We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roujiya is best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
Ranked #116 of 395 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Roujiya is the best place to be if you stay in Kyoto!! You would feel like as if you lived in Kyoto.The owner are very kind and they can offer a good insight into kyoto city as well as some insider's tips on the best place to go.And the facilities are spotless. I'd strongly recommend Roujiya !!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryochi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Kaori and Nao own this wonderful hostel, though it feels more like a home when you're there! They were more than helpful in every way possible, and gave me recommendations of places to go both in Kyoto and when traveling Japan (their recommendations were excellent by the way). The hostel is located in a great location right below Nijo Castle, and it's particularly easy to get around with the bike they lend you for 500 yen (cheapest I've seen). The setting in the hostel is perfect for meeting other travelers, though mellow enough to keep to yourself if you prefer. Although there was a curfew in the afternoon until 4:00pm, you'll be surprised by how squeaky clean everything is for you when you arrive (I have never seen cleaner bathrooms in my life)!

Thanks Kaori and Nao for being wonderful hosts, and thanks Nao for the recommendations in Osaka, I can't wait to check them out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j0nathan_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff. Stayed there in June and it was good to have the air conditioning. They've got bikes you can hire which is a great and cheap way to see Kyoto.
Great location, good facilities, and overall a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Begetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Spotless guesthouse on the western side side of Kyoto. Great choice depending on where you plan to visit. Nice bicycles for hire would allow a fit person to go anywhere though. A bit far from the Kamogawa river area; 20-30 minute walk you would not want to do with a suitcase. From JR Nijo or Hankyu Omiya a short walk. Backpackers are better off though, as there is a lot of pedestrian and bicycle traffic.

Many Japanese female guests in the 30+ age range, as well as some non-Japanese travellers. Instructions on everything in English, with English speaking owners.

Three toilets which is sufficient, but only 2 showers (one of which is so small that is really only suitable for children or very small adults). I got stuck waiting for the spacious shower for 30 minutes (a woman with long hair that needed multiple rinsing it seems). On the other hand there is a public bath nearby, and that would be a decent option if you don't mind going out for your bath. Mixed dorm is spacious, with 4 bunk beds of good size and headroom. They could do with an organized way to store bags though, as in the dark room it was tricky to avoid stumbling over the 8-10 bags on the floor. No suitcases are allowed upstairs (they are steep and would be a challenge to climb with a suitcase in any case).

The place is compact, but with enough space for about eight guests to lounge around. If everyone wanted to hang downstairs at once it would be crowded, but such a scenario is unlikely. Nice, fully outfitted kitchen. Better than most dorms I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JpnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Roujiya is a very nice and tastefully decorated hotel - still in the Japanese style but modern and comfy. You will appreciate this occidental type of comfort (still: you will sleep on futon and the bathroom is shared, like in any other hotel in Japan) The owners are very gentle people.
The location
I agree with someone who wrote that there are too many house hold ruls - for example: you cannot stay in the hotel between 11AM-16PM and if you feel like staying, you must pay (whereas you already pay 80 EUR per night...) Honestly, that's the first time I have seen such a rule and I have travelled a lot in my life...
Another thing - there is a really well equiped kitchen open to the common room. We wanted to prepare a dinner one night but somehow I had a feeling that the owners were not very happy about it (OK, I understand that the smell of food may disturb other guests)... but why to provide guests with such a nice kitchen then...just to boil water for a tea...?

Anyway, this hotel is a nice place. I recommend it for the people who do not mind a bit specific rules :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roujiya, オーナー at Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your review.
We'd like to correct your wrong information, that's why we reply you.
We're afraid that we don't have such a system to pay extra money to stay during closing time from11am to 4pm.
We ask everyone to go out for sight seeing exept for in case of sickness or something(not for hangover!!!).
Because only two people clean this guesthouse, so we need time to do so.

Another thing we don't mind the smell in the kichen.
Actually a lot of guests cooked pasta, noodles or something with garlic!
We do also, even worse. The smell of grilled fish is not so good!

However, we just concern two things that's why we check the kichen oftenly.

First, sometimes our guests don't know how to use the electric heater. So we check they are ok or not.

The other thing, sometimes they occupy the kichen for a long time.
The kichen is for everyone. If someone cooks all the time, other guests have to wait for a long time.

Such being the case, we check the kichen whether everybody's happy or not.
If you felt like that, sorry about that.
However, we have to check the kichen from the above reasons.
Thank you for your understanding,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gojo Guest House
#43 of 395 in Kyoto
127 reviews
Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
Jam Hostel Kyoto Gion
#120 of 395 in Kyoto
87 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#6 of 395 in Kyoto
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
#29 of 395 in Kyoto
115 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 395 in Kyoto
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya

Address: 22-58 Ikenouchicho, Nishinokyo, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8375, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 395 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $38 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse opened in the end of Jun 2010!Roujiya-feel right at home in the heart of Kyoto.Roujiya is a cozy and modern (yet distinctly Japanese) family-owned guest house in the heart of Kyoto.We are situated in a quiet area just a short walk from Nijo Station and close to......-Many historic sites,including Nijo Castle-Huge market for local people -Delicious restaurants for local people-The biggest 100yen shop in Kyoto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Rakuten and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing