We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 91
View deal
Booking.com
USD 90
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
FindHotel
USD 43
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Hotels.comUSD 91
PricelineUSD 47
eDreamsUSD 90
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
127
304
148
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
304
148
30
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it is located right outside Kyoto Station, which makes it really easy to travel on numerous trains or buses to major tourist attractions around Kyoto. Like most other major train stations, the central station also serve as a major shopping centre with plenty of restaurants for meals and shopping till late in the evening.

I find the check-in and out process fast and the service is quite good.

The hotel itself is showing its age, probably need some major renovation pretty soon. We booked a room for 4 (which was allowed) but it turns out it was just a matter of cramping 4 beds into a standard room, making it really really cosy.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E7110YRtoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Our Company chose this hotel. Very near the train station(across the road). Within Walking distance of several temples. The food choices around this hotel are endless, especially across the road at the train station. There is wifi in the lobby but not the rooms. Breakfast was good. Served both Japanese and western style. Would not mind returning here if my company needed to send me back. Beware, beds are very low, and very hard.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wymangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is directly opposite the Main entrance to Kyoto Station. We chose this hotel for its accessibility to the station as Kyoto was our base for 6 nights while we travelled to Hiroshima, Himeji and Nara. Kyoto station can be reached by crossing the roadway or by underpass. The post office is also next to the station complex. There are numerous convenience stores with in a minutes walk. It was equally convenient while discovering Kyoto. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants as the Porta shopping mall in the basement of the station provided a huge range of eating places and B1and B2 of the Isetan department store at the station had amazing food departments for takeaways. Wi-fi in the lobby. An excellent laundromat an easy walk away.
Only one room key is available. The staff can use a pass key if you are not all accessing your room together. No information on the area in the lobby in English but the Kyoto information centre on the second floor at the station is brilliant.

Room tip: We had a triple room for three adults with plenty of room.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Rooms are ok in size, especially for Japanese standards. Clean, but old. Breakfast was ridiculously over-priced. Staff very helpful and nice. Kyoto by the way, is a spectacular city with more than 100 beautiful temples to visit, great museums, but don´t expect any kind of night life.

Room tip: rooms are quiet, even the ones in front of hotel, looking towards the busy street, so don´t be concerned with choosing one of those.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreawwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is located across the street from Kyoto Station and bus terminal and near the subway. From this central spot, you can easily visit all that Kyoto has to offer using the available mass transit. If you want to see the sights via tour bus, you're also in luck as one of the major English-speaking tour bus companies makes pick-ups and drop-offs here as well.

I traveled with someone who had some difficulty walking and the proximity to the station and mass-transit was fundamental.

The hotel is dated and could use a fresh coat of paint. The rooms were very clean and on the slightly larger side for Japan. There was a full-size shower-bath in the bathroom. The beds were very firm and there were English channels on the tv.

We opted for the breakfast buffet every morning and was not disappointed. A nice Japanese and western buffet at the reasonable price of about 2,000 yen. If hotel fare is not your game, the hotel is mere steps from the underground shopping & dining mall Porta and across the street from Kyoto Station which has countless dining opportunities including a floor of various Ramen Shops (Isetan Kyoto Station)!

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in booking my bus tours. Not all spoke English but would either lead you to someone who did, or did their best to work with you.

For the price and convenience New Hankyu is very difficult to beat. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Domokun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews