We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
769
32
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
32
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly room moon room wind room red door yogurt homemade jams complimentary happy hour antique shops gion district a small boutique hotel restaurant recommendations vegetable soup breakfast was delicious dinner reservations taxi driver quiet street each evening
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Having travelled all over the world, I’d have to say that I will long remember this outstanding experience. The location of the hotel is ideal and the hotel’s reservation confirmation includes directions in Japanese for the taxi driver, so we arrived directly. We had the suite which was ideally furnished, bright and very comfortable. The staff is truly outstanding and over delivers on everything they do! Prior to our arrival, we traded a number of emails regarding specific restaurant reservations that I wanted and they just perservered (many of the Michelin restaurants have very limited seating). Then the night of 1 reservation, they gave us a map with the directions drawn, a picture of the exterior of the restaurant (because they almost all look alike) and then they just decided that they would send a staff member to take us directly to the restaurant! The staff was very courteous, professional and provided extremely valuable advice to avoid the crowds since this was Easter week which made our touring so much more enjoyable. When we left, 3 of the staff members came outside to waive goodbye as if we had been guests in their home - a very nice and appreciated gesture.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed in Butterfly. Service was warm and impeccable. Breakfast was filling, but not heavy. We very much enjoyed visit and would stay here again. We preferred the smaller scale of Gion versus being in downtown Kyoto.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vatc5637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We stayed at Hotel Mume during our visit to Kyoto. The service was excellent starting from even before we arrived with instructions on how to get to the hotel and suggestions for things to do once we got there. Mume staff helped with dinner reservations, directions and everything you could possible imagine. I've never received such good service before and I've stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carletons and Shangri-La hotels around the world. The staff are friendly and attentive and speak English well. They really embody the Japanese culture of hospitality. The hotel is in a quiet location, rooms clean and modern and the hotel pricing very good value. Definitely recommend Mume for anyone going to Kyoto.

Room tip: There are only 4 rooms so book early!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LP20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our only night in Kyoto. Mume was recommended to us by a local friend and Mume delivered. The location is perfect - off a quiet side street near the Yasaka Shrine and within close walking distance of Nishiki Market. To top it off, the service here is second to none. Simply superb!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DenaliDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

I found this delightful hotel on line and the images are real! Stayed for two nights and was impressed by the charming owner who has run the business for nine years and has a talent for mixing vintage Asian furniture with modern design. The staff will welcome you at every turn and their recommendations for food and temples are impeccable. Then there is the soaking tub and an automated toilet/bidet that will amaze. I will come back!

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Jackson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews