We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
70
14
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
14
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nijo station enjoyed my stay comfortable beds castle curtains yen supermarket subway
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Roujiya is a very nice and tastefully decorated hotel - still in the Japanese style but modern and comfy. You will appreciate this occidental type of comfort (still: you will sleep on futon and the bathroom is shared, like in any other hotel in Japan) The owners are very gentle people.
The location
I agree with someone who wrote that there are too many house hold ruls - for example: you cannot stay in the hotel between 11AM-16PM and if you feel like staying, you must pay (whereas you already pay 80 EUR per night...) Honestly, that's the first time I have seen such a rule and I have travelled a lot in my life...
Another thing - there is a really well equiped kitchen open to the common room. We wanted to prepare a dinner one night but somehow I had a feeling that the owners were not very happy about it (OK, I understand that the smell of food may disturb other guests)... but why to provide guests with such a nice kitchen then...just to boil water for a tea...?

Anyway, this hotel is a nice place. I recommend it for the people who do not mind a bit specific rules :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roujiya, オーナー at Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your review.
We'd like to correct your wrong information, that's why we reply you.
We're afraid that we don't have such a system to pay extra money to stay during closing time from11am to 4pm.
We ask everyone to go out for sight seeing exept for in case of sickness or something(not for hangover!!!).
Because only two people clean this guesthouse, so we need time to do so.

Another thing we don't mind the smell in the kichen.
Actually a lot of guests cooked pasta, noodles or something with garlic!
We do also, even worse. The smell of grilled fish is not so good!

However, we just concern two things that's why we check the kichen oftenly.

First, sometimes our guests don't know how to use the electric heater. So we check they are ok or not.

The other thing, sometimes they occupy the kichen for a long time.
The kichen is for everyone. If someone cooks all the time, other guests have to wait for a long time.

Such being the case, we check the kichen whether everybody's happy or not.
If you felt like that, sorry about that.
However, we have to check the kichen from the above reasons.
Thank you for your understanding,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The guest house is very nice, very clean, well located but it was too many house hold ruls, here are Pros and Cons

Pros:
-Well located, 5 min walking from a JR station
-Nice Market around the corner
- warmfull staff
- wifi in the whole guesthouse
- friendly guests

Cons:
- too many ruls
- cannot arrive later than 10pm
- cannot be in guest house between 11am-4pm
- does not offer towels, have to rent them
- the private rooms has not have private bathroom

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtorresr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Having just spent 7 nights at Roujiya, I can say we've been spoiled for all other ryokans in this price point and, I suspect, even above.

If you choose to stay here, please treat this place with the respect that it deserves. It's immaculate, beautifully designed, and full of aesthetic touches that make it truly special. The owners speak excellent English and are incredibly charming and kind.

Kyoto is a rich city teeming with things to do and see. I can imagine no better place to use as a home away from home than Roujiya Guesthouse. What a find!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This guesthouse is around 10-15mins walk from the JR station, run by a kind couple with perfectly spoken english. They were very helpful helping us mapped our our routes around Kyoto visting the attractions. The hostel is very clean and quiet too, so it is definetly not suitable for those looking to party. The guesthouse is not located in the shopping district. However, with a bicycle which they do rent, it is very easy to navigate and reach wherever u wanna go plus the owners were more than happy to assist you in planning your routes.
There is also a public bath oppsite which is a must try for experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank little_wormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in this hostel. The owners were very kind and helpful. The hostel itself was really clean and a relaxing place to wake up in and end up in after a busy day sightseeing. Also very close to nijo castle! Thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants to live in a friendly and clean hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrismille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews