not work, so hot and it's only spring!!! Reception, restaurant, lobby... too many people, too many tour groups, too many mainlanders, AND NOT ENOUGH STAFF.
Room is 31m2, good size and newly renovated. NOT COMING BACK!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HedgemeisterHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Pros: LOCATION! Directly across the street from the Kyoto station. Besides getting lost several times in the GIANT train station and attached mall, the hotel is easily walk-able from the train. Check in was easy and the staff was friendly and easily conversed in English. The room was more spacious than others we stayed in and had a nice view of the courtyard. They had a fun set-up in the lobby where you can take photos wearing a kimono.
Cons: The beds were INCREDIBLY hard. I mean, you may as well be sleeping on the floor. The room and bathroom were in need of an update. The AC wouldn't turn on, which wasn't a big deal once we opened the window. The breakfast was very pricey. We were easily able to find more affordable places to east at the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWillSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews