We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
House front - middle of these three houses in a row
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House front - middle of these three houses in a row
House Front Night - very quiet neighbourhood Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
House front - middle of these three houses in a row
House Front Night - very quiet neighbourhood
Entrance
Downstairs
From Dining to Entrance
Master Bedroom - sunny and breezy
Master Bedroom
Dresser and Bench in the Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom (Tatami Room)
Futons in the Tatami bedroom - far more comfortable than you think!
clean and modern bathroom with a deep Japanese tub
antique cabinet
Garden Night
Cassina Sofa and Mini Garden
Street view - neighbourhood
Golden Temple
Holding fan shop
Local French Bakery - beautiful bread
Kyoto Station
Local Nepalese Restaurant - friendly neighbours!
Cherry season
Traditional well
Geisha at Gion Corner - 5 min walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Crista V
1 review
“Wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in late April/early May 2017 and had a wonderful time in Kyoto. The location of the machiya is perfect, in Gion, walking distance to the main road, a little cafe (for breakfast and lunch) and a supermarket. With a little explanation from William who checked us in, taking the bus was a breeze and saved us on taxi fare. Kyoto is wonderful to visit and the machiya is the perfect place to do it from! Side note: we travelled as a couple, and would probably not bring our young kids here. The machiya has very thin walls and they would be too much of a disturbance to the neighbors. But just for us it was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you very much for your stay with us. Glad to know that you had enjoyed your time in Kyoto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J L
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed"”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We spent the entire month of November 2015 in this machiya. I'm sorry to say that the longer we stayed the less we liked it and - at the end - we were happy to leave. Over our many years of traveling and my many years of writing travel articles for newspapers and magazines, we have rented many, many houses and apartments around the world. This one, unfortunately, ranks in our least favorite half dozen.

It is very cramped, even with just the two of us. There are two armchairs that are not particularly comfortable and a table with four chairs in not much space. Not a good place at all for relaxing after a busy day exploring Kyoto. More disappointing was the lack of natural lighting in this living room-dining room-kitchen combination. The one window faced a stone wall. Sunlight hit the wall for about five minutes a day. There was no attempt at artificial lighting in the very small "garden" in front of the stone wall to add either brightness and/or drama, especially at night. We found it depressing to sit facing a high dark stone wall. Not even a curtain to hide the wall.

The upstairs bedrooms were better with more natural light but we don't usually sit in bed to read or write. There is one bathroom and toilet and it is downstairs. The stairs are steep and not great for negotiating at 4 in the morning to use the toilet.

The outside of the house looks like a machiya but the inside has been renovated out of all recognition as a machiya. We visited many restaurants and cafes where the original interiors had been preserved as much as possible to give a feel for what they may have looked like in the past. Also, the neighbor next door, for the entire month we were here, kept his bicycles and other belongings outside, making his machiya resemble something similar to what can be seen in the South Bronx.

If you use taxis frequently as we do, note that it is almost impossible to get a taxi on the streets near the machiya. You can call a taxi company in advance but we often had to wait 20 to 30 minutes for one to arrive.

We also found the immediate neighborhood featureless and uninteresting with three exceptions: the Rokuharamitsuji, the Sagan Café for decent light meals and good coffee and Jolly Rokuhara Supermarket (first time I've listed a supermarket as a "sight" - any port in a storm!).

Thank goodness that Kyoto is so full of wonderful temples, shrines and gardens. We love to return to a wonderful homelike place at the end of a busy day. Gion Machiya was not it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
I believe one should always study, know and understand what she is talking about before publicly write about something, especially when she claims herself to be a writer. This disgraceful comment of hers about my house which has been loved by many experienced travellers over the past 7 years in business is totally absurd. She obviously does not know anything about the natures and characters of Machiyas of Kyoto. I understand that everyone is free to have her opinion about places and things but THIS, after so many special favours she asked us to do for her during her stay (which we did) is amazingly nasty. Please read all other reviews the house has earned to know the truth about our lovely Gion Machiya. She was very nasty, arrogant, rude and mean to our local manager and us during her stay and we felt totally relieved to see her leave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleneTee
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Machiya”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My first impression of the place was good. But it hit the note when i had such a nice Property Manager that helped me out a lot. THANK YOU very much Hiromi. You have been a great help and your welcome note was just lovely. This property is extremely clean and comfortable. My both girls were estatic when they saw the house. The location is great with just a supermarket just behind the street. A walk away to all the historic sites. I would recommend it for anyone with 4 pax to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the place.
Liked least: There was only 1 bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF L
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent house”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Everything inside the house is fine except that the price of additional guests seems to be too high.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furniture and the cleanness of bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonytouri...
Montesson, France
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in Kyoto”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house was everything we had hoped for. Quite, a few minutes walk from Gion, with a great little supermarket around the corner. It's small but perfectly OK for us (2 adults and a teenager). It was very clean, the beds were comfy and the hot water never ran out. The washing machine was easy to use once you read the instructions. We ate in a few times, with ready made meals from the supermarket. We took taxis for some sightseeing (like during the typhoon and when we needed to get to Kyoto JR station). We simply walked down the road and always found one. The house had everything we needed. The stairs could be a problem for someone with mobility issues. We loved the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the quietness
Liked least: wifi was a bit unreliable but this is a minor issue
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 200
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing