We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away from Home”
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Stylish and innovative Machiya Townhouse lcoated in the central Kyoto near Kawaramachi and Gion Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The exterior of Shikokuan Machiya Residence Inn
Stylish and innovative Machiya Townhouse lcoated in the central Kyoto near Kawaramachi and Gion
Entrance
Corridor
Living room, Tatami Bedroom and Garden
Kitchen
Western Twin Bedroom
Lounge room / Tatami Bedroom
Bathroom
\'Hiniki buro\' or Japanese cypress bath tub
Japanese 'tsuboniwa' garden at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tedsey
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Shikokuan. It was comfortable, in a great location, and very clean. The housekeeper came every 3 days which was great! We loved the smell of the tatami and all the modern comforts of the 21st century. It was great having a washer/dryer with two little kids and the kitchen! It was more than enough room for a family of 4. We absolutely loved our stay. Mr. Araki and staff were wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and modern comforts in an traditional style house.
Liked least: The kotatsu was pretty, but difficult to have a meal at because of its small size.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2012
Thank you for staying at Shikokuan. It was lovely to meet you and your family. The smell of the tatami is intoxicating, isn’t it? There’s nothing quite like it. I hope you get a chance to visit Kyoto again. We look forward to your next stay! Warmly, Hiro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom031
PARIS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for families”
Reviewed 15 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights at Machiya Residence Inn, 4 adults and 2 kids and it was ideal to explore the city.
Location is convenient for a short stay as it is close to Kyoto station and you have direct trains to Kyoto and Nara from the train station 5 minutes from the appartment.
Buses stops are 20 meters from the appartment and get access to downtown or west side of the city easily (when there is no traffic).
Supermarkets are very close and open 24 hours.. Most of local shops and restaurants tend to be close after 7pm so do not expect vibrant nightlife.
The appartment in itself is convenient and easy to live with young kids as the living room is quite spacious. Being on the street is not really an issue once you get used to light from the street.
Overall very good stay, not in middle of town but in the south-east corner of Kyoto with convenient appartment. What else to ask for?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: convenience, wifi, lock
Liked least: light from street at night
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. Like you mentioned, Kohakuan is very conveniently located making it easy to access public transportation and supermarkets, but at the same time it’s not overrun with tourists and as part of the neighborhood offers an authentic local experience. I’m delighted to hear that you had a great time and look forward to your next visit to Kyoto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle...
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Enjoying Kyoto's lifestyle in a lovely Machiya”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We had a wonderful time in Kyoto and we enjoyed very much staying at the Machiya. It is a pretty house, well-furnished and clean. The size is just perfect for a couple with a kid. The master bedroom is very comfortable (large space, connected with a salon, good quality of sleeping) But for 4 adults it's rather small, especially the lower bedroom. The location is ideal, close to Gion area but in a remote quiet street. We could relax well and experiment Kyoto's lifestyle day and night. We strongly recommend this Machiya.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the Machiya, very pretty and comfortable. We can feel to be like at home.
Liked least: The size of the 2nd room for one couple is quite small but overall we managed with it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shikokuan. I’m delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of its convenient location and see the many faces of Kyoto. I just wanted to mention that when 4 adults stay, two people stay in the two western style beds and one person sleeps on the futon in the Japanese tatami room upstairs, and one person sleep downstairs on a futon that can be arranged in the downstairs Japanese bedroom. I really hope that you will come visit Kyoto and Shikokuan sometime soon. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinytrev
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quality machiya in an excellent location”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This was our third Machiya holiday in Kyoto, but our first at Shikokuan. The property is in an excellent location - about 5 minutes walk through quiet back streets to the area around Kawaraimachi station, and just round the corner from the nearest bus stop (on Kawaramachi-dori).

Like most other machiya, this is a small (by western standards) property, but there was still plenty of room for our family of three (two adults, one six year old boy). The property is laid out with the main bedroom upstairs, this has two western-style single beds. Alongside this is a TV room/ sitting room with two western armchairs. Downstairs is a Japanese style room with a very small kitchen facility alongside, separated by sliding doors. Next to this is the another bedroom with a toilet off it, there is also a bathroom and another toilet on this level.

The stairs between the two levels are very steep - this is not unusual in this sort of property, but anyone with any mobility restrictions would probably find it difficult to get up and down them.

The property has obviously been sympathetically renovated very recently and everything is in very good condition. A laptop and free wifi are provided, we found this very useful. The property was also cleaned every three days during our stay (included in the rate), again this was a great help.

There are lots of places to eat well within a ten minute walk of here. We only used the kitchen to cook in a couple of times, the facilities are fairly cramped but we managed OK.

We had a JR pass so went to Kyoto station from here on several occasions by bus. That journey took about ten minutes, and the buses came along about every five minutes or so during the day. Kiyomizudera temple is about a twenty-thirty minute walk away.

Having spent a lot of time in Kyoto, we didn't make many demands on the staff as were able to make our own plans for what to do. However Hiro the manager spoke perfect English and was very friendly, I am sure he would be only too happy to help if you needed advice of any sort!

Overall this is a quality machiya in an excellent location. We would be happy to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - very central
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2012
Thank you for your kind and thorough comments. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of your time here. As you mentioned, the location and cleanliness are, among other things, some of the highlights of this machiya. Japanese houses are renowned for being smaller than western ones, but because of this there are many creative aspects in the design of the house to make the most of the limited space. That’s one of the great things about staying at a Machiya- you can learn about Japanese architecture and design. I look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again in the near future! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Feb 2012
Thank you for your comments! It was a pleasure accommodating you and helping you find your way around Kyoto. There really are a lot of great restaurants and sightseeing areas in this ancient city. We hope you will return in the very near future and will stay at Shikokuan again. We look forwarding to the day when we can see you. Warm regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing