We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything was perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Entrance Living room/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
House Front
Entrance
Living room/Kitchen
Japanese style main room
Bedroom
Hallway/Stairs
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka slope- 1 minute walk
Kiyomizu dera temple - 10 minutes walk
Yasaka Shrine, Gion - 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
slpedder
Monrovia, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Traveled with my husband and sister. Stayed in Kyoto for 2 nights. Nobu met us at the house upon our arrival and gave a very thorough introduction to his charming house and the surroundings for sightseeing to dining to shopping... The house is well furnished and equipped. The location couldn't be any better a short walk to Kiyomizu Temple. We ended up staying in both evenings instead of dining out. We bought prepared food from the market and ate in. The second night, it poured, so sitting in the Kotatsu and listening to the rain was heavenly. We'd love to visit again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having our own house
Liked least: It would have been nice if we had a copy of the neighborhood map that was in the guest binder to take along. We had to take a photo of it with our cell phone ;p
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RunnerNSh...
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magical Time Travel”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

A "traditional" Japanese home with all of the modern amenities, including wifi, a large western kitchen that seated six adults at the dining table (where we just ate fruit and mochi for breakfast, because lunch and dinner were convenient at nearby restaurants), 24 hour hot water for tea, a western bathroom, and a washing machine for our clothing. We comfortably slept three adult couples in three separate rooms. Our son-in-law is 6'4" and said he loved sleeping on the tatami mats instead of having his feet hanging over the end of a western bed.

Nobu San took care of our every need including excellent directions to get to Nene House from Kyoto station via a short ride on the local city bus and walking from the bus stop. He was right on top of everything with prompt email exchanges before our arrival, answering our questions upon arrival, and follow up upon departure. Our son-in-law came later via taxi and also had no problem locating Nene House with Nobu San's directions. We simply left the key in a lock box (Nobu San let us select the code), so we never had to worry about who had the key. No worries with Nobu San taking care of us. Not only the right place in the right location, but also the right person managing Nene house.

What was magical about Nene House is that it is quietly tucked away in the historical Higashiyama section of Kyoto so it instantly transported us back 400 years to ancient Kyoto. We were one block away from one of the most charming streets in Kyoto, if not the world, with men and women dressed in traditional Japanese kimonos (see attached pictures).

We were in the middle of numerous temples and shrines including the renown Kiyomizu-dera founded in 798, but its present buildings were constructed in 1633 without a single nail (Kiyomizu-dera was one of 21 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007). Many reviews say that if you have time for only one temple in Kyoto, Kiyomizu-dera is a must, but the experience of walking through the ancient streets leading up to the temple were more fun and memorable than the temple itself. If you are fascinated by time travel, you'll love Nene House and the surrounding neighborhood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location.
Liked least: Not a thing, except being spoiled so that we can't stay anywhere else in Kyoto.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matwags
Dublin, OH USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Kyoto”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week during June. Just off the main street of historic district in Kyoto. Very close to temples, restaurants, shops and great vistas. Close to main bus routes to get around Kyoto and to the train station. Clean and quiet with air conditioners in each room. Well equipped kitchen and clothes washer with drying racks.

Please keep in mind that there are no beds. Sleep on futons on the floor. If this is not your idea of a vacation, I would look elsewhere. Our family enjoyed it!

Highly recommend Maeda coffee for breakfast. Great coffee and egg sandwiches.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussnai K
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“feel home in Kyoto”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kyoto Nene house for 3 days. The location is great, with a short walking distance to Kiyomizu, a historical shopping street, Gion, big park and many temples around. We could enjoy morning walk to the Kiyomizu prior a coming of thousand tourists ! The owner, Mr. Nobu is very nice and flexible, he allowed us for the early check-in so that we can take a rest, while he was cleaning on the 2nd floor. The house had every things we want and make us feel home in Kyoto.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianJ98
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in historic Kyoto”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for four nights (2 adults, 2 children) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is thoughtfully organised, immaculately clean and much more spacious than a hotel. Right outside the door are beautiful narrow streets with traditional Japanese townhouses, and several temples are within 5-10 mins walk away. We ate out in Gion, and anther night walked through the Pontocho alley. One tip - when you get a taxi from the station, tell the driver to take you to Kodaji temple and then use the access map provided by Nobu to walk up the laneways from there (just round the corner). Staying here was a real experience of traditional Japan - highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing